We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,000)
Filter reviews
3,000 results
Traveller rating
783
1,159
653
256
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
1,159
653
256
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morromar apartments taxi rank self catering lower pool great holiday evening entertainment plenty of choice quiet pool animation team shopping centre pool bar sea view pork bar staff close to the airport meal times kids club
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 3,000 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016

A very pleasant stay. Food was excellent. Maid service was lovely, very helpful and friendly. Pool bar service was excellent, helpful, friendly very efficient. Your complex is very clean and well maintained. Efficient and friendly staff. People had been year on year so I really don't understand the negative comments, they must have been very unlucky. We had a short 5 nights before going onto a villa and we usually stay in 4 star hotels so this was a cheap extra but it was much batter than many 4 star I have been in. Thank you for a lovely short break Morromar and we would come back and have already recommended to friends.

Room tip: Reception has free wifi, gym and beauty therapies fab, Michelle the holistic therapist is superb
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeanettehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear Jeanette,

thank you very much for your lovely rating!! It means so much for us...

We are glad to hear such tender words, thank you very much, it´s a real pleasure to know that our team could reach all your expectations.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again! Please let us know if we can arrange something for the future.

If you need any more information, do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best and very sunny regards from Lanzarote,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

As experienced travellers we were not expecting too much from this 3 star establishment.
Rooms: Were of a good size and beds were comfortable. That said the pillows were awful but we were given more immediately when we requested therm.
The pool area was cleaned thoroughly and daily. The rooms do need, and were getting whilst we were there, some TLC and a bit of a revamp. It has been a long season and the decor and furnishings were looking very tired!
There was no saving sun loungers as the pool are was cordoned off until 10am. The pool bar opened at 10:30 till 6:30 serving a variety of soft and alcoholic drinks. Adults were allowed 2 drinks per visit and children 1. Pleased to say that there were no glasses given out from the pool bar.
The entertainment team were on hand from 10:30 and offered a small variety of activities- we didn't participate in any. But, they seemed a friendly bunch!
Meals were typical of 3 star AI, variety at all meal times and we ate pretty well most days. I particularly enjoyed the Chinese buffet. Their paella was filled with sea food- I have never seen so many muscles available.
The weather was the highlight, temps hovering around 25*C and the notorious "wind" made an appearance on 1 day out of the 10 that we were there.
The staff all worked hard and were extremely friendly.
Evening entertainment, in our opinion, was the biggest area of weakness. Shows were short and lacked any "wow" factor.
There were 3 pool tables, a ping pong table, air hockey and fusbal table (payable locally) and a couple of court areas for tennis, football, volleyball etc..
Snacks were available and typically included: toasties, hot dogs, chips, salad and sponge cakes.
We stayed in \rooms 519 and 521, ground floor 1 bedroom apartments

Room tip: Taxis into Puerto Del Carmen available just outside the hotel grounds
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collinstrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear Collinstrio,

Thank you for taking your time and write your comments about our hotel on Trip advisor. We appreciate your review with important details what can be useful for other travelers.

We are glad that overall you had a good time in our Hotel and on the island of Lanzarote and that you will recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We take a good note about important details you mention.

We hope that in the nearest future you will visit us again and wish you all the best !!!

Sunny regards from Lanzarote,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed November 2014, but it was our first time in the Canaries, so I din't want to rate until I see more of it.
Firstly the good points:
Location is great, easy walking to the pleasant beach and promenade with good amenities, restaurants, bike and scooter hire. No noise from the airport, despite it is only an 10 minute drive away.
Bad pints:
Cleaning is hit and miss. Our bed was made every day, but no sweeping, and general cleaning at all during our stay. Water pressure in room is non existent, just like hot water. Some lukewarm water dripping of the shower, that's all about it.
Beds are full of bed bugs!!!!!!!! I had around 300 bed bug bites after 5 night stay, and it took me 2 months to heal them properly. Plus the worry for about 2-3 weeks at home if we brought them back with us in the suitcases, and my whole apartment had to be fumigated as it happened to other travellers.
Interior is very old fashioned, very much in need of refurb what I wouldn't mind if it was kept clean. I'm not a fussy traveller, on my adventurous travels I slept on roof tops, under the stars in a sleeping bag in the desert, tents, in the sticks, in caravans, and all sorts. I travelled Africa, Eastern Europe, the darkest parts of the Balcans, but never ever had bed bug bites, not even from places that were more like a concentration camp as opposed to a hotel or apartment.
Stay away if you wan't to go home without skin problems.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear Annie B,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comments about your recent stay.

We feel really sorry to read the problem you had with the bed bugs, which is really interesting to read for us.

Also it impress us that almost all over the world you´ve been travel you never find bed bugs.

On the other side it´s really new for us to know that we have bed bugs in the Hotel, we can give you a guarantee that we never had this problem before and also we didn´t get any notification from you during your stay.
This kind of issues should be informed inmediatelly to our reception staff to find an adecuate solution. Unfortunately you didn´t inform us inmediately to make sure and help you with anything you might need.

The Canary Island efectivelly had a problem of Cockroach and ants, also here in our intalations it´s really comon to see this kind of insects but bed bugs it´s almost imposible.

We also would like to add that we clean all the rooms 5 times a week, change towels 3 times a week, change bed sheets 1 time a week and everybody can get informed about these conditions in advance on our web page however we also give an informative brochure on arrival, moreover we provide every day cleaning on request as well.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope that at least you could enjoy this wonderful island of Lanzarote !

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This hotel is not a all inclusive hotel it's a typical self catering complex trying the all inclusive bit. The rooms are spacious need up grading. Pool at the bottom of the complex very nice but no bar not able to get water or a drink.mthe too pool is total bedlam entrainment staff running round like idiots playing loud music.

The breakfast food is OK bread fresh with juices coffee is discussing from a machine. Lunch repeated same thing Dailey pate salad chips, dried up pizza. Evening meal we managed two in the hotel then ate out. There is never any cutlery glasses, always waiting for food to come out, the dinning room staff are so unfriendly and you feel you should not be asking them. The dinning rooms is so PIT CANTEEN very drab and very
Much in need of making a little more inviting.

We had a hire car and most days arrived back at the hotel early afternoon you are unable to get any food after three again this is poor for all inclusive cakes and coffee iis all you can get.

The other problem is feeding of the cats. A lot in the complex free to roam around every were I am not a lover of stray cats.

the hotel is very much away from the strip and a long way to any bars beech which I dnt think explains on its read up.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear client,

Thank you for writing about your experience in our hotel however it makes us sad to read that you were not satisfied with our service overall.

It is really a pity for you that there was absolutely nothing you could enjoy during such a important time like your vacations !!

Regarding your comment about the condition of the room we would like to inform you that we are renovating all the apartments and the whole complex will feature nicely updated rooms with a new design very soon.

We kindly would like to remind you that any kind of billingsgate are not acceptable and we are not agree that you called our Animation team "Idiots". It´s really sad not the best mannerly from your side.

Our animation team is trying to do their best in order to make the holiday of our clients more enjoyable by organizing diverse activities and shows both for children and adults. Nevertheless it makes us said that you did not found our entertainment efficient enough and we are always grateful to hear new ideas to shake up our program. Unfortunately you didn´t contact us to discuss further during your stay.

Also an important information for other guests, our bottom pool is a quite no children
free pool and the little house you could see never was a pool bar, it´s a little stowage and not a pool bar.

All in all we feel sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We hope that you had nice moments during your holiday in Lanzarote as well.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Stayed 10 nights early December had a wonderful holiday
I would say some reviews are unfair yes some of the apartment's are a little out dated but why I was there some were being refurbished , the morromar is very clean and all the staff work very hard and always ready too help ,
It's a five minutes walk too the main player and beach and shop's I would recommended the blue anchor for a drink and entertainment. Don't read all the bad and negative review's ( keep a open mind. ). Enjoy your holiday.

Room tip: Best view's too the front of the morromor apartment 415
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank robertbQ6724UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección M, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear Robert,

We would like to say thank you for choosing Apartamentos THe Morromar to spend your holiday and for sharing your opinion about us.

Your words make us proud of our staff and we will gladly pass your lovely note to them.

Your opinion will be really helpfull for other travellers.

We are pleased that you had a nice time in our hotel for tand we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

THe Morromar team wishes you all the best and sends you some sunny regards from Lanzarote,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews