We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday from/in Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Told by travel agent hotel was wheelchair friendly-LIE-only area we could access was the ground floor appartment we were allocated(disable room),steep steps/ramps? to reception and bar/games/meeting area only possible if a goat.
Could not reach the Pool as sunbeds booked by 5am and packed around only access.Hotel ignored its own policy on reserving sun bed.
Very noisey, shouting,running about and up and down the stairs banging doors,shouting down from balconies etc until past 2am.Adults and small children. Receptionist would not leave reception to intervene.
Had to beg a pass key for a side gate so we could enter/leave the complex as we could not access reception main entrance.
Would rate the hotel as 1star+
Do not use this hotel if you have walking difficulties,or want a quiet time, or like to sit by the pool or swim.
Only accessed the pool once when most of the mainly Irish guests had gone to a wedding and then only at 7pm.
Room plain but clean. NO Air Con only a small fan with temp over 35% only way to stay cool was under the shower?
Resort itself was very good and we would visit again but not to La Penita.no no no.
Never again and never with Thomas Cook

Room Tip: all rooms are noisy and basic and very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Myself and my wife travelled for one week without the kids! La Penita is in a great location, it's In a quiet location but is just minutes walk from the restaurants and bars in the new town. Its about 40 minutes walk to the harbour.

The apartments are clean, tidy and well equipped. The apartment has a coffee machine, kettle, two rings and enough pots pans etc to cook in. We easily cooked pasta on the one night we stayed in and cooked our breakfast everyday. On several reviews we read before we went we were warned that people reserved poolside loungers and it can be tough to get a spot. We never found that. We went down about 10.30 every day and got two beds and an umbrella with no problems at all.

The staff are great and the TV has a scart connection so I was able to attach my iPad!

I only have one complaint about the place. It was impossible to cool the apartment! Even with all the windows open you could never get it cooled and sleeping was impossible. The apartment came with a fan but it was less than useless. Several people we talked to bought fans, perhaps we should have done that! It was sol hot that most nights I pulled the sofa beside the patio doors and slept there. I understand very few places have air con on the island so this may well be a common complaint. I don't know what we would have done if our kids were there as they would never have slept at all.

All in all I recommend these apartments, you will have a great holiday!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

my husband, myself and our 21yr old foster son who has learning disabilities stayed at La Penita for two weeks from 16th July. we were given a room which overlooked a carpark which wasnt really suitable, we were offered a sea view the next day or if we could wait till the thursday we could have a pool side room... room number 123... we decided to wait for 123... it was perfect, out the room door into the pool area. Apartments are very basic but are very well cleaned. My husband and myself were sleeping in the living room pull out beds which arent really suitable for adults but bareable. they could do with installing airconditioning as it got really hot...
the staff in the complex are all lovely, they can do enough for you.. special mention must go to pedro who is the ententainment... all on his own... he did a great job both during the day with the usual poolside stuff like aqua aerobics, football and water polo and at night with kids disco, bingo, kareoke and quizes. just a pity it was pretty quiet. Pedro was just so good with our foster son we went there most nights. its so quiet not because there is anything wrong but because the complex is so close the all the biz of the resort. you just go down one flight of stairs and your on the strip. We now understand why so many people return here year after year.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room.... 123 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annmariemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

These apartments are truly class! very spacious, perfect location and the pool is big and loads of sunbeds, definitely go back here. They are really in the middle between the new town and old town, restaurants shops and bars galore.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Teresa30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

La penita la penita !! What can I say lovely lovely place to stay , was there with my husband and two kids age between 13 years and 6 month. Lovely staff lovely atmosphere . Stayed in room 189 perfect for buggy . If you want to be close to the pool reserve room 119 to 124 perfect to the pool, the only downside is people leaving towel on sunbed when they might not even use it on that day or very late in the evening, it's not really the hotel fault I ve seen other hotel visitors doing the same . Anyway in one word it's super duppa ....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ojuloge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed 19th July until 2nd August. 2 adults and 1 16 year old. Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Though thought it would be having read the previous reviews. Emailed them direct before we arrived to ask for a top floor apartment with a sea view, and that is what we got. We were in 228 in block 7, which was only 2 floors high. We overlooked a small side street which was very quite and private, and you could see the sea. The main bedroom overlooked the pool and play area. The only tiny gripe I had is that the main bedroom window was on the corridor that everybody else had to walk down to get to their apartments so when some decided to come back at 2 in the morning, they were walking right past your bedroom window and either talking or laughing without any consideration for anybody trying to sleep. You needed to keep this window open as there is no air con. It only fastened with a hook and could easily be opened from the outside. It did lock with a bolt from the inside though when shut. Pool and surrounding areas absolutely spotless. Maids cleaned rooms 5 days out of 7. They even provide washing up liquid and a scouring pad. Tv remote can be hired for a deposit of 5 euros which you get back when this is returned. Limitied channels. Plenty of very hot water as there is a boiler in the kitchen. Nice comfy beds. We asked for extra pillows and this was not a problem. There is a toaster, microwave, kettle and coffee maker but not sure you would want to mess about with filter papers and filter coffee. Large spacious apartments and the balcony is huge with a table and chairs and a foldable airer. Balcony was very private as there is a wall between each apartment. There were various activities during the day which were included, ie water polo, 5 aside football water aerobics etc. There is quite a good supermarket just down the road that has everything you need. All in all, a great holiday and would recommend this to anybody and would like to go back again some time.

Room Tip: email before you arrive to request what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loislo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

A group of nine of us aged between teens and forty's stayed in la penita in July, rooms very clean and well equipped, large pool that was cleaned daily and not to deep, the bar did very good food, both food and drinks where inexpensive and excellent value for money, staff where very friendly and helpful, requested rooms with sea view and got the same, a problem with one room, although they did change it 2 days later when they could accommodate the request, my son had a box of chocolates and a gift card delivered to his room for his birthday. Security at night. Good location on the edge of the new town. The only gripe is the sunbeds, towels on beds from 6am. On our visit to PDC last year, at a previous hotel, sunbeds where all chained up until 10am, and then put out, which i thought was perhaps a better idea. Overall, would defiantly recommend these apartments if you are looking for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lesandgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £44 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing