We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and cheerful week in the sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Lane Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful week in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I spent a week here from 6th-13th July.I travelled with my husband and 9 year old son and we were quite happy with our stay.It isn't the plushest of accomodation but it cost us just over £500 for a week for the 3 of us so we were happy to be in the sun.We were in bungalow 39 which was right beside the pool-this was ideal as it meant we could go inside for something to eat or drink and then go back to the pool.The reception area was a bit basic looking as was the bar but there were lots of families there who had been before and were going to come back again.I am happy that the room I stay in is clean and this was the case here.The location was ideal and the local restuarants were excellent.The area was lovely and clean without the lager louts out in force.It was very warm however and air conditioning would have been good.We pre booked a transfer from the airport which was more than half the price of 3 transfers with thomsons.This meant that we had no contact with the rep but if we needed to see them we could have went to the reception.The hard beds were also fine but we did but the camp bed for our son into the bedroom which meant that it was a bit crowded but we spend enough time indoors when we are at home so when we're on holiday we like to get out and about.Would go back especially if we got it so cheap again.

Room Tip: room 39 overlooked pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherwellmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    333
    157
    36
    20
See reviews for
222
350
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

just returned from a week at Hyde Park Lane and overall we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We arrived late in the evening and our first impressions of the complex was that it was very run down and we had to queue around the corner onto the footpath for check in. On route to the apartment we went through the pool area and noted that it was untidy. Our apartment was well prepared and spotlessly clean. We were delighted with the accommodation and loved the freedom self catering offered. The kitchen was equipped with all the essentials and while we had a few ants we did get rid of them with ant spray.
The only downside would have to be the level of untidiness around the pool area with sunbeds scattered around the place and bins overflowing. The reception area was very unwelcoming and requires a major face lift. we didn't use the bar or the restaurant so cannot comment on this side of the complex.
The complex is close to the beach but unfortunately due to jellyfish we couldn't swim in the sea.
Overall we were happy with the holiday but not sure I would return again as disappointed with the cleanliness of the public areas.
there were no activities for children organised.

Room Tip: we were in no 74 and it was perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regan3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had two weeks here in June this year, arriving on Monday 16. We took my sister who is not able to walk too far. I told the girl this when booking and as we arranged to take a wheel chair she would not have missed it anyway ....... would she??? They put us at the far end of the site right by the wall, we could not have been further from a gateway or opening in the wall. Most people came to climb over the wall, right by the bungalow we were in, rather than walk all the way round and I don't really blame them. No one could find their way out!!!! It is a rabbit warren.

I was told that the bungalows had two single beds and a sofa bed which pulled out in to a double. That was okay ...... except that ....... it did not! There was a type of camp bed stuck up the side of the room which made it quite cramped and not very comfortable to relax in. When my sister lay on the bed she found that the slats were broken. Great first night!!

(To be fair they did change the bed the next day after the meeting and greeting with the rep in the bar.The trouble was the bed was like a junior bed and more suitable for a child.)

Carl, the rep. What can I say?

He was charming, listened to what was wrong, regarding the lack of a double bed and the broken camp bed and promised he would get us an upgrade. His choice of words, and he volunteered this solution not us. He was adamant that all would be well and he would sort out a move for us as soon as possible. On Wednesday we happened to meet him ......... whilst he was climbing over the wall. 'Oh, I was going to come and see you' he said. Well, quite simply, he wasn't as he was already over the wall. He began an explanation about the promised move .... all the while walking backwards away from the wall - and us. To cut a long story short he said that there would be no move if we were not prepared to pay a 'supplement' of £1,500. RIDICULOUS. He clearly did not want to discuss it with us and was extremely dismissive, bordering on rude. Remember, it was entirely his own suggestion that we have an upgrade. Honestly, just having what they had promised i.e a double bed would have sufficed for us.

I lost any respect I might have had for Carl after that.

He said that although they had told us it was a double bed and two singles ..... and my sister needs a double because of her leg problems ..... that was the basis on which I had booked ......
it was 'your problem, not Thomsons and they are not prepared to help' Nice of them. They give the information and we decide according to that information. If it is incorrect they take no responsibility so do beware and ask lots of questions before you book.

Apparently there are no double beds on the complex at all (much to the chagrin of the couple celebrating their 25th Wedding Anniversary!!) So why were we told there was a double sofa bed, I wonder?

Curiously, on the list of extra linens they offer ... double sheets.

Given the heat and sun, an umbrella on the patio would have been welcome and in fact I would have thought it a 'must'. It would have been a thoughtful detail. Probably have to pay 15 euros to hire one.

The complex itself is not in great condition. It is tired, dated and sort of neglected. the furnishings are well past their best. It is well past the time to renovate the interiors to a decent standard. The beds were sooooo hard. My husband can sleep anywhere, on anything. But these beds had an effect on him. It is like sleeping on the floor. The bed sheets were in holes.

It would have been nice to see less rubbish, broken chairs, mops, garden clippings etc. just dumped in corners in the garden areas.

The bar was ...... grubby and dull. We were so very glad we chose to sort our own food out too. I would not have wanted to eat there, that is for sure. They allowed people to smoke directly under the 'no smoking' signs whilst people were eating their meals with their children which we found very selfish.

On the whole it was not really an enjoyable holiday. I would not go again.

If you want a noisy, half star holiday this will suit you. If not stay away.

A footnote:

Apparently on the day of departure you are able to keep your room for an extra 20 euros. No one mentioned this to us and we did not see any reference to it in reception. We had to be out of the bungalow by 12 noon and our flight was at 9 pm. Had we known we would have kept the room and been a little more comfortable, had drinks and something to eat and relax.
Carl told us about this at 11 am on the morning of departure. He then said 'oh, you are too late now, you have to book the day before you leave'. He is not the brightest rep we have met.

I think that about sums up the 'quality' of Thomsons and Hyde Park Lane.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 650Cloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Cheap holiday but rooms were very clean pool area was clean breakfast was basic but very cheap a walk from the beach amazing so pretty we eat out every day there club r a bit poor but it's a family holiday place people our very friendly too coming back ASAP spent every little time at the apartments because there was so much to do there water park 5 min away was gd too

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Major building works every day but Sunday. They are building new bungalows in the middle of the site. Gardener works 0700-1000 with a chain saw outside all rooms. All staff do not seem to be aware, except the lady in the on site supermarket who has to scream to be heard over drilling!!!! Don´t expect any sleep as the beds are worse than sleeping on a concrete floor. As for the 4 pools, only 2 are able to use as there is no filter system or chlorine in the quieter pool, the main pool can be used, but rubbish all over the place and in the kids playground. There is no filter system in quiet pool, so full of debris, so swim at your peril. Nothing for kid´s to do until july/august when kid´s club on. Staff are not helpful at all, they all deny any knowledge at all. The only good thing is the resident Cats they are amazing but that is it!!! We are not the sort of people who expect everything for nothing, but I expected to be told about the building works, but no tour operator did the decent thing and advise guests!!! Maid does clean, but uses all of your allocation of hot water as you are limited to 30 litres to wash up, shower in and rinse clothes in!!! Cold showers and strong winds are not a good combination especially when you have a child with you as the water is the only entertainment... If you wish to escape to the beach it will cost you 12 euros per day for 2 sunbeds, so allow for this in your spends!! ALL OF WHAT I SAY IS THE TRUTH!!! I wish we had been iformed of these things before travel as we would have chosen somewhere else!!

Room Tip: No rooms are quiet so don´t expect one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 354michellev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from a week in Lanzarote. Very pretty surroundings. Bungalows nicely situated and very well laid out and equipped. Beds dreadful, too hard and headboard not attached so made constant noise if you turned. Pleasantly surprised at how clean they were and at supply of clean towels etc. Main complaint was the reception area and staff there. So uninterested and unhelpful and fairly glum most of the time. Pool area really nice. Didn't use restaurant or bar as we went out every night. Liked the quietness as it was perfect for chilling out.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay request a bungalow across road from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublinroamer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked the Hyde Park as friends of ours stay quite often .Very disapointing with the whole place ,We were staying in room 186 ,noise from above even hearing them in the toilets . Holes in the sheets holes in the towels sheets very badly fitting on the beds . room full of mossies so we were bitten alive , cobwebs in the window sills and behind the bedroom door ,ants in the bathroom , shower was leaking when you turned it on will never be staying there again . We normally stay down by the san Antonio but said we would try this place what a disaster of a aholiday we know next time to stick with who we know .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelenortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyde Park Lane Hotel Lanzarote
Hyde Park Lane Hotel Lanzarote
#49 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#27 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Lane Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Lane Bungalows

Property: Hyde Park Lane Bungalows
Address: Calle Hungria, 6, 35009 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Lane Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyde Park Lane consists of 220 bungalows set off by 18.000m2 of gardens, built in the typical local style. The complex comprises of four heated swimming pools(2 adults, 2 children) one tennis an two pael courts, a restaurant, a bar, a pool-bar, a supermarket, launderet, and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hyde Park Lane Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Lane Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Hyde Park Lane Hotel
Hotel Hyde Park Lane
Hyde Park Lane Bungalows Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing