We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relaxia Olivina
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos Barcarola Club(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel THB Flora(Puerto Del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Seaside Los Jameos Playa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Floresta(Puerto Del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VIK Hotel San Antonio(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hipotels La Geria(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BelleVue Aquarius(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Beatriz Playa & Spa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,339)
Filter reviews
2,339 results
Traveller rating
681
1,028
434
116
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
1,028
434
116
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelole olivinamain poolself serviceanimation teamfamily roomon tapsoft drinksair conplenty of choicesalt waterpool areaevening entertainmentbar staffceiling fanmeal timesplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,330 - 1,335 of 2,339 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent 10 days as a family of four at this hotel. It is only 10 mins from the airport but there is virtually no air traffic overhead! We found the hotel rooms and pool area very good - latter not crowded even in August and the pool a very good size for a decent swim. Also no music blaring by the pool! All inclusive was great for all concerned. We hired a car and travelled round the island - all majjor sites within easy reach. We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday- we have been to many Riu hotels and foun dthis one in keeping with their high standards. Only very minor downside- air con could hav ebeen a bit coller in the rooms which could also usefully have wifi

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived 10pm Sunday to book in.We was handed a map with X marks the spot , go find your room !! .
Room as described in other reviews, dated and with no aircon (apartments) hob and fridge , 2 small glasses, 2 small cups, 2 giant pans and a frying pan lol.apartment clean apart from ants. Switly dispatched by cleaners the next day.
Water not supplied by hotel.advised by reception to go buy some from shop and fill small empty bottles from hotel dispensers. Local shop closed at ten.
Food.
Good so far although breakfast is a bit crammed.lunch and evening meal more sedate.
Service poor compared to other RIU hotels we have stayed at. No housekeeping in Wednesdays so make your own bed lol.
Just hope this is a one off poor RIU as we have booked a Tunisian one in June next year.
CONCLUSION
Would we return here ....No. it looks like the group has been buying up the property around the origional hotel and incoperating to the brand but not bringing them up to the usual RIU standard. Outside our room we have a view of what we guess is a filled in swimming pool from the previous site which is now a giant sandpit/ vollyball court lol oh and the sunbeds around the two non main hotel pools are bum breakers .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We are currently mid way through a weeks family holiday at the Riu Olivina and can assure you that the hotel in August is perfect for families with children with plenty of children of different nationalities and activities to keep them entertained. Our 7 year old daughter is especially loving mini club and we especially want to mention the 2 girls who run the mini club and childrens entertainment in the evening, who work tirelessly always with a smile on their face . Food is great with lots of choice! Alcoholic drinks are good as well: cocktails are great, as are the beer and red wine on tap. We can't fault the service and would have no hesitation coming back again. All the bar, waiting and reception staff are very welcoming. Can't comment on the Thompson rep service as never seen him / her since we arrived. Excellent value for money compared with our half board holiday to Greece last year. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andovercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay & it was a game of 2 halves- some examples........

week 1 there were carts at breakfast with chefs making smoothies or handing out cava. Week 2 nothing!

Week 1- a bartender was making mojitos in the evening for guests. Week 2 nothing

Week 1 the pool by the apartments was cleaned & the surrounding area hosed down daily. Week 2 we had to complain 3 times to get the pool cleaned & there was the same rubbish day after day under the sunbeds ( I saw the same piece of lemon from a drink in the same spot for nearly a week!

week 1 there was something "special" being show cooked every evening such as paella or meat. Week 2 nothing. Week 2 became very repetitive foodwise!

Week ! loadsa bacon! Week 2 bacon only available every other day at breakfastime

The only difference was that week 1 appeared to have an excess of Germans & week 2 had far more Brits with their wailing kids! Make your own mind up.
The Rep said that nothing had changed-obviously it had

None of the above were bad enough to ruin an excellent holiday but were noticable

The plusses were the maidservice- excellent. The barstaff were completely mad & became old friends during the period & the hotel is a really nice place to stay. We are looking to return in a couple of years

We visited the Music Hall Tavern during our stay & recommend it- it was hilarious! We also went on the day tour of the island which was interesting

All in all a great holiday but week 2 was not as high a standard in certain areas as week 1.

Hope the above makes sense

John

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I went to Riu Olivina with my sister for a relaxing break in the sun before her wedding and this hotel certainly delivered. We both have visited Lanzarote before but stayed in apartments so it was lovely to go and have food and drink sorted out for you.

We travelled with Thomson which was fine, although we did think they were trying to get buyers for their upgraded seats so we were split up and sat quite far apart from each other on the way out. The return journey we got no sales pitches for those seats and were put together. Anyway other than that, it was okay. Made better by the fact transfers were so short. We were not on the coach twenty minutes.

Check-in was quick and Riu had taken into account our Riu club member requests (quick tip is to join their rewards club before you go and you can request things like views etc and if they can accommodate them, they will!) They did, the staff were fabulous on the front desk and helped us with everything from extra pillows to assistance with the wifi :D. A quick note about the wifi as it never seems to connect, even when my sister and I returned from a night out at 2 and there was no one else using it! Just ask for help and they are usually fairly good about helping you - obviously don't chose a busy time of day to ask them.

The room was high up with a balcony and we were in the main building - which I believe is the hotel part. They were cleaned daily and were immaculate. We were in 1228 or 9 - can't remember but we started getting sun on our balcony from 10/11 am until the sunset - couldn't beat it for some post pool relaxation before getting ready for dinner.

Food is done buffet style, but in addition to the usual salad, cold selections and fruit or desserts, there were also chef manned stations cooking things like meat/fish and speciality dishes likes paella. Food was fresh and catered for a range of nationalities and was lovely. Great value for money really. However, it tended to get a bit samey as these things do, so we ate out once during our trip at a lovely chinese on the main strip in Puerto del Carmen. Food in general, when out and about seemed to be very good value, I guess because of the competition from the AI hotels. The drinks were great too. Especially the cocktails, which were not as strong in the day, we found they added more alcohol at night. We came down for dinner one night and the waiter was making Long Island Iced Teas outside the bar and they were delicious, add them to the menu please! Also lager, juice, fizzy drinks, water and wine was available on tap throughout the day/night - until the bar closed - as well as a hot drinks machine. Some days cava was available at breakfast, nice for a mimosa treat!

Facilities were basic - the mini club activities ran from 10.30-2 (I think) and most kids enjoyed playing the pool (as we did) and the entertainment isn't brilliant but it does depend what you want from your holiday. If you want vast amount of entertainment, pay a bit more and stay somewhere with the budget. If you enjoy some live music and having a chat and drink then this will suit you. To be honest with the hustle and bustle of the strip outside - the hotel is a nice relaxed retreat to go back to.

I would say this hotel is in an ideal location, close enough to walk into town and yet far enough out to get a decent nights sleep. Tip, take a left when you come out of the hotel receptions gates and then a left again at the end of the road - walk towards the seafront and they'll be a spar on your right - then you're on the main strip (the rep, who was excellent in every other way, told us the wrong way and it does make the walk in a fair bit longer!). We enjoyed it, and would recommend the place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Join Riu Club, add your booking and make a room request - high up in the main building for a good view and sun!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews