We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place just a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here July 6th-13th All Inclusive, arrived late evening but we were able to have our evening meal before checking in to room. When arriving at room (Block 3 room 14) there was no drinking water in fridge so chased back to restaurant , where bar is located, (shuts at 10.30 pm)!!! only to be told you have to either buy bottled water or take a plastic cup filled with water from the water machine, I explained we had just arrived, was wearing the AI bracelet & have never had to buy water at AI hotels before, because he wanted to close he gave me 2 small bottles to see us through till morning. Strange to me as you could have spirits, beer, wine, soft drinks etc but no free bottled water which makes no sense at all.
Other than that had a brill time, nice friendly staff, food good, & great location for some R&R.
Bungalow very clean & met some lovely fellow guests, especially Sharron, Annabell & her friend
Zahra who were a great laugh. Definately would return.

Room Tip: Block 8 is a distance from restaurant, would be a nuisance if AI as couldn't find a wc near bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank westhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got back. On arrival we were upgrade or room as my daughter is disabled the bungalow was lovely, right next to restaurant which the food was amazing, I can't believe people have said their is not enough variety I can't image what other food could be available, and all of it cooked beautifully. The pool was lovely and clean with safely barriers around which meant it was very safe for little ones. The room was cleaned almost every day and the one day it was not cleaned they still changed the towels. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The facilities are fantastically close to shops beach and amenities. I loved the fact having a little one that everyone had their own garden with loungers so of an evening when little one was in bed we could still lounge. We had a very early flight back and the staff even made us a lovely pack lunch the night before we left. Their is no entertainment on site but the shops are close and they have some so not a problem. The snack bar was a bit far away from where we stayed but to be honest we were so full from the meals we did not need snack. Plus all of the free drinks I.e coke and Fanta was the real deal not watered down stuff. Great place will definatly return x x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me, my Partner and our 4 yr old Daughter stayed here from 3-10th July 2014. We dont expect too much and so was not dissapointed with our stay.

Our room was very standard and had apparently had a recent refurb, the floor was dirty upon our arrival and I had to clean this with a broom that was provided. The beds were VERY uncomfortable.

However, we really enjoyed our stay here, we wanted a peaceful holiday with local bars and restaurants and this is all there. One bar we liked in particular was Sin Nombre which was run by a local called Marco. VERY lovely bloke who really went out of his way to make us feel welcome and our Daughter was well looked after by him. Me and my Partner ordered a cocktail and he still jazzed up her glass of orange to make her feel like she was joining in, he also treated her to a sweet on every visit... we didnt have to ask for anything.

We stayed self catering and so made use of some restaurants. The one we returned to was called Sam Maguire's, AMAZING food! the BEST steak I have ever had! Slow service but well worth the wait. Starters and mains both lovely, cant say the same for dessert though. The same people returned on other nights as well as us and not at all overpriced compared to surrounding bars.

We also ate at a chinese in there, I can not remember the name but it is also located in the shopping complex on the edge. Again this was lovely.

We had breakfast almost everyday at a cafe who advertised English Breakfasts for 2.95!... again really nice!!

We stayed in block 8, room 19 and this seemed to be the pool to be at also in block 8. Met some really lovely people and children played lovely together.

Overall, basic holiday but well worth getting away for a quiet one here!

Would not recommend spending your money on the Aqua Park though, wasnt the best! There is a newer one called Aqua Lava which may be better for younger children.

We visited Playa Blanca which didnt have much other than a nice white beach, a bus costs 2.70 from Matagorda to here.. single though, so a cheaper day out to visit a different beach. Nice beach in Puerto Del Carmen also along with shops and bars.

The holiday overall way very peaceful and well worth a visit to get away! Would return again but fingers crossed for a better mattress!

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to be nicer in a block called Green Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We arrived at Las Gaviotas and asked for an upgrade to an apartment with air con, this was done with no problem at all. The reception staff especially Inma are very helpful. Our apartment was perfect, near to the pool and restaurant. The furnishings were ok, a few Cockroaches about but we found out that if we left the light on in the kitchen at night they didn't come out! We were All Inclusive and the food was fine, always plenty and of course more if you really wanted it. The restaurant staff were very nice, always cheerful and helpful. Overall our stay was perfect, relaxing and trouble free just what we needed. Would defiantly go back and would defiantly recommend Las Gaviotas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pjay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have just come back and would like to say how fantastic the staff are and nothing is to much trouble and the bungalows are very clean. We had a great time and it is very piece full and if you wanted entertainment it was only 5 minutes walk to the shopping centre. The beach is also only 5 minutes away as well. Would go again at a drop of a hat! Saving up for the next one

Saunders family

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Johnlisazoeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in April, the weather was brilliant, the bungalows are really well equipped and very comfy, we could see the sea from a private terrace that had both sun loungers and table and chairs, the pool was around ten steps from our back door, we only paid around £170 for a week, it's well worth the money, I wouldn't hesitate to go back, the staff there were very friendly, the only bad thing about the whole place was the cleaner really didn't clean anything, but we cleaned up ourselves anyway, matagorda itself is nice and quite and perfect for relaxing, one thing I would recommend is hiring a push bike for a day because the area is very cycle friendly and it's a really great way to explore, also don't bother with a bus transfer it's a 2 minute ride in a taxi from the airport and will cost around 8 euros. Brilliant place. :)

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank craig625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First of all I have never given anyone a review on trip advisor before, but I feel really strongly about this, I pay for budget holidays so I am not expecting 5 star accomatation or service! We arrived at las gaviotas on June 21 in the late evening, on checkin we were allocated rooms 20 & 23 in block 7. we were informed that there would be a some work going on around the pool but we could still have full use of the pool, we were told that there were 6 other pools to chose from if we wished to use them instead. We were given a map of the complex which didn't really explain where the other blocks were in relation to matagorda! Reception arranged a bus to take us to our bungalow as it was a bit of a trek from reception. Block 7 has 24 bungalows, with 10 of them facing the road and 10 behind and 4 bungalows facing the pool area. The bungalow itself was a bit run down and in need of renovation but it was clean and adequate for our needs, it was located along a main road at a busy junction. There were only 6 sun loungers at the pool in this block, all the bungalows along the back row had some outside their bungalows. We had use of the pool on Sunday, however the workers arrived on Monday to fit a safety fence around the pool, and worked around us for the day and really tried to keep their disruption to a minimum, however Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and most of Friday they were using loud equipment and strong chemicals so it wasn't an option to use the pool. We had trouble for these days getting use of a pool in any of the blocks because of lack of sun loungers and limited space around some of the pools, Thursday afternoon, after almost an hour of walking from block to block in search, we found 4 sun loungers at a pool at the block nearest the reception but they didn't have any cushions on so I headed into the receptionist to ask for some, the receptionist refused! She told me that I could rent sun loungers with cushions from them but they were for use outside my bungalow (a good 5 minute walk from the reception), i politely informed her that we had been greatly inconvenienced all week regarding lack of pool area for us to use, now that we had loungers we just needed the cushions for the ones we had finally located. She refused the cushions and had 3 (not 4) sun loungers delivered to our bungalows (located along the road) , and advised us to use them there & that if we wished to use the pool we could walk to one before returning to our sun lounger at our bungalow. We had an evening flight home on Saturday, but checkout is 11:30-12:00,reception couldn't let us keep the bungalow for a few hours (there is a charge which we were happy to pay), and there are no facilities to shower in las gaviotas before travelling home - I fact the receptionist suggested to use the shower at the beach! I found the reception staff polite but very unhelpful, and unwilling to help make our stay an pleasant one- definately will not be returning and will be telling my friends to stay away!

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Orla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,377 reviews
2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#44 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas

Address: Calle Mato 1 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £64 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas has a unique location so that you can enjoy to the maximum your vacations of relax and leisure. Located in the tourist center of Puerto del Carmen, the three-star-resort is in front of Matagorda, a long family beach of golden sand and perfect for walking as well as the practice of water sports. The resort is just a few minutes away from the capital Arrecife, the airport of Lanzarote and a great golf course. Just a few meters away you´ll find the promenade Avenida de las Playas, which communicates with Puerto del Carmen and is ideal for taking a pleasant stroll, do sports or simply enjoy watching people come and go. Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas causes surprise due to its wide open spaces as well as its architecture – typical from Lanzarote in white and green colors. It has 134 completely independent apartments divided in seven sectors with their own pool. Four of the seven pools are heatable and three of them count with an enabled space for children. The resort also disposes of a restaurant-buffet and a snack bar. In common areas you can get free wifi connection. In Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas we put everything at your disposal for you to enjoy this experience in a welcoming ambience. Lanzarote, known as “the volcano island”, is pure geology, full of spectacular aquatic and moon-like landscapes. It is the land of contrasts: the white houses, the volcanic red and the turquoise crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic. It is land of works of art-nature, delicate and merged with the landscape. Lanzarote is pure harmony between the man and nature. In Lanzarote you will find the Parque Nacional de Timanfaya (Timanfaya National Park): truly a spectacle declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, it is the island of the eternal spring. The appealing and surprising spots will fascinate and captivate you. Lanzarote is the ideal place for the practice of water sports. The unique climate, the optimum water temperatures and trade winds make of Lanzarote one of the best spots worldwide for surfing and windsurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Las Gaviotas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing