We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos THe Morromar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Morromar and found staying here very pleasant. The staff are excellent and are always happy to help and are very friendly. We had an apartment over looking the sea. The apartment was spacious and clean, if in need of a little tlc. We enjoyed the food, there was usually a choice of fish, meat, salad, chips and breads. Overall for the money we paid the hotel was exactly what you would expect, from a 3 star establishment, however the staff definitely were 5 star.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lee1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. It has been our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in THe Morromar.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    946
    526
    209
    118
See reviews for
947
928
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here we were a bit worried about what we were letting ourselves in for, so here goes:

My wife,kids (6 & 5) and I arrived on 26th June for 10 nights All Inclusive at the Morromar after getting a fantastic deal for £1160. We sailed through the airport and into a taxi (after reading reviews about transfers and the taxi only costing 8-10 euros) and onto the hotel, upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist who got us checked in in no time. We were given our room key and a map to get to our room which wasn't far, we were in a first floor apartment (614) which was in the block which houses the pool bar,restaurant and evening entertainment. Opening the door I was surprised at how clean and spacious the apartment was with living area, kitchenette, bathroom,bedroom and large balcony, I was surprised to see a modern lcd tv in the room too.
After throwing the bags in we went down for lunch, there was a great variation of food and I immediately said "What a load of c**p they put on Tripadvisor". After lunch we went to the pool area and found it no problem to get 4 sun loungers for us and the kids (even at 2pm).
I'm not slating the food at the hotel as we ate here comfortably for 10 nights but the choice was limited and as suggested before could do with a separate kids area with chicken nuggets on EVERY night, but with our accommodation,Food and drink costing only £590 for 10 nights we could see how hard it must be to budget meals.
Onto the entertainment on an evening, it could be better with mini disco starting at maybe 8pm and entertainment starting at 9pm instead of 9pm and 10pm respectively. Other than the Magic show and Michael Buble bloke I'd get rid of the rest because they were pants to be fair. The kids club was great and our kids came back after making paper flowers and clay volcanoes and thoroughly enjoyed it.
My overall opinion of this hotel is "You get what you pay for...........and great service too", the Management and staff are doing a great job here and with a couple of tweaks this could be a fantastic place for a great family holiday, thanks for making our stay an enjoyable one

Room Tip: Take a DVD player or a memory stick with films as there is only news channels on tv, email the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHIERICHWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay in THe Morromar. We sincerely appreciate that you mention that we made your stay "an enjoyable one". This means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again should you decide to return to Lanzarote.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I found this all inclusive to be VERY GOOD, food choice was good during the week of 17thMay till24th May 2014 we had chicken, pork, beef, duck, veal, local fish, tuna, mussels, pasta, rice, potatoes, chips. in all variety like steaks and casserole, chops & ribs.. great choice. some food could have been hotter as in heat - Rooms a little dated ( needed a paint) but clean beds, bathroom and kitchen. Entertainment was the best I have had in an all inclusive - pool clean and the grounds immaculate.... Well done all the hard working staff, very polite and helpful :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucypocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, specially those regarding clean rooms and pools, entertainment program and polite and helpful staff. We hope to have the chance of accomodating once more during a next visit to THe Morromar.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

just back from a lovely holiday in lanzarote.stayed in the morromar apts. the apts are basic. but have to say our apt was very clean.it is my second time to stay here and the staff aer all very friendly.they have a kiddies club which my daughter loved they have amini disco at nite .but I do thik the nite entertainment needs to be reviewed.the disco finishes after four songs and then all that's left for the kids to do is run and jump off stage until the show starts any time btween 930 and 10.that time gap needs to be looked at.over all had agreat holiday.hope to return to your apts again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty and positive comments about THe Morromar. We sincerely appreciate your review, and that you like our entertainment program and activities. We look forward to seeing you on a third visit again, should you definitively decide to return to Lanzarote.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

i just arrived back from here yesterday and i have had the loveliest time and did not want to return home, the hotel was clean, tidy and well looked after,

food choice i never had problem with even my hubby who a fussy person managed to eat every day, but could do with a bit more variety;

the pool yes it was cold but once u get in that soon fades away, and with the wind there even i got burnt the first day in the shade and all the cloud.

the bar staff were helpful and polite, service was quite quick and the drinks was plenty of options to choose from.

ok the entertainment could do with a improvement but we did have a magician, parrot show and singer whilst we were there,

the kids entertainment does need improvement as they didn't really get the kids involved or try to except over the microphone, my kids met some new friends and have a really good time even they didn't want to come home and yes i will be returning again.
there is places nearby to eat and the beach is literally 5 min from hotel, and was lovely and clean. we walked into porta del Carmen there are lots of places to eat, drink and shop so lovely day out
thanks to everyone at the hotel will be returning hopefully next year for maybe bit longer :)

p.s sorry i got to add comment about review previously made by bexta 14, while i was there i saw nobody size zero!!! yes people of all sizes who didn't care as long as they enjoyed themselves and i found ur post insulting to larger sized people.

Room Tip: we have room 820 it out the way but had view of sea and surrounding area, an still close to pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisariley1023276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a so nice review about your stay in THe Morromar. We however take note of your suggestion regarding the improvement of our buffet variety and our entertainment program. We sincerely appreciate that you mention that you will return next year.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Sol Morromar, kids 10 and 7 had a ball, if they weren't in the pool they were playing pool or queuing for a drink/ice cream! Was a bit worried after reading some negative reviews but for the money we paid it was great. Didn't pay for the ritz so wasn't expecting the ritz! Both pools nice, preferred lower pool as a bit warmer and quieter. Room ok, could have been more drawer space! Food got repetitive but we didn't starve! Staff all very friendly. 10 min from airport. Entertainment wasn't great so went out most nights even tho we were all inclusive. Ignore the moaners, you basically get what you pay for:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing THe Morromar for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to share your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our facilities and the staff could fulfill all your wishes. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards from Lanzarote,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Returned from a 10 night stay on Monday. We travelled as a family with 2 daughters aged 14 and 11. Overall we were happy with most things though there are a few areas for improvement.

On arrival check in was friendly, fast and efficient.

The apartments are clean but basic and could do with a refurbishment, the beds are quite hard and I had to ask Reception for 2 additional pillows as 2 of ours were hard and lumpy. Also the bedding consists of a sheet and a throw over, blankets are provided and are left in the wardrobe you can also ask Reception if you require any more. There is a small kitchen area provided for self catering with fridge, kettle, toaster and 2 electric hobs, all utensils etc provided. we were All Inclusive so didnt use any of these. Our balcony was large and we had a sea view from the balcony and a pool view from the bedroom so we was happy with this. The maids clean 5 days a week, towels are changed daily when the maids are there, you can ask Reception for fresh towels at other times and our bedding was changed 3 times during our stay. Our maid was very good and friendly.

The dining area is large and we found it to be clean, food was good but a bit repetitive at times, we always managed though and we expected this with being on an all inclusive package for 10 days. There is is always fresh salad, soup, bread, pasta, rice and chips, a couple of meat dishes and fish dishes. There is a chef out in the dining area cooking as well which was a nice touch. I do think maybe a separate children's buffet would benefit with things like chicken nuggets, burgers etc. Drinks at meal times are self serve, soft drinks, juices, tea, coffee, wine, sangria and beer. Pedro does a fantastic job as Bar & Restaurant Manager.

We used the back pool near the poolside bar and never had any problem with getting sun beds, the pool was cold however. The pool area is very clean and is cleaned every morning.

The bar staff were faultless, especially Sergio and Juan Jose - very friendly always greeted with a friendly smile, they also make the best Mojito's!! The pool bar closes at 6.00pm which is maybe a little too early as some days we didnt leave the pool area until 7.00pm.

One area I do believe could do with improvement is the evening entertainment. The 3 ladies in charge of the entertainment are very good with the children, but in the evening entertainment consisted of the mini disco at 8.30pm for half an hour, then most evenings it was either a quiz or bingo which didnt start till about 9.30pmish and was over by 10.15pm, young children were running around and on the stage- which isn't the hotels fault but maybe this wouldn't be the case if they was being entertained. There was outside entertainment a couple of times which was OK. There are sometimes long queues in the evening at the Bar as well, although they do limit people to 2 drinks at busy times to prevent this.

The Hotel is conveniently located - we got a taxi from the airport which cost 10 euros and the taxi rank is located at the back of the hotel. We also got a taxi into the centre of Puerto del Carman which cost 5 euros - which is slightly cheaper than the bus for a family of 4.

Overall we enjoyed our time here, as I always say you get what you pay for. The complex is clean and the staff are all friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, specially what you mention about the clean rooms and pools, good food quality and nice staff. We have taken note at the same time of your suggestions regarding refurbishment, variety of buffet and evening entertainment. We much appreciate it. We hope to have these matters solved for a next visit to THe Morromar.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#32 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#41 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#78 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Morromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Morromar

Property: Apartamentos THe Morromar
Address: Calle Mato, 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Morromar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax vacations in dreamy surroundings. Apartamentos THe Morromar is a modern three-star-complex offering you an incredible experience in the island of the volcanoes, Lanzarote. Apartamentos THe Morromar is located a few kilometers from the capital, Arrecife, and just five minutes walking from the Playa de Matagorda, a familiar beach of golden sand to go for a pleasant stroll. Lanzarote is also the ideal place for the practice of water sports thanks to its optimum climatological conditions. The complex, inspired in its design by the typical architecture of Lanzarote, features a total of 221 spacious and luminous apartments distributed over independent buildings. Furthermore, it disposes of two pools, a restaurant-buffet, a pool-bar, a lobby-bar, several multifunctional sport courts and a gym. Apartamentos THe Morromar offers entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxation activities for all family members to enjoy an incredible experience in unique surroundings. Dear guests, we are working on the optimization of our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. Herewith, we inform you that our secondary pool will be closed due to refurbishment works. The expected closing dates will from 17.04.17 till 30.06.17. We put at the disposal of all our clients the main pool, which includes the children´s pool. We apologize for the inconveniences. Apartamentos THe Morromar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Apartamentos THe Morromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Apartamentos THe Morromar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing