We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Luz Apartments
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at Costa Luz this year. The location is great, on the beach but close to shops, restaurants and bars. We stayed in block 2, standard apartment, but this was comfortable and had everything we needed for our holiday. The cleaners were efficient and did a great job. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The gardens are well maintained and the pool area is excellent with plenty of sun beds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stays there and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

As soon as I saw the location of these apartments I knew I wanted to stay here. I booked a little late and I really wanted to stay in the beachfront ones. When I rang to make the booking the beachfront ones (block 6) were only available for part of my stay. I was given a few options to choose from which involved moving apartments. I decided to stay in block 6 for 5 nights, then move to block 5 for the remainder of the holiday (11 nights total). Block 6 is the most expensive as it is actually on the beach but waking up to that view every morning is such a wonderful feeling. The apartment had two good sized bedrooms, one with en-suite which had a bath and shower. There is also another small bathroom with shower (no bath). The living area is very spacious and has 3 seater settee and 2 chairs, coffee table, dining table with 4 chairs, TV with uk channels 1 - 4 and DVD player. The kitchen is fully fitted with everything you would have at home - cooker, hob, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, toaster and all plates, cups, pans, glasses etc. Some reviews on here complain about the furniture but in my opinion it was comfortable and clean. If you go on holiday to look at furniture then your obviously very picky. Although block 6 has the best view, block 5 isn't far behind. We stayed on the top floor in apartment number 6 and you still have a fantastic sea view when you look to the left and right. The apartment itself is identical to the ones in block 6 and has all the same facilities. Even though we had to move part way through the holiday, we were given all the help we needed. The cleaners are in every other day changing the bedding, the towels, and cleaning thoroughly each time they come in. The ladies on reception are fantastic and help with anything you need. Pammie advised us to buy plug ins on the first day we arrived as it had been raining and Mosquitos were knocking about. We didn't listen to the advice and we all sat on the balcony admiring the view whilst being eaten :/ the day after we bought 3 plugins and didn't see another mosquito :) The wifi costs 3 euros a day and it does time out if you haven't used it for a few hours, you will need to log back in as well if you go out and come back, this wasnt a problem for me, but my partner was irritated slightly by it (Facebook addict). The apartments are across the road from a supermarket, a few Irish bars and a couple of restaurants. If you walk 5 minutes down the road, you will find the spar supermarket with all the English requirements you may need. The spar is the start of the strip which has hundreds of bars, shops and restaurants which are all facing to beach. The best places to eat are the little place over the road, on the corner, the tex mex steakhouse if you want a good steak, the Indian Aroma if you want a good curry and Woodley's for a breakfast - less than €3.
All in all, this is the best posdile location to stay if you want peace and quiet or you can walk 10 - 15 minutes to the nightlife. Fab holiday had by all - very pleased, Paula from St Helens

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PaulaDyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at Costa Luz with our friends and the location is the best...close to everything, quiet and right on the beach. There are superior apartments and standard ones. We stayed in a standard apartment and were very happy with it and thought it represented excellent value. The apartments are extremely clean, very spacious, comfortable and well maintained. The staff are excellent and always at hand...Pammie the receptionist couldn´t do enough for us and the maids are very thorough. Our friends stayed in a superior apartment and paid a tad more. The superior ones are more modern and have some extras and for the small difference I would have paid the extra (but these were the last two apartments). However, the standard ones are very clean, comfortable and functional...the difference is cosmetic really. The beachfront block must be amazing. they are more money but that´s where Im going next time! The kids had great time as they had the freedom to go to the pool or the beach without any hassle, which gave us peace of mind being on our doorstep. Thanks a lot to Ocean Club Holidays for making it all so easy for us!

Room Tip: All the apartments are close to the beach. Upstairs apartments have the best views but the downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fluffy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

These apartments are in a great location virtually on the beach. We stayed in block 6 which overlooks the beach. However as previous reviewers have highlighted you do pay a premium price for the "deluxe block". It's 2 bedroom two bathroom. One bedroom has an ensuite which is quite large but the other bathroom is tiny. The apartment is desperately in need of refurbishment. The apartments must be around 30 years old and I would say that most of the furniture and fittings are the original ones. The weather wasn't brilliant and there was a damp feel to the whole apartment, including the bedding. Towels and sheets are of very poor quality. They charge for wifi and the reception is dreadful, our friends needed to pick up e mails but couldn't. It also is only for one device at a time. All the bars have free wifi which was significantly quicker. So don't waste your money. We have stayed in these apartments before and loved the location but unless you really need to be virtually on the beach you can get something much better for your money. Unfortunately until these apartments are upgraded to reflect the standards people expect today and reflect the price they are charging we won't be going again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Toza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Badly in need of an upgrade - shame because they are spacious and in a fantastic position right next to the beach and a level walk into the main resort. Staff all very friendly and the grounds are kept immaculate.

However, furnishings are of very cheap quality and very uncomfortable, similarly the kitchen appliances of the cheapest type, we were given a kettle with a uk plug on??? Hot water has to be rationed unless two of you want a cold shower - you don't really want to be turning the tap off during soaping to save water - what is this the war?

TV is non existent just a load of 'snowy' bad channels - wi fi is charged for and you have to log in EVERY time you connect with a password etc.

No washing machine & pool is FREEZING -

Room Tip: Block 6 overlooks beach but you pay a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This shabby, neglected, outdated apartment was a real disappointment. Cracked, pitted tiles; broken window frames; ill fitting patio door that the wind howled under; only enough hot water for 2 showers at a time; no heating; ancient fuzzy TV with no UK channels; really old bobbled sheets; skinny pillows with no protective covers. When I complained about the small amount of hot water I was given tips on showering!! Flat 5 Block 3 is a good sized apartment in a good position but is sorely in need of a complete refit. Maybe a backpacking student staying for a couple of days would be ok here but as a mature couple used to a comfortable home and staying here for a month it was terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a lovely holiday at the Costa Luz. The apartment was clean and comfortable and was well equipped . The location was ideal being within walking distance of everything we needed. The staff we met were friendly and polite and very welcoming. We didn't use the pool as the weather wasn't the best but it looked lovely and well looked after.


The only criticism we can think of, and this would not stop us from returning, were the settee and armchairs. Within a few minutes of sitting down the seat cushions moved and we had to keep pushing them back.


We have been to Lanzarote four times now and have to say this was the best apartment we have stayed in, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanieTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.3 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#59 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Oceano
Club Oceano
#22 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabrera Apartments
Cabrera Apartments
#23 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Luz Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Luz Apartments

Address: Calle Inglaterra, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Luz Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Costa Luz complex is situated in the main part of Puerto del Carmen next to the San Antonio Hotel. Costa Luz has direct access to the Los Pocillos beach (you don't even have to cross the road). Many apartments have unparalleled seaviews and all enjoy a very pleasant setting amongst the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Costa Luz Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Luz Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Luz Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing