We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in Lanzarote!!”
Review of Apartamentos Aloe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Aloe
Ranked #45 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem in Lanzarote!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent a week at Aloe 28 Feb - 7 March and loved it. I will certainly want to go again, it was very reasonably priced. Flight with Ryanair, apartment, 15kg luggage (plus 10kg hand luggage allowance) and well organised return airport transfers with A2B cost us £242 each. we went through.... love holidays com.
The apartment complex is SO CLEAN! it looks lovely. it's far away enough from the coastal strip bars to be peaceful, and close enough to get there within a few minutes stroll. There are 2 routes into town, don't go across the bit of waste land, admittedly it is slightly less of an incline once you get to the pavement but if you turn right out of the gates and go that way, it is on the flat for 300 metres or so until you reach the main road to the beach and then it is downhill but not steep...however I wouldn't want to have to push a wheelchair or children's buggy coming back up.
It is much steeper the other end of the town, in the old part, very steep in places over there. This route also takes you to the better, larger supermarket...Hyperdino. excellent choice and quality there. We had found the fruit & veg in the Spar (accessed via the waste land...which is not a scary as it sounds, at all!!) to be very poor quality.
As to the apartment, we were 2 women on our own so Miraim ? the receptionist gave us 1st floor , room 20, which has a nice balcony which was a sun trap. I had the bedroom and my friend had the couch in the living room which opens to a double bed, both very comfortable. great bathroom, not a huge amount of hot water so no bath taken but enough for a good shower/hair wash.
the kitchenette had a little table & 3 stools, it was adequate for making drinks, omelettes, sandwiches etc.... decent size 'fridge with ice box, 2 ring modern cooking plates, kettle, toaster, basic utensils and china for 4. we took a travel iron but never used it, and hairdryer, tongs etc with our own plug adapters.
The cleaner came most days, not every day, towels changed mid way, very pleasant young woman, speaks no English but I speak Spanish so we were fine. Pool was freezing as it is unheated but we lowered ourselves in gradually and once we were in it was great!! daily temperature was 22 degrees with only 1.5 cloudy days which was when we did a lot of walking anyway.
It was very quiet daytime, great to lounge on the balcony or poolside when not exploring the region, but our immediate neighbours downstairs made some noise coming home in high heels on marble, the sound echoed up to us but they soon settled down and it went quiet by midnight. Just be mindful that sound does travel and be as quiet as you can when closing doors etc at night....once they returned home and got to bed it was very quiet.
The lady in reception has excellent English, she's very friendly and always smiling, very helpful with info on buses etc...we visited Teguise for the Sunday market and caught a Last Minute tour, very good value and organised well. We also used local buses to get to Areciffe which was great, less Kiss me Quick shops and bars than PdC, very good shops off the beach front, went up the only high rise hotel on the island and took photos from the 17th floor over coffee, great views. We wandered down one street and found a wonderful inland harbour with rowing boats bobbing about, restaurants all round.......
We tried for 2 days to get a 161 bus before 11am, to Playa Blanca and in 2 hours only 1 turned up and driver said he wasn't going all the way to PB. So on this trip we never did get there. probably better to go on an organised trip with Last Minute, their office is on the downhill walk into town from the apartment shortly after Hiperdino.
The main beach in fabulous, 7km long, did see some dog turds which was unexpected, no sea shells or seaweed, just beautiful sand. There is a great beach bar at the far end of the beach, just before the road turns uphill towards Biosfera shopping precinct...called Kiosko Bar.
We walked towards the air strip to Playa Guacimeta across the sands which was great, nice restaurants there, and almost under the plane flightpath.!!
Found a wonderful Spanish food place, not many of these in PdC...it's mostly Indian, Chinese, Pizza etc...I wanted to eat local and on a long walk into the old town and harbour area came across a dive centre and ate wonderful melon with parma ham, and garlic giant prawns,,,out of this world!!

It's a good idea to get general info and a decent town map of P d C before you go, the tourist office on the main Playa Avenida did not have one, and she virtually threw a Guide to Lanzarote at me, and everyone we spoke to agreed what an unhelpful, miserable and rude woman she was...am thinking of sending a complaint to the tourist board, she does nothing for the island at all!!

shops have lots of black lava and peridot jewellery, beware of fake peridot.! apparently you can pick up tiny fragments from Playa Blanca beach but the strands you find in the shops are mostly from China where many fakes are sold. On Teguise market I was asked for 90 euro for a strand of Malacite which is usually pricey, and got the price down to 15 euro, then realised they were warm and made of plastic!

I cannot praise Aloe Apartments enough, more 3 star than 1 and deserving of a second visit now we know our way around.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor with balcony, probably room 24 onwards, 28 units in all, quieter that end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jhl1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    64
    22
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
80
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed for 10 days in February. Perfect in every way. Staff friendly, apartment spotless. Spar shop just a few minutes walk away. Seafront only 10 minutes away. Would we go back? Yep, already booked to go back September for 18 days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susielou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our second visit to Aloe, I have to say that it wasn't as positive as the first, namely because of the dreadful people that were next to us.

This is a quiet, family run apartment. However we ended up with 3 young couples next to us. The first two nights we had to endure listening to a drunken row between the couple the couple next door for an hour and a half. Not pleasant to listen to and very intimidating. I spoke to management about this who had a word with them and the arguments stopped (somewhat).

However, every evening had to endure about 3 hours of rather rubbish drum and bass music. Because the reception only opens from 9 to 1 in the afternoon, there was no-one to control this. The people next door was just utter morons with no comprehension or thought as to how much they were disturbing everyone else.

I didn't want to spend my holiday trekking up and down to reception about this and since we shared a balcony with them, I didn't want to risk incurring their wrath as they seemed rather rough.

Also, we were absolutely frozen at night despite having 4 blankets on the bed. They are holiday apartments but if they are rented out in winter months then some warm bedding wouldn't go amiss.

So while the apartments are still clean, good value and well located, we really felt at a disadvantage due to the lack of comfort at night and the cold and also not having 24 hours reception.

That said, I would acknowledge that no matter where you go, you are very much dependent on having "nice neighbours", however, the lack of 24 hour security did highlight that if there is noise at night there is little that can be done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glitterfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

......this place needs a special mention. The highlights were:

- Very quiet location but still close to amenities & beach (10 mins)
- Hospitable owner makes you feel welcome and speaks very good English
- Roomy apartments with adequate self-catering equipment (cleaned daily)
- Regularly cleaned pool & communal area
- Quite sheltered from the wind (and boy it can get windy in Lanzarote)
- Generally very quite around the pool so we regularly found ourselves having the pool and pool area all to ourselves
- There are a few niggles from people on here, but there really isn't anything bad to say about these apartments unless you're out to find issues. OK - the TV is coin operated, but then who's coming away to watch Corrie and X Factor? Get over yourselves!!
All in all, a fantastic little find! In reality - it's way better than a 1-star. It just doesn't have a bar nor wifi so technically can't be called a 3-star which is what it really is :)
Would definately recommend to anyone considering a trip to Lanzarote.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Apartments Aloe for a week in October 2013 for Ironman 70.3 Lanzarote race as I couldn't get in any where else (would be even more perfect for a stay for the full distance race - only 10 mins from the start point).

What a little gem... A very clean, well kept & pleasant apartment complex, it's not 5 star by any means but it's centrally located for all facilities within Puerto Del Carmen and has everything required for a self catering stay.

The reception is not 24 hours but the staff are very helpful and speak great English. Rooms are cleaned daily, linen changed once a week and towels three times a week.

The complex is very quiet (just how i like it) with a good sized pool which is cleaned daily with free sun loungers and immaculately kept gardens.

TV is pay as you go (2 Euros per 24 hours) and the Wi - Fi is also PAYG (which I only found out on the last day - 6 Euros per 24 hours on a decreasing sliding scale, the more you buy the cheaper it is).

A little tricky to find the first time as its not on the front (5 minute walk) even with a tom tom, the post code is for the resort and not the complex. Overall a great little place which I will most certainly come back to if I'm in Lanzarote again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Rep of Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Spent a week here in July 2013 with my boyfriend. It was everything we were looking for. Having been in Puerto Del Carmen before I had an idea of good location to be central to amenities but these apartments are perfect. Just a 5 minute down hill walk brings you out at the beach in the center of the strip for the best restaurants and bars. But they are the last set of apartments on the hill so there is no movement up and down the road which meant they were very quiet and relaxing during the day and night.

The apartments are basic typical style of Lanzarote but spotless and a good size with nice balcony. They were cleaned most days we were there and we got 3 sets of towels over our week stay. The small tv required you to top it up but it had Sky Sports which my boyfriend made the most of while hiding from the sun after being burned!!

The reception has limited hours but they emailed telling us our room number and the key was in the door when we arrived late in the evening. We didn't need them at any stage over the holiday except to check out and they also allowed us to check in for our flight and print our boarding passes.

I would not hesitate to recommend these apartments for anybody looking for cheap, basic, good value central accommodation.

Room Tip: We booked a first floor apartment with a pool view it was ideal and a little more privacy then groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shinners0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a very relaxing, sunshine holiday. Our apartment was spotlessly clean, we had lovely neighbuours who gave plenty of information as to the best places to go. Pool was cleaned regularly, rooms were cleaned every other day, lovely balcony. Poolside was spotless and the weather was a bonus as we sunbathed everyday. Peaceful and relaxing everyone was helpful and friendly especially owner who walked around the pool to see if everyone was happy. Will definitely go back asap

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which had a balcony. I prefer this as the ground floor didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terrazas
Terrazas
#80 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#35 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Aloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Aloe

Property: Apartamentos Aloe
Address: Calle Bocaina 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apartamentos Aloe 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Aloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Aloe Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing