We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value family accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalows Sal y Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Sal y Mar
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value family accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at these wonderful bungalows .
The place was spotless and the staff friendly and helpful , it really made our holiday .
It is close to everything , and is really safe for a small family
It was our first time to lanzarote , but it won't be our last , and hope to stay there next time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ballincollig, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week last July. It was amazing!! Great spot! The swimming pool was spotless! A nice size pool too with plenty of deck chairs around it to relax on throughout the day. The bungalows themselves are spotless also! This was really an amazing place to stay.

It actually is about 5 minutes from Puerto Del Carmen and it is actually located in Matagorda, but don't leave that put you off, it is a much more relaxed area and much easier to relax in my opinion. Highly recommend and I am going back again this summer!

Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cillian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday at Sal Y Mar. There was 11 of us in our group and we had 3 bungalows between us. The whole complex including the pool was spotless and the staff were always willing to help with anything we needed including changing beds / towels inbetween the designated days. The location is a nice quieter area but within walking distance to the more lively areas and with a small shopping / restaurant area across the road. The beach is only a stones throw away too! We took our 3 year old son and found the bungalows and pool area to be very child friendly and had ramps for pushchairs / wheelchairs. The complex is very secure with locks on all the gates into it. The only negstive thing I could say is that there is no air conditioning so in July it was very hot at night but if needed you can hire a fan for €20 a fortnight. All in all a great complex for all ages and would definitely recommend / visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleyjadebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from an eight day stay. So relaxing there. Bungalows are near the shops, bars and restaurants and a short stroll to the beach. We love our morning walks on the walkway by the sea. The staff are very friendly and the grounds and pool are very clean.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubblypink48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Have just arrived home after a 2 week stay in Sal Y Mar in Matagorda. My wife, and 15 month old daughter had a superb time, we have stayed in Matagorda 4 times and these are the best accomodation(previously stayed in Los Cascades, Las Gaviotas and Doble Uve) We actually viewed these bungalows in March on a trip whilst staying in Doble Uve, and this prompted us to book.
The location is great, bungalows are clean, Jessica does a good job on keeping area around pool area clean, and pool is regularly cleaned also. My parents also stayed here at same time as us, and majority of folk in other bungalows on our trip have stayed in Sal y mar a number of times- which speaks volumes. Rita who manages the bungalows is very friendly. We have stayed in other accomodation in Matagorda who charge for late checkouts- no fears here- we left at 6pm and were not asked for additional cost. Both bedrooms have bars and locks on so are very safe.
If i was to look a for a negative slant i would find it hard however if i was being overcritical a few small things which could be done to improve- the towels were changed, bins emptied, floors cleaned every 2-3 days, but not on last weekend(not a big deal for us)
TV doesn't have any english channels- (again not a big deal for us).
We will definitely look to go back to these bungalows, our neighbour had a washing machine and apparently there is plans to put one into each bungalow in laundry area at rear of bungalow- this area is very large and great for drying clothes. We found Jessica very helpful with any requests (high chair hire, market details etc)
In summary i'd recomend these bungalows to anyone particularly those wanting a relaxing break- the location across form bars/restaurant and within 100yds of beach is marvellous.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrianBMcGrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

Bungalows Sal y Mar in Matagorda were booked by my family through the owners direct (just google it and you will find the site). It is a very small property of ten identical 2 bedroomed bungalows with a small pool - perfect for us! In our party we had three of the bunglows - 3, 5 and 7. Built in typical Lanzarote sugar cube stye with green windows, doors and shutters and the canarian style volcanic gardens, it looked immaculate, fresh painted and the terrace looked newly tiled. Maintained to a very high standard. First impressions upon arrival were very good!

There is no real reception to speak of, but contact details are left on the door. You would see the owners early in the day cleaning out the bungalows, so if you did need them for anything you could always ask, they were friendly enough. The Pool was freezing and a little on the small side but then I wasn't all that bothered and the complex was so quiet it was more like having your own private pool anyway. A few sun loungers are on the terrace around the pool but if it were to be busy I dare say you may struggle to bathe during the day. The complex is quite open plan and often people would walk in to have a look around. The layout of Matagorda means a lot of properties are bordered by footpaths and Sal y Mar has a footpath along the poolside, though the pool and terrace is screened by shrubbery.

Each bungalow is equipped and furnished the same. A patio with table and chairs for 4. Large lounge with three seater sofa and chair, sideboard with local/german TV channels, a kitchen with two ring ceramic hob, microwave and toaster. Our bungalow was missing the kettle that seemed to be available in the others but we just boiled pan instead. There was no dining table but there were four small chairs at the breakfast bar. The two bedrooms had a large built-in double wardrobe and safety deposit box free to use. Our Bungalow (3) had two twin bedrooms, but 5 and 7 had a twin and a double bedroom, double beds are RARE in Spain! The bathroom was immaculately clean and seemed newly tiled. The shower was very powerful. The water did go off just once during our stay but came back on quickly. Our relatives in Bungalow 7 did also seem to have problems maintaining a hot water supply.

The location was ideal. Completely flat surrounding area, directly opposite the Matagorda Commercial Centre with it bars, restaurants and shops. There are two Supermarkets within the centre for bits and pieces. We hired a car from the Cabrera Medina office, they look the most expensive but the rates we got were nothing like the one's advertised outside and they did not have an excess either! The Centre is located right on the beach front promenade with the cycle path that leads around the runway and into Arrecife, so again this shows what a fantastic location the bungalows are in. We did not find being so close to the airport a hindrance at all, I hardly heard the aircraft though you cant miss them when you are on the promenade. We hired a four person peddle cart from the bike hire guys in front of the shopping centre and peddled along towards Arrecife which was a good laugh and passed some time. It is about 45 mins walk to the Centre of Puerto del Carmen along the prom but a taxi cost only 6/7 euros each way. Staying at Sal y Mar you have the best of both worlds, a nice quick ride from airport. Good facilities locally in Matagorda and the brighter lights of Puerto del Carmen easily accesible.

I loved staying at Sal y Mar, it was peaceful, relaxing,and felt like home. There are a lot of other things to see and do around this amazing island, but if you want to just chill out, I cant think of somewhere else on Lanzarote which can offer it whilst being so accessible to the livlier parts.

Excellent for wheelchair users as a ramp leads in from the road, the bunglalows are all one level, no steps, the surrounding area is predominantly flat. The only minus is the access to the pool area is down 4/5 steps.

  • Liked — Small and Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TandWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#16 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Magec
Pension Magec
#3 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Bungalows Villas Blancas
#67 of 75 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Guanarama
Apartamentos Guanarama
#59 of 75 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agua Marina Apartments
Agua Marina Apartments
#16 of 75 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Volcan Apartments
Costa Volcan Apartments
#31 of 75 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Sal y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Sal y Mar

Property: Bungalows Sal y Mar
Address: Ciabusquo 5, 35501 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Sal y Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bungalows Sal y Mar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing