We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place, It Made Our Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Princesa Guayadeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Place, It Made Our Holiday”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I’ll try to make this review as comprehensive as possible, so apologies to anyone who thinks it’s too long, but these are the kind of reviews I love when looking to book a holiday - not just booking a hotel/apartment.

Firstly, this apartment complex is rated as a 2 star. On trip advisor, it’s 4.5 star accommodation, and it was based on the trip advisor stats that we decided to book. We were not in any way shape or form disappointed with our choice. This is a little gem of a complex. No, it doesn’t have a pool bar, no, it doesn’t have a restaurant. What it does have is charm, and what it gives you is much more than a pool bar or an on-site restaurant could give you. It’s a small, peaceful little resort, with a lovely atmosphere and very good standard of apartments.

Location of apartments: A 5-6 minute pleasant stroll to the Princesa Guayadeque from the Avenue De Las Playas (Main Strip). Walk is up-hill, not too strenuous, but made a little more difficult in the heat! We stopped into the Rendezvous Pub (across the road from the Los Hibiscos Apartments) on more than a few occasions for a quick drink or two on our way to and from the strip. Lovely little homely pub, run by 2 English gentlemen who make you feel so welcome. Sports on the tv all the time, always a nice crowd there, sitting inside and outside, and it’s just a lovely atmosphere for a relaxing drink. One more point on the location...once you reach the Avenue de Las Playas, you are right in the centre of everything. The Old Town is about a 20 minute walk to the right and the edge of Puerto Del Carmen is about 20-30 minutes to the left, so it's an excellent location, you're never too far from anything. And for those of you who may find walking such distances a bit too much...just just in a taxi, they're really cheap and they'll have you at your destination in no time.

The apartments themselves are really really clean, and are in very good condition. Fresh towels every 2 days with the apartment cleaned every 3 days. Kitchenette has a kettle, microwave, toaster, 2 hob cooker, fridge, freezer, and all the usual cutlery, glassware, pots and pans etc. We didn’t use the kitchen at all apart from the toaster, as eating out was so cheap and there’s such variety in the restaurants that it would have been a sin not to sample them. However, if you do make use of the kitchen, it’s got everything you need to keep you going! There’s also 2 Spar shops just down by the Rendezvous pub aswell, so you can get all groceries etc here, just a 4-5 minute walk away. There’s actually an even closer shop, just down around the corner and across the street, this is more of a small local shop, we didn’t use it but again, I’m sure it would have been fine. There’s an ATM just down past this shop, which is the closest ATM. There’s also plenty of ATMs located along the main strip, so you wont be looking for very long if you need to use one.
We were checked in by a lovely lady on reception, check in was quick and effortless, and we were in our room within minutes. Note that the reception has restricted opening hours (something like 9am-1pm and 5pm-9pm weekdays, and less again at the weekend), so make sure you email ahead and let them know what time your flight is arriving. That way, they’ll make sure to have reception open for you to check in when you arrive. The apartment complex is small, and very safe. When reception is open, the entrance gate is also open. When reception is closed, you have to open and close the gate yourself, so there’s no one in the complex that isn’t meant to be in the complex! There’s roughly about 24-28 apartments, all with their own balconies.

We were in apartment 8B, which was on the first floor ( there’s only ground floor and first floor apartments) and faced east towards the town and the sea – we had beautiful views of the ocean. There’s a pool in the complex, with sun loungers laid around it. There’s also a billiard-table down by the pool. Bedroom had plenty of wardrobe space, and a safe is located in one of the wardrobes (you can use the safe for no extra charge, you get your safe key from reception at check in). Beds are comfy, with light sheets for blankets and heavier blankets also provided if needed. Bathroom again a good size, you get some little sachets of shower gel, shampoo etc. We didn’t use them but again, it’s a nice touch. Shower was good, decent pressure with hot and cold water, so no issues. TV has mostly non English channels but again, the tv wasn’t something we used – any time we spent in the apartment, we spent out on the balcony which was a complete sun-trap. All in all, these apartments far exceeded our expections, we’d have no hesitation in booking again for our next trip!

Puerto Del Carmen – Beautiful little resort, split into the Old Town, and the New Town. The New Town is centered around the Avenue De Las Playas, which is the main strip in the resort. This strip is filled with bars, restaurants and shops, as well as the usual touristy little shops. You will be spoiled for choice choosing somewhere to eat or drink. We ate in the Oriental World chinese restaurant, which was amazing. Also ate in La Cantina, twice for dinner (..and once for breakfast!) as it was so so good, I’ve never tasted such flavour in Mexican dishes before – chicken fajitas are amazing. Our pub of choice most nights was Route 66, which always had a great crowd, but was never too busy. Further up the main strip towards the edge of Puerto Del Carmen, we ate at Sorrento Di Italia – special mention here to their front of house concierge – this guy was just so nice, it actually felt as if he knew us. This was also well worth the 30 minute stroll, and while the starter and main course were brilliant all on their own, the desserts are out of this world!

We walked to the Old Town numerous times, which has some really amazing little streets and alleyways that look like something out of biblical times. Some beautiful restaurants down here also, we ate at Casa Cabana and another night at Taberna De Nina which were both absolutely beautiful. For a few drinks in the Old Town, you cant beat CraicnCeol, an Irish pub just below the shopping centre. Live Irish band each night from about 9.30-12.30ish, and they’re brilliant, they get the place rocking every night –these guys just take requests and start belting out songs. We also got a taxi to Los Pocillos to eat at The Kinsale, a lovely little Irish owned restaurant tucked away between cafes and shops. Again, a beautiful meal. We aimed to go to restaurants that were high up on the trip advisor list and none of the above disappointed us in the slightest. The Kinsale is currently ranked as number 41, and I'm sure its not higher based purely on location. If this restaurant was in the Old Town, or on the Strip, it’d be Top 10 at least, if not Top 5. Bear in mind, that we were having 3 course meals with a bottle of wine, and we were struggling to break the 65euro mark with the bill.

We spent 2 days at the beach, which is lovely, water is amazing, with lots of fish swimming round you as you swim. Rented sun loungers-they were 12euro, for 2 of them, and you have use of them until 5pm in the evening. You just choose your bed and the guy comes around, takes your money, and gives you the ticket.

One last thing, I rented a bike one day from Revolution Bikes who are situated on Calle Doramas (the next right after Route 66 as you walk towards the Old Town, or just at the bottom of the hill if you're coming from the Princesa Guayadeque apartments). The British couple who own/run this shop are so so nice, and I’d recommend you use this place if you are thinking of renting a bike. The bike itself (I rented a trekking bike) was brilliant, sturdy, 24 gears, and a very solid bike. I cycled up to Arracife and back down again, along the promenade all the way, and up behind the airport - a great plane spotting opportunity for anyone interested, the path runs about 20 feet behind the runway and then parallel along the runway perimeter. Anyone who is used to cycling will tell you how much more comfortable and easy a cycle is if you’re on a good bike, and this bike made the trip extremely enjoyable.

We didn’t do any tours, we were content to just go for walks around the town etc and enjoy the beautiful scenery, so I can’t comment on any of those.

Some really great bargains on cosmetics for the ladies, and fragrances etc in the shops on the strip (Fund Grube for example).

Im not sure how the dynamic of the crowd changes during the summer months, but when we were there, the majority of people were either families, couples, or elderly people. It was a great mix of people which added to the relaxing feel of the resort. Taking everything into account, it was an amazing 8 days, in a beautiful setting – and ill definitely be back! Thanks to everyone who contributed to our brilliant holiday!

Paul & Michelle, Cork, Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, as your balcony is more private that the ground floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    47
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
153
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first time at these apartments and will definitely be going back!!! We were welcomed by Trude on arrival, whom we found very helpful and very pleasant throughout our stay. The apartments are spotless inside and out! The pool guy is there first thing in the morning cleaning the pool and keeping the gardens in top condition! The maid service was great with the same two lovely ladies coming each day except weekends. Our apartment was very well equipped with a large fridge/freezer, toaster and kettle and microwave. There was plenty of glasses and dishes too. There was even a washing up dispenser on the wall at sink. There is free t.v and free wi fi and free laundry facilities! Cannot believe this is only a two star rating for these apartments! There was no broken tiles etc and pool guy was always touching the white painted walls. The pool felt cold initially but was lovely one you were in. There is plenty of loungers with parasols round the pool! Such a relaxing location for a holiday, it was very quiet and suitable for couples!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and gardens, some get sun in the morning some in the afternoon. There is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahunter1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

After looking for a cheap get away in Puerto del Carmen I came across the Princesa Guayadeque apartments on a budget holiday website. It was so cheap we did not expect much from the place. We were so pleasantly surprised.

Our apartment and grounds were pristine, a cleaning team came around 4 times in the week we were there and towels were changed once. The lady on recreation was so nice, she even printed off our boarding cards for our flight home. I have stayed in other apartments in PDC and every time had to pay extra for wifi, safe, TV and fans. These are all free of charge here.

There is no bar, air conditioning or 24hr reception but these were not essential to us. The gates are always kept locked so felt really safe (day and night). I even accidentally left my phone and wallet on the balcony table over night. It was still there at 1pm the next day.

The main strip and beach is a 5 minute walk away and a convenient supermarket just a minutes walk. We had such a great time, the service was excellent and the accommodation was spot on.

If you're in any doubt about booking here don't. It's ideal for a cheap get away with top notch service and lovely accommodation.

Rooms 10b, 11b, 12b & 13b all have sea views. We emailed ahead and got 11b. Nice big balcony.

Hopefully see you next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dickielarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just come back from these apartments, what a pleasent surprise, they should be more than two star, can't find anything wrong to say. Great location, great rooms and balcony, frige freezer and microwave, plus two ring cooker, all utensils, cleaned everyday, changed towels regularly.
The lady in reception was very friendly and helpful. Really well maintaned. If we go bsck to Porto del Carmen would defo go here.

Room Tip: All room are overlooking the pool, we preferred upstairs because a but more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great choice. Every thing you need. Good fridge. Free wifi. Parking too. Will be back next year. Resort is a bit hilly. Beer for 1 euro 50. Supermarkets near by. Plenty of restaurants. Island bar is fantastic

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent Christmas week at these apartments, 8a, which is tucked back from the pool area with a huge sheltered terrace which was great for sunbathing as it was a bit windy some days. The apartments are very adequate with 2 cooking rings, fridge freezer, microwave, toaster and kettle. There is also a safe which is included in the rental price. The tv didn't have many british channels but you don't go on holiday to watch telly. There is free wifi. It is just a short, 5 mins walk to a glorious beach and about 10-15 mins to the old town and harbour. There is a local shop at the end of the street but we used the Spar shops as they had a larger selection and was noticeably cheaper. Eating out the choice is outstanding. Never had a bad meal.
The apartments seem to attract a more mature person probably because there is no bar etc.
Would we return to these apartments - definately.

Room Tip: room 7a doesn't get a lot of sun at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

nice clean affordable apartments not a 24 hour reception but had a email of them asking our flight time and number as so some 1 was there to meet us on arrival which there was. nice quick check in ,safe key which is free but small fee bottle of water nice touch, keys to room and gates as the complex is fenced which makes u feel safe . we stayed in 3b which is on the upper level nice patio area with table and chairs that got the sun in the afternoon.into apartment living area with sofa wich would act as bed 4 3rd person coffee table tv limited english channels but u can link ya ipad or computer to it as its got usb ports . kitchen , fridge freezer micro wave toaster kettle and 2 ring hob .plates bowls cups cutlery pans frying pan even has washing up dispenser sponge and tea towel and breakfast bar with 2 stools.bath room nice size small bath with shower water hot but lacks in power soaps shower/shampoo shower cap and a comb 2 bath towels 2 hand towels and a hair dryer .bedroom 2 single beds bit soft with good pillows and extra sheets in wardrobe.the safe is in wardrobe we had a kindle with us wich fitted in as with other valuables tight squeeze u wouldn't fit anything bigger than an ipad in it.there is also aportable fan in the wardrobe to use .full length mirror on the wall. the place its self nice quite area 10 min stroll down to sea front couple of bars on the way ok 4 quiet drink the snug was the 1 we usual went into on the way back.pool area small pool plenty of sun beds and there's a pool table no bar area but u can pop shop which is just round the corner. if u need water go reception and buy there 1euro for 5 litres .o ya room was cleaned daily and the reception even organised a taxi for 630 in the morning for our departure which turned up bang on time all in all good place would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms seem more personal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank riggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Guayadeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Guayadeque

Property: Princesa Guayadeque
Address: C/ Princesa Guayadeque, 4, 35570 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Princesa Guayadeque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Princesa Guayadeque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Guayadeque Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Princesa Guayadeque Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing