We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us very well; location excellent - would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After trawling through many options online, we went for a package deal at La Penita. Really enjoyed our stay there as it was centrally located and did what it said on the tin: Quiet side street but very close to the beach. We used the alley way marked "beach" often and it spits you out by the duty free shop/Sol y Sombra (?) bar or if you use the proper gate, past the Mucky Duck pub. Can recommend the latter, though usually not a fan of British pubs in foreign climes, the staff were very friendly there and helpful. However, this should be another review.
Reception welcoming and gave us an apartment that was "quiet" but overlooking the pool. Lovely, but I have to agree that it got a tad too noisy and staff did not seem to bother what it said on the sign and enforce the rules. Kids could go riot on occasions which I thought wasn't on. The same goes for those travellers reserving sunbeds and this time, they weren't Germans! Half-joking aside, it put us off using the pool more than once. Mind you, if the beach is this close, clean and tidy - who needs a pool? As the apartments have no air-con (which we did not expect) it was a toss up between sticking ear plugs in and having an airy flat or shutting the balcony windows in doors and being in stuffy accommodation. Something might need tweaking here.
The place was clean but not spotless. Ice tray and a plate had a hair on which wasn't overly appetizing so just as well we brought our own ice cube bags. We got over that quickly but again, a bit more attention to detail would make people all the happier I think. Kitchen was well equipped and in working order. I liked that washing up liquid and toilet roll was provided and the latter replenished, which is not always a given.

Apart from those minor points, we felt very comfortable there and would recommend it. What we particularly loved was the fact that we could have a late check-out for just 15 EUR. That was fantastic as it bought us another day, given that our flight was not till 20.00.

We did use the pool bar a couple of times and staff were friendly, efficient and breakfast good. Not used any of the entertainment which we nearly missed but that's good - after all, we did not book an AI holiday but one where we could chill out and La Penita is a great place to stay for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet (pool?) room and one on higher floor. Staff keen to meet your request and did for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Myself, family and friends have been staying at La Penita on and off for the last 15 years and consider it to be our home from home in the sunshine. We love staying at these apartments, Susi the Manager and all the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is great with everything within walking distance with lots of restaurants and bars, something to suit all tastes. This time we stayed for 3 weeks from June running into July. It is nearly 4 years since we were here and whilst I do not wish to seem too negative there are a few things that I feel need to share with reviewers:

1. We found out that a number of the apartments on the complex have been sold to Spanish people and they obviously can use all of the facilities. At weekends, especially Sundays, the families, friends and relatives descend onto the pool area and create what can only be described as feeling and sounding like a 'Spanish Blackpool,' very, very loud. The children run around unsupervised and dive bomb into the pool. The children are left to roam the complex during the evening up to 9.30 - 10.00pm. One Friday evening a group of them were playing hide and seek and running up and down the balconies outside our apartments for 2 hours. They and some of the adults are using the pool up to 9.00pm at night when it quite clearly states in the apartment brochure that the pool should not be used after 7.00pm. Is there one rule for them and a different rule for us? On Saturdays and Sundays we didn't stay around the pool.

2. We all know that we are not supposed to reserve sunbeds but as some people were out at 7am reserving beds and if you want to be in a particular area then you have to be up early to put your towels out because of this. We then went down after breakfast for most of the day. Some of the reserved beds were not used and this is really annoying. One elderly guy came down like clockwork every day at 7.30am, reserved 2 beds an umbrella and a table and pegged it all down, without fail he then removed them at 5.30pm, he never used them in all of the three weeks we were there! More supervision needed around the complex both during the day and night time.

3. Some of the towels, bedding and pillows need replacing as they are very tatty. Bathroom cleaning not great, front of toilet and under toilet rim quite dirty.

We are all for people enjoying themselves and are not averse to noise and love to see kids enjoying themselves, but this time the atmosphere had changed from what we are used to.

I hope the management take on board our comments and hopefully we can enjoy many more happy times at La Penita.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 week from 7.7.14 to 14.7.14 based on great reviews from trip advisor. Very impressed with all of the complex, very clean and well maintained throughout. Very quick transfer from the airport, only took about 20 minutes including other drop offs before! Staff on reception very helpful and understood questions well. Apartments are spacious with a well equipt kitchen area. Even get proper mugs which was a pleasant surprise! Maid service was fair, cleaned daily accept Wednesday & Sunday but towels changed once or twice. Only thing which was strange was the window/vent in the bathroom. You can hear other people in their apartments and any wind or movement makes the vent bang and clatter but easily solved by keeping doors shut. Very good location to shops & bars nearby. About a 20 minute walk to the beach with sunbeds. Apartments have information from travel companies about the resort, trip excursions & information on allowances going through the airport to prevent any stops in security! Lots of sunbeds around a large sized pool, but a nightmare to get one if there not reserved early morning! Food from pool bar was nice, although we only ate there once. Not a lot of choice but foods alright! The waterpark at costa teguise is a must do excursion and is cheaper if booked through a trip excursion shop, and also the Sunday market at costa teguise is an absolute must do also! Thoroughly enjoyed the waterpark and the market and would definatly recommend to everybody! Brilliant holiday overall & will definatly recommend and be returning to these apartments and definatly to this resort! Weather was a but hit and miss at start of the week but it's very windy which deceives how hot it really gets! Very cloudy in a morning but sun eventually comes out about dinner time!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view otherwise your likely to be looking out onto streets or back buildings with a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ideal location being a few steps away from the main street of puerto del carmen. Rooms are clean and kept clean with regular cleaning and changes of bedding/towels. Staff are very freindly and very helpfull. Plenty of sunbeds and pool area is very well maintained. Even though the apartments are literally 1 minute from the main street there was no noise at night . This is definitely a place that I would recommend to others if planning a trip to lanzarote

Room Tip: Get one pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Where do i begin, just returned (2nd visit)from 10 days stay 3-13th July.
And im sooooooo grateful to Susie manageress, Sib her son, Lauren&Lisa pool bar. They are amazing wonderful people. Who made our stay perfect in everyway. Love you to bits.


Now why! Emailed asked if poss to have pool view room 128 1st floor, as wed had before, and thats exactly what we got.
Had accident 4th day on road an broke my metatarsal bone in foot. Went hospital xrays cast etc. Next morning was moved to ground floor apartment, withour asking, Susie took my son to pharmacy to dispense prescription the hospital had given me, then took me to private doctor as cast hospital had put on had broken. She organised crutches, wheelchair and made sure we were settled.
Lauren & Lisa helped with food from pool bar, drinks etc whenever needed. And Sib Susies son, took my son on island tour an go karting as i couldnt...
Where would you get such service above an beyond call of duty. I am eternally grateful and will always remember there amazing kindness. We felt like family.
All staff are great, spotless, clean apartments, grounds, pool. And we love this place if I could id give it a million stars.
Trip Advisor this place and staff deserve a MEDAL
We will be back ASAP....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank najtned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Firstly, the location of the complex is not far from the airport - meaning transfer times aren't cutting into holiday time!
The complex is beautifully kept, no rubbish anywhere. The apartment are a great size and all seem to have great views from the balcony. The staff are more than helpful, friendly and really accommodation, wanting to make your staff perfect! We'd like to give a big thank you to Anton who helped us frequently locate the current buses for days out! For days out, the apartments are minutes away from the local bus stop.
The bar/pool and reception area have free wifi, you just need to ask reception for your personal room password. As you walk out the apartments, you walk onto the avenue where you can find loads of restaurants, bars, shops, clubs and cafes!
If you like asian/chinese/thai food I must recommend a visit to Sunshine, which is super close to the apartments. Also, there is a small shopping complex not far from la penita, we got a taxi there for less than $5 (it would take 40 mins to walk there), there is a mcdonalds, zara, blanco and other shops, but worth a visit if you need a little big of shopping on hols.
The only issue with La Penita is that the pool rules are not enforced, e.g. by 8.30AM EVERY MORNING all the sun beds are reserved with towels...so if your looking for a lie in and then a chill by the pool you might have to think again. We found that sun beds would be reserved and would not actually be used till the late afternoon which we found very unfair as it is advertised not to reserve.
Also, during our stay, several groups of young adults would jump/ dive into the pool (which again is advertised not to do), they would splash those on the near sunbeds and make those in the pool sectioned to a small area - minor issues but becomes very annoying when your only there a week.
I would definitely recommend staying here - just need the staff to imply there own rules!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank axs1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 as a family group. The apartments are basic, but very, very, very clean and well equipped. It is really close to the airport and nicely located within walking distance from Puerto del Carmen old town, the beach and also Matagorda. The pool is amazing and our kids absolutely loved it. The staff were so helpful and so nice. Wi-fi was a little hit and miss, but who wants to be on FaceBook when you can be soaking up the sun looking out at the beautiful blue skies and sea?!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivMcGiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £44 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing