We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having booked a late deal with Thomsons to Tui Olivina in Lanzarote - we were really happy, it was our first time in the Canaries and in an all inclusive hotel, it was fab, the food was excellent lots of choice and the staff really pleasant, the pool area really clean and the staff very friendly, we were in bed quite early and there was no noise-fantastic. Had a car for for the day, this is our recommendation go north its is spectaculor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jackie_kamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just got back had a great time. Staff great room good, but would suffer in the peek period, as no air co, Just a fan which is ok this time of year. Too much drink and so much food, entertament was good some time and early to bed on other nights. It would have been nice if the pool could have been heated, but for what we payed we had a great time and value fo money we would go back again.

Room Tip: if you want air co choose the hotel not the appartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We got back last week after a week stay at Olivina and we all had an amazing time! We went as a party of 9 for my Mums 60th - 6 adults and 3 children. I had read lots of reviews on here and because the more negative comments will always stay in your mind I was a bit nervous. I needn't have been, I honestly can think of very little to complain about!
Food - A huge selection to choose from every day at every meal - if you struggle to find something you like you should probably just stay at home - lots of different fishes and meats, huge platters of salad, breads, vegetables cooked in every conceivable way and desserts galore. The chefs cook it in front of you so what you are eating is fresh from the pan so you know it hasn't been sat round for ages. All of the salad platters are on refrigerated surfaces and replenished regularly which gives you confidence in the hygiene aspect.
Staff - from the reception staff to the maids to the waiting staff, they are all lovely, friendly, great with the kids and nothing is too much trouble for them. Inma and Luis in the Restaurant made sure that we had a table reserved every evening for tea and we could go whatever time we wanted. We were not told once that we had to be there at a certain time. Luis was so lovely with the kids and my 6 year old son thought he was awesome!
The snack bar had a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, salads, desserts and fruit - that's if you hadn't had your fill between the hours of 8-1030, 12-330 and 630-10!! We never felt the need to snack. The beer on tap, although not Peroni, was easily drinkable and we managed to get through quite a lot of it and there are a couple of cocktails which are drinkable if you get bored of the beer (we didn't try the wine so can't review that).
Apartment - we stayed in an apartment as apposed to a hotel which is meant to be of a lower standard and a bit outdated - I didn't think so, they were immaculately cleaned every day and I couldn't pick a fault with them. The maids left the towels shaped like a different animal every day and left us fresh flowers from the gardens every day - very sweet.
The grounds were immaculate, there were a team of people tending to them every day and I don't think I saw a single bit of litter in the time we were there, they are all clearly very proud of the hotel and take pride in their jobs.
To try and balance it a bit, the pool next to our apartment was FREEZING, though it didn't stop us from going in, certainly not the kids who stayed in there all day! And the evenings in the bar could do with livening up a bit, it had a touch of the Pheonix Nights about it.......
In summary, I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you want a family holiday or a laid back week in the sun and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartmets 205-211 and when we stepped out the patio door we were straight onto the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JessIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in the family friendly appartments adjacent to the hotel and had a lovely time. The food was superb and their was plenty of choice, no matter what time you arrived to eat.
Staff were friendly and efficient. The Kids Club Staff were excellent at keeping kids of all ages happy, although the evening entertainment for them was really only for the very small, mini disco wasn't a mini disco.
Clean and safe environment. I would definately say this is a great place to take your children.
Not that impressed with actual Lanzarote but didn't need to leave the complex anyway.
Think some people look for things to complain about. We had a great time.
Thanks Riu.

Room Tip: The appartments are 3 star as opposed to the hotel, which is 4. We found the appartments excellent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank charlieaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just back after easter break week of April 5 - 12th
First off been to Canaries many times. Like the quality you get there. Standards are usually high.
However not sure if I can give the Olivina a good write up or not. Had plus and minus points going for it.
Food was okay but not a lot of choice ...after nearly a week [ and yes we did venture out ] we got a bit tired of veal and fish for mains at dinner. Lunches had fish and chicken .
Always found a table no problem at breakfast lunch and dinner - BUT the hotel was not full. so not sure what its like high season.
Entertainment - very poor -3 of the nights of pub type singers 1 night nothing and 2 other acts over the 7 evenings we spent 47 nights out the hotel in a local bar to get a get a bit of entertainment.
Pool - okay but whilst relaxing in sunshine we all had to put up with " sanderman" as I called him - guy spent the times in between meals from 10.30 - 12.00 ish and then 3.30 - till we left the pool - usually about 5.30/5.45 sanding down the wood work for someone to paint.
Yes there are two pool areas but the one we used was near our room and the pool bar was open longer than the other.

I would have expected better - but it was clear that they were preparing for the high season and guests just had to like it or lump it ...

Location handy for walk to main road with plenty to do and see and eat and drink to keep you occupied if you dont like whats going on in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Porge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We as a couple spent a week at the Riu Olivina Resort in early March and we were impressed with the check in and our room. The staff were all very freindly and helpful. Bathroom was nice and cleaned every day. Restuarant staff were efficient and freindly. Food was varied with a lovely Salad Bar. Several types of food available breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was evening entertainment most evenings, some appealed to us and some didn't on the whole was very good and entertaining.. We were disappointed with the seating in the Bar area, as it was arranged like a theatre with only a table scattered here and there, so if you wanted a drink while watching or listening to the entertainment you had to hold it all the time. There was another seating area just outside the bar area, but again very limited seating and tables.
We had a relaxing nice stay at the Olivina, but we didn't realise that it was so popular for families with young children and normally we go to couples hotels. But if you have a young family then this is the hotel to go to, as they do a range of good fun entertainment in the afternoons. So very good hotel nice holiday and family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony Room, as we had a terrace and it was on the shady side and not much sunshine there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank willy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I echo the thoughts of the lats couple of reviewers here, did the people who hated the place actually stay at this resort, some of the main points

1) Forced to attend Dinner at a prescribed time- Not sure where this happened but we were able to eat anytime during the generouse serving times ( breakfast 8- 10.30, Lunch 12.30-3pm, Dinner 6.30 to 22.00)
2) Forced to use same table very night- Again not true whilst we were there, had breakfast and lunch al fresco each day and dinner late at 8.45 when the restruarant was at a comfortable occupation level.
3) Lack of choice at Meal times- Again no idea why comments were made like this , several choices of hot an cold not including traditional kids fare of pasta, pizza and burgers if they did not want to try adult type meals. Copious amounts of Cakes, Ice creams , Yoghurts and Fresh Fruit.
Drinks all very good from the self serve beers, wines and soft drinks to the cocktails.

The staff were excellent and friendly always saying hello and wishing you a cgood meal, place was spotless clean and quiet .. Plenty of sun loungers and pool space, yes they were cold but thats whats needed after a days roasting in the sun. Bets place very for proximately to sea front at the better end of P Del Carmen and none of the hills like nearer the old town. The entertainment was not "Sunday night at the london pallidium " but was more than adequate, sitting in the conservatory each night was very pleasant, and we are not old fuddy duddies we are in our early 40's. Cannot fault this place and will definately be returning , best holiday ever in a AI and in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anon1966363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £110 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing