We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do you speak french?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“do you speak french?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

just returned from this hotel in Lanzarote the hotel was very clean the apartments spacious and clean the food excellent and a very good choice' the only downside were every thing was catered for the French, entertainment all in French, when the entertainment was by English speaking; once a week' the hall was empty vacated by the French. I would like to mention MAT the Thomson rep who was very helpful nothing too much trouble for him thanks MAT..lovely hotel but will not be going back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    855
    343
    90
    61
See reviews for
672
885
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was my first visit to this hotel I was impressed by the accommodation but found the whole hotel was aimed at the French all the entertainment and even the staff were trying to communicate in French
On our first night a man got into our apartment and when this was reported to the hotel they seemed disinterested luckily I woke and found him before he had chance to steal anything although this did frighten me as you would imagine
Such a shame but won't be returning

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have lovely patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was a hotel which was so good in most parts yet completely spoiled for us in one other! The pool; the food; the accommodation and the staff were mostly excellent - but all were totally spoiled by the overpowering French entertainment. The (many) French people that we met (including the children) were friendly and we all quite enjoyed trying to communicate in each other`s language. Unfortunately, by evening there was nowhere to sit and enjoy a quiet chat over a glass or two as the French entertainment team then took over completely and the seating in the bar and its surrounds were crammed full of mostly French families. We certainly didn`t grudge the French their fun but were not happy that we were unable to find a quieter place to escape from it! Rumour, which was rife (and not just among the Brits) said that a new French team had been employed to fill the hotel which had been in danger of closure? I would suggest that RUI decides just what kind of hotel the Olivina is, or has become - it is either an international hotel for adults as well as young people or it is essentially a French resort encouraging families?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just returned from a last minute booking with Thompson to the Riu Olivina.We paid £425 each which was good value for all inclusive four star.This hotel is slightly dated but has a great atmosphere about it,rooms are spacious and very clean,staff very friendly.Food is good with plenty of selection not fantastic but for an all inclusive accepable.We didnt have the best of weather which is unsual for early March, gale force wind blowing all week from the East which meant it was cold!This was our second visit and we will definately return.One final word of warning DO NOT go to see the doctor who visits the hotel I was unfortunate to pick up a chest infection and needed anibiotics she charged me nearly 200 euros for a five minute visit and a prescripition! look elsewere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We went to this hotel last year and couldn't wait to go back.We went back this year and couldn't wait to leave.The food, accommodation and the hard working staff we as last year but since then a French tour company specializing on family holidays with an emphasis on children had all but taken over the hotel.Now most of the time it's like a bad day at Butlins.It was not only us complaining ,I understand almost all the British and German guests complained.What a shame.

Room Tip: Go to the san antonio hotel in the evenings.you have to pay for you drinks but it's worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyadams1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked ahead very early based on reviews, hotel then taken over by the French so all activities and cabaret in French.Although I had written and asked for a high room with sunshine we were given a ground floor room, the firthest away possible from all the activities and oh so dark. Asked to change it but no luck.The good points were -excellent food, very pleasant staff(except Fanny on reception, bet she was French too ).Beautiful swim pools one heated enough,plentiful sunbeds, good clean rooms, linen changed regularly, can walk to the shops. .On balance we enjoyed our week thank goodness the weather was lovely, . Forget the beach, it is awful,. The bad points- no quiet room to sit to play cards, there is a smokers room which is cold as it is open to the elements, the French are rude and pushy, cannot join in any activities as the English ,Germans, Scandinavians are not considered at all.Would I go again, yes, if it was £200 cheaper than the other Lanzarote hotels, and would make sure I got a hotel room not an apartmnt

Room Tip: if you have booked an apartment write at least a month before you go, ask for a sunny apartment no h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillywigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglaise en France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My daughter and I booked a short break at the Riu Olivina Resort in February because we were in need of some winter sun and were more than pleasantly surprised on arrival after having read a number of very bad reviews on the resort. We had a very large, clean, west-facing room in the hotel which enabled us to enjoy an aperatif on the balcony watching the sun set before going down to dinner. If I had a criticism, it would be that the room was a bit old fashioned and tired - but hey, that's not much of a criticism. I found the food a bit repetative although my daughter thoroughly enjoyed everything. There was enough selection and the beer and wine was on tap. The staff were all friendly and very helpful and the bedroom impecably clean. The guests, mainly English, French and German were all very discreet, although the Marmara representative at the pool-side was rather loud. The hotel was a few minutes walk from the beach and the main commercial area. We did participate in one or two evening's entertainment which wasn't usually our style but found that there was good guest participation. The bar staff were great all throughout the day serving cocktails, tea, coffee etc with a friendly and untiring contact with the guests. We didn't participate in the Thomson excursion around the island but chose a Last Minute tour which was cheaper and I'm sure just as good. The Last Minute shops are found along the main commercial street about five minutes from the hotel. The grand tour was excellent at 45 euros each (including lunch). The swimming pool was cleaned every morning and there were enough beds for everyone without having to "bag" one before coming down to sunbathe. The reason there is a lot in French is that the travel company Marmara has permanent representatives in the hotel, whereas the Thomson rep only passes to see if there are any problems. But that shouldn't stop everyone joining in the fun.
Would I go back again? Yes, definately.

Room Tip: No tip for a room but when booking your flight sit on the left side of the plane to have a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Austin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#21 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#6 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Property: Relaxia Olivina
Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing