We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 13 June 2011

we stopped at the beatriz for 10 days all inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed it. we normally do self catering but decided to do all inc. for a change. lets get the basics over with, the rooms are very spacious, clean and a big bathroom only one complaint which is if you want the fridge you have to pay 3€ per day which on top of the safe hire (3€ per day again) adds to the cost. the food is well cooked and presented but as mentioned in other reviews it can get repetetive however there is a italian (lush) and chinese restaurant on site which are booked through reception, (3€ cover charge for the chinese but worth it), please try them. the staff are excellent could not fault any of them, try some basic spanish it will help at the bar. pool area good no problems with sunbeds while we were there. entertainment at night we didn,t really bother but other guests seemed to enjoy it. matagorda itself is on the outskirts of puerta del carmen near the airport. there is a lovely beach walk into carmen which takes about 35 mins but on the way you pass playa del pocollos and numerous bars so you can break the walk up. try walking the other way past the airport to playa honda where you,ll find more authentic spanish bars, not expensive neither. overall we had a great time and would go back if we wanted an all inclusive holiday.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room we did and got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 3,089 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Looks very elegant, apart from the odd cockroach and several mosquitos the hotel was clean and well looked after. It
There were several add-ons while I stayed there such as the spa, but I can why that is, but not having to pay for orange juice or the oriental buffet even when I was "all inclusive". There was a variety of food, but the standard of food was not up to 4 star material...the same fryers were used for the fish and other different meats. the cost of the main evening meal buffet was 25 euros if you were only bed and breakfast and I can assure you that is by far the worst price I've ever seen. p.s don't expect sausages, they're just hot dogs!
The rule at evening meal was beyond me..men had to wear long trousers no matter what or you weren't allowed to go in, if you didn't have any long trousers you had to borrow them from reception, there was no rule for women, even though the picture suggested that you dress in a formal nature, yet women were seen in shorts and flip flops and men in football shirts. Hardly formal. That needs changing. In regards to this rule, I questioned the nature of it to the manager and after him saying he couldn't do anything about it, he later said "we want to see the womens legs and not the mens", rather sexist if you ask me. Service was good they were all friendly at the restaurant, but it felt like you were being told what to do too much.
There was enough entertainment in the day, but at night the entertaining seemed to tail off, something that you'd see in Butlins sums it up.
The spa was really nice, although treatments are half the price in England, but 11 euros for the sauna, steam room, massage pool and jacuzzi is well worth it.
Breakfast was the best bit, so I'd advise going bed and breakfast, because there's enough to do outside the hotel too.
overall rating 6/10

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cokey118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directordecalidad, Director de Calidad at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding insects, your feeling about the fryers and most of all the clothing policy at dinner service. I apologize for the comments expressed by the Public Relations Manager. He also apologizes as his intention was to ease the situation.

We celebrate that you enjoyed our Spa & Wellness Center and we hope to have you back at Beatriz Playa & Spa soon.

Kind regards,
Fernando Benítez
Quality A. Manager
Hotel Beatirz Playa & spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and myself have just returned from our second visit in six months to this hotel and no doubt we will go back later this year. All the staff are friendly and even though some are not too good with English we always understood each other in the end. Any requests we had (e.g. extra pillows) were dealt with quickly and reception telephoned our room to make sure we had received the items in question. I am a very faddy eater but every day at every meal there was always something that I liked. The rooms are very spacious and our room on the second floor had a lovely view overlooking the pool area and the sea, yes, we will definitely return to the Beatriz in Matagorda.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommos33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just got back from this hotel on sunday after spending a week in the sun.
We were 2 girls looking to lie by a pool for a week and get a tan, and got what we wanted. Found the staff to be very polite, friendly, helpful. We booked with Thomas Cook and the rep was friendly and couldn't do enough for us. However, as we didn't pay for transfers after reading the advice on here to get a taxi - brilliant advice, by the way as transfers were an extra £30 each, but we spent €20 in total between us in taxis - we didn't get an invite to the welcome meeting, and missed out on being told about activities for a 'livelier' crowd we could book onto in the main Puerto del Carmen resort. We only found out about these as we were leaving and were a bit disappointed as the entertainment in the hotel was very family orientated and not really our scene all the time.
Having said that there was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel, we'd never been somewhere where everyone was talking to each other and making friends. We felt a bit ignorant that we hadn't learned much Spanish before we got there, however - Matagorda is quite residential and less 'english' than the main resort.
The food was varied each day with some staples. I was impressed there was always fresh fish and meat cooked throughout dinner service. I think it would be quite difficult to enjoy the food if you were vegetarian though, most dishes had meat in them, including (bizarrely) the coleslaw. The hotel wasn't very busy so it was pleasant to eat and get our meals etc, I'm not sure if this would be the case in peak season though. We checked in at 10pm and as we had missed dinner service we had a cold supper delivered to our room, which was unexpected and impressive, although not entirely to our taste!
The room was very large and very clean, with a huge balcony/terrace, great for families with loads of stuff to chuck out there. The pool area was also large, and the first hotel I've been to where we could stroll down at 10am and get a sunbed right by the poolside. The heated pool wasn't exactly warm, just not freezing, although we had been told it was warmer in the week before we got there.
Beach towels have a €15 deposit on them and can be swapped everyday for a new one. We paid for the safe (€21 for the week) but not the fridge (€3 per day) as we were all-inc and didn't see the point - food and drink were pretty much always available. Mini-bar packages are also available but again we had no need for these. Drinks-wise there was a choice of soft drinks + wine and beer at lunch and dinner, and in the all-inc bar all local spirits and again beer and wine were included. As expected international brand names or freshly made cocktails will cost extra. Also there are 4 computers for guest use - internet was 10cents per minute, sold in units of 5.
All in all we felt it was a great trip, if a little quiet, and would certainly return with a larger group of friends or as a family. We heard some people complaining but it was unfounded really - this was a cheap and cheerful holiday, and we didn't expect 5* luxury!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sh0pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directordecalidad, Director de Calidad at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive review. We are happy to learn about your experience and that you would stay again with us. Thank you for letting us know your opinion.

We hope, you will soon visit us again and look forward to your next booking.

with kind regards

Fernando Benítez
Quality A. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Having just returned from a two week holiday I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. From the minute we arrived to the day we left the management & staff of this hotel were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and, if, at any time we required help & assistance all was provided with a friendly smile & greeting. The accomodation was spacious and the cleanliness of the room was excellent provided by the maid on a daily basis. As a repeat guest the little gestures provided made this a very memorable holiday for us. The restaurant provided an excellent choice in food and was always a pleasure to dine in whatever time of the day. An ideal location next to the beach & 10 mins to the airport (aircraft noise never a problem) made a relaxing holiday & somewhere to re-charge the batteries from work. The hotel is in an excellent location & in my opinion there is only one negative review I can add & this is that the hotel needs to review the evening entertainment as one group seemed to appear quite often otherwise,I would have no hesitation in returning next year. Stewart Family (Northern Ireland)

Room Tip: Speak to hotel reception staff very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gsxf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

10 muinutes to check in, my word we english are always in ahurry . Bedrooms were very good the bed area was split by a small sofa to the television and relaxing section/balcony .negativity was not being able to use the fridge for ntnour own goodies.the restaurant was very good eating outside or in ( nice choice) staff were friendly and on entering the restaurant we were greeted by smiles and a warm welcome.This holiday was lovely and relaxing so much so we met some lovely people,Nial Elaine Aaron and Richard andLyn for a chat and a glass or two, normally we stay on our own with just a good morning or good evening. Do try this hotel you wont be sorry it really is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anyaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directordecalidad, Director de Calidad at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear Guest,
From the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa we are grateful for your kind words and appreciate that you have recommended us in the travel community TripAdvisor. Your words will help other travelers to know us better and encourage them to visit. THANKS!
We hope to have you with us again soon and meanwhile we remain,
Sincerely yours,
Fernando Benítez
Quality A. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Have just returned from a fabulous weeks holiday at Hotel Beatriz. We were very apprehensive about what to expect as there are lots of negative comments, but we were very pleasantly surprised.
Ideally located 5mins from the airport and 1st drop off couldnt be better. Check in was quite slow and the receptionist didnt advise whether any food was available for us, as we arrived at 9pm.
Rooms (next door to each other) were of a very good standard. Quite spacious with 2 single beds and a sofa bed. Bath, shower, double sinks and large balcony overlooking the pool, couldnt ask for better. There could have been more power points for my liking. Fridge and safe in the room were available for €3 per day each (safe is a must as the hotel not responsible for any missing items if the safe is not used!)Air conditioner unit very noisy on full power and could be colder.
Pool:2 large pools (slightly salty), 1 heated the other not (only for the brave on cloudy days!!) Plenty of sunbeds to choose from every day. Signs to say no reserving of beds but plenty did with no problems. 1 complaint I will make is that the brochure states towel service but it doesnt say that there is a €15 deposit for each towel required! Why I dont know, who would want to take a pool towel???
Spa:looked very nice but the prices for treatments were ridiculously expensive and €11 each to use the indoor pool..needless to say it was very quiet! Hairdressers on site too for a price...
Food: cannot complain one bit, plenty of choice every night and very good quality. Also tried the Italian restaurant which was very nice, and the Chinese (again €3 extra per person) booked via Reception. There could have been more choice in this restaurant for the price paid. All food served is quite bland, so seasonings are required to most things. Breakfast choice was extensive, from english to continental, very nice. Staff insist on men wearing long trousers or will be refused entry, we witnessed many being turned away..no dress code for women in the evenings which seemed strange? Lots of nationalities here, most lacked manners when it came to food queues and didnt care as long as they had theirs!!
Evening entertainment was good sometimes not, staff do their best to get people involved during the day and evenings, and the club dance is quite popular.
A 5min walk away to the airport is recommended to see the planes coming in to land from over the
sea, noise levels are high but you get used to it..some days the airport is very busy. The resorts are all connected by a pedestrian area (flat) so good for walks, jogging and bike rides.
As we were being picked up at 6pm and midday checkout we had to pay an extra €35 to keep the room for 6hrs-the hotel wasnt full anyway but suppose they need to make money anyway they can!
Overall an excellent holiday and would definitely go back there again, 1 week was far too short. The weather was boiling hot in the afternoons but very cloudy in the mornings, beware of the strong winds as you can still burn through
the clouds as we found out!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,925 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#19 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,458 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,784 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beatriz Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatriz Playa & Spa

Address: C/Mato s/n | Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beatriz Playa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beatriz Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatriz Playa And Spa
Beatriz Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Beatriz Playa Lanzarote
Beatriz Playa & Spa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing