We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerto Carmen
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for a week, 11/18 jan 2014, arrived evening time and asked for ground floor apt,near pool, as my husband has a severe knee problem, We were given apt right down the back , overlooking playground and tennis courts. We are middle aged, and apt would have been perfect for family, not for us. Next morning asked could we move, was told they would let us know, they did'nt. Felt everything was too much trouble. The cleaning staff were great, nothing too much trouble, and had a smile for everyone. Apts were ok, beds hard, and settee uncomfortable, bathroom ok. Went to get my passport back from reception, along with my e-ticket , which they kept on registration, Returned passport ,but no travel documents. Insisted they did.nt have it, and was not taken from me. Of course hours later they found them, no apologies. Would we go back ??? No

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 41christine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puerto Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned 17th Jan 2014 from my 2nd visit to Aparthotel Puerto Carmen Lanzarote, I was there just last September also for two weeks and yet again it was superb. once again our party (3) went for the H/Board option, we had two lovely apartments number 235 and 236 with sea views to die for across to the island of Fuerteventura. The apartments are spotless and cleaned five days per week, also a mention of the lovely well kept gardens and walk ways to the apartments, people do have a moan about its position being back from the town but, its only about 10 mins walk and taxis are so cheap on Lanzarote, I read some bad reviews about Aparthotel Puerto Carmen and find it difficult to believe them, I can be very picky myself but would not have returned so soon if there had been the slightest problem, and as for the staff, in particular Josephine and Mohammed at reception they are so very helpful and friendly, in fact on arrival we were told, if the apartment was not to our liking to return to reception, but it was perfect. Once again I must mention Paco the chef, who does a great job and always with a smile and friendly banter with the customers. The hotel was full but no need to worry about sun beds by the pool as they are in abundance, so with the hotel full they must be doing something right. Aparthotel Puerto Carmen did not let us down, and lets not forget the weather - January and super, thanks once again to all the staff and we will be back yet again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Back from 2 weeks on this terrible place!

First i can't imagine that references people have and how they go abut rating hotels on Tripadvisor. People raving places like this sadly takes away credibility and makes Tripadvisor much less useful.

We actually stayed in two different rooms as we had to evacuate the first, i will write a review about the other room later.

Firstly the hotel i very inaccessible, high and narrow stairs to rooms and from the street. The location is very of, far from beach and everything.

We first stayed in room 234. At entry we was met by a strange smell of mold, it came from under the sink.

The Apartment it self could be quite good if it had been kept well. Now its really bad. Daily cleaning is so and so, they mostly move the dirt around, don't clean mirrors and so on, the rooms should be thoroughly cleaned once and a while, this seems never to happen as its really dirty in the corners, lamps, switches, under the sink and so on.

In the Bathroom only one out of three lights worked, one of the few positive things is that this was taken care of. Hot water was just enough for a shower but luckily heated up again pretty quickly. Worse is that its really hard to adjust the temperature, would not dare to let a child have a shower alone!

The bedroom was pretty big, but has a way to small closet only three shelves and a few hangers, We had to keep all the clothes in a stack each.

Kitchenette is fairly well equipped but with low quality tools, frying pans is a joke, You might believe its supposed to be a Wok pan.
There could be more than exactly 3 of everything....

The biggest issues is the rock hard beds, a pain to sleep on! and the apartment being extremely cold at night! Second were are security risks lose wires in broken sockets, to warm water and so on. The third big issue is that it is infested with ants, roaches and other bugs! That's that made us have to change apartments.

The pool is nice but for a supposedly heated pool its very cold! A big issue is a railing that is broken of leaving a big hole with sharp rough edges under water by the stairs, realy dangerous!


The staff at reception is very unfriendly, the day we changed room we had found roaches and told them about it, as we came back to the room later they had sprayed a bit and left the bottle. We sprayed some more and the hell brake lose. Roaches were scared out of hiding and invaded! We was offered an new room and moved out.
When returning the old key I asked if they could possibly compensate us in some way, maybe free Wifi the last week, no they could not!
Another thing was then our travel agent sent us a bottle of sparkling wine for new year eve, they did not bother to bring it to us but left it in the reception and handed it over on 2 January! They just don't care the least about guests!

There is some kind of entertainment, we saw kids enjoying a clown one day, another day two guys were playing, no one was listening, one person had a smoke in the other end of the room, depressing....


They charge a lot of money for everything. For two weeks, hair dryer €20, fan (a heater would be needed but in summer there is no AC) €40, Iron €20, Coffee Maker €28. Safety box 31,50, If You want more than 4 channels on the TV i think it was about €45 (don't know if that's for one week or two)

We believe this hotel is just trying to get as much money out of it before demolishing it and rebuilding, would be the only right thing to do, now!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kvarnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights between Xmas and New Year. This is a busy time of the year in Lanzarote. The location of the hotel is good, near two supermarkets and 5 minutes walk to the Biosphere shopping centre. There is also a number of small bars across the road. Also very close to the old town. We walked to the strip most nights which is an easy walk. Taxis are very cheap in Lanzarote so if you didn't fancy walking back a taxi 3 euro back.
We had poor weather when we were there and felt the room was slightly cold. we didn't use the pool area but its lovely and spacious with lots of loungers.

Also my biggest complaint was the changing of the towels, an information leaflet said they were changed 3 times per week. I would have preferred a daily change. The shower was very hot so be careful. Also the light in the bedroom did not work initially however once we asked a maintenance man he adjusted the headboard and it worked perfectly. I would agree with other reviewers the door of the room was not very secure but a good security feature is that all visitors need to enter by the reception.

I hired a hairdryer for 10 euro per week which was good enough value as we travelled with only hand luggage this time. We didn't use the wifi but it would appear that there was a free hour daily. The majority of resturants allowed free wifi which is great.
overall a great stay in purto del Carmen pity about the weather.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donegal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and l have just returned from a five night stay in the above apartments. Our flight was delayed so it was approx. 10.p.m. ( Saturday 28th Dec.2013) when we arrived to be met by the most unhelpful young receptionist we have ever encountered, everything we asked was too much trouble. She handed us a key to our apartment and advised we would see the number on the door, it was apartment no. 232 which was extremely hard to find in the dark - no help given.
The apartment itself needs serious attention. The bathroom/shower was a joke, the shower literally falling off the wall. You could not have a bath as the water storage tank would not allow sufficient water, this tank by the way is in the wardrobe !! . The apartment was backing onto a main road - so no sleep. There was broken glass on the bedroom floor.
We were on a bed/breakfast basis - l wont even go there. l have tried to find something positive to say about this establishment, unfortunately it would be unfair to recommend it in any way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank marysmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent Christmas here, never been to Lanarote before loved it. People so friendly and pleasent. ONE thing that was a big down point for us was our apartment was number 268 got the noise of 2 out side washing machines that can be used by guests. Some one decided to do their washing at 12 midnight on night so we couldnt sleep due to the noise and vibration of the machines. Reception informed and they said they would put a notice up.The Man and young Lady at reception were brilliant and very cheerful and friendly. We always had a chat and laugh with them...miss them. The self catering apartment was on the upper floor which was more private then those on the ground floor. I did notice the apartments on the NORTH SIDE had the sun ALL day, from first thing to sunset. Our side never got the sun on it, which made sitting on the balcony a little chilly which over look beautiful Lanzarote style garden landscaping. The pool was cleaned early every morning. Recommend it :-)

Room Tip: Apartments on the NORTH SIDE had the sun ALL day, from first thing to sunset.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traceycara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It was our 2nd time at these appartments. Very friendly and lovely pool area. Only problem we had in nov13 was a very dark cold apartment. Eventually got this changed, but at a cost of £110. But enjoyed it.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#36 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#68 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Carmen

Address: Calle Juan Carlos I # 35, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Puerto Carmen 1*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Puerto Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Puertocarmen Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Puerto Carmen Aparthotel
Aparthotel Puertocarmen Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Puerto Carmen Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing