We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Penita Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent location of good value family friendly apartments. Also many couples of all ages seem to go back time and time again. Apartments are cleaned every day and nothing is too much trouble with the staff. Great staff at the pool bar/café and again always smiling and happy to chat and let you know about the local places to visit. Very good value for money and some excellent restaurants nearby. Will definitely visit again, but would book our own flights and accommodation direct. Taxi only 10-15 mins from the airport.

Room Tip: If you have young children ask for a ground floor apt facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    336
    62
    14
    4
See reviews for
249
588
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at La Penita.
I'll start off by saying that the holiday was extremely cheap considering we went in the middle of the summer holidays so we weren't expecting it to be outstanding.
I have lived in Puerto del Carmen previously so know the area well and have also been on holiday a few times.
The staff are outstandingly pleasant and speak excellent English.
The apartments are basic. They are in need of a deep clean (found a few hairs which did not belong to us) . . . GRIM. The kitchen has the basics but is all old and in need of the bin.
First nights sleep was horrendous. Me and my son suffer with eczema and were up all night itching. The sheets had obviously been washed in something nasty and seriously cheap. This isnt something we have experienced before in any hotel. We spent all week sleeping with a towel over us instead of sheets. The pillows are awfully uncomfortable but they always are. Towels are dark blue so hard to tell if really clean which worried me. No air con but one fan is provided. Ours only worked with the front grill taken off, otherwise made a horrendous noise. With a six year old running around didnt use as wasnt safe. Apartments are very noisy. Especially at night when they have 'entertainment on'.
The apartments had been taken over by large Irish families who get up at 6:30 to reserve as many sunbeds as possible. Their teenage children running around, shouting and being generally obnoxious as if they own the place. I overhead them saying they have come every year for the past three years. I found the clientele at the hotel worse than the hotel itself.
The pool is cleaned once in the evening and once in the morning which I thought was superb.
The pool side cafe serves revolting food (inedible chips etc) but waiting staff very friendly and always wanted a chat.
We had to check out at 5am and the staff were helpful in ensuring we got a taxi etc.
I wont be going back to Lanzarote again as I feel its becoming more and more English/Irish and less Spanish but if I was I wouldn't return to La Penita.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank rchrisc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We decided this year to travel the last week in July and picked these apartments to stay as we had such a great experience last year. . Well again we where not disappointed. We love everything about the place and were so well looked after. Thank you Susie and the team. See you again soon.

Room Tip: We ended up staying in 139,144 and 143.. all brilliant as pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nightsawayinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'd highly recommend these apartments. We arrived very late due to a flight delay but staff stayed on to make sure we could get checked in. Delighted with a clean and spacious apartment in room 148. Spacious living and kitchen area with toaster, microwave and kettle. Large bathroom with good shower. The place was spotless and regularly cleaned. Never had a problem getting a sunbed which was a plus. The pool area was great. It's only. Short walk down the hill to the main drag. Plenty supermarkets nearby as is the Mucky Duck which did fantastic food at a great price and really nice staff too. There is no shortage of choice for eating places and bars. Totally spoiled for choice. These apartments are in a great spot in a lovely resort,only about a 10 minute drive and €14 in a taxi, suitable for couples and families and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 148 which we liked although there would be other blocks with a better view of the sea w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is quiet at night (absolutely no music around) we appreciated this very much with kids. Rooms are very spacious, cleaned well. Staff was helpful in resolving issues that had been resolved in few hours. There is no aircon, but this was not an issue in Lanzarote where temperatures do not exceed 27 degrees even in the summer. The wifi is free but worked reliably only in the reception and also near the bar. The wifi was poor near the pool and not at all in our room.

The hotel has officially only 2* however the stay here was much better when compared to other 3* hotels in Tenerife, Mallorca and Greece we visited till now.

Distance to the main street is about 20m and to the beach about 50m. We travelled to other beaches most of the days. There is a great beach in Puerto del Carmen 1 km to the right from the hotel in between the new and the old town (harbor). The beach has shape of horseshoe and there are great possibilities for snorkelling near rocks about 50m from the land.

Room Tip: We had room in the ground floor and the room had reasonable temperatures all the day. Aircon was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

visited here for 10days from the 25th July until the 4th august. 10min in a taxi from airport. Apartments are very close to main strip. But isn't noisey at all.
Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Apartments were very clean cleaners come in every day apart from a wed & sun. clean towels and sheets. Beds are very firm
The staff who work in the snack bar are very friendly and food is very good and reasonably priced
I only have 2 negative faults with this hotel.
people taking sunloungers early in the morning Wouldn't mind if they were actually using them but 50% aren't being used although towels have been placed on sunloungers. No one seems to supervise this problem.
Very late at night around 12am kids running around screaming. No one supervising this problem.

Room Tip: Appears to not have much sun on balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second holiday of 2014. I must admit, on arrival, my stomach immediately dropped as the overcast weather made the pool area look somewhat poor (not helped by the route our cab driver took to take us there). However, upon checking in and going to our rooms, we realised things were soon to change for the better. Fully furnished apartments, flat screen TV's with British TV channels (although I doubt you'll have time to watch them), fully stocked cupboards including: pots, pans, plates, mugs, glasses etc. Cleanliness could not be faulted, and even when the cleaners did attend to our rooms (every day other than Wednesday), they were incredibly friendly and talkative, which isn't something we're used to! The next morning, and every day after, the sun shining only made us realise further what a great choice of apartments we'd chosen. Pool bar, free Wi-Fi, friendly residents and perfect sized pool (including children's pool). Although not strictly relevant to La Penita, you're likely to be blown away with the amount of restaurants, shops and beaches surrounding the apartments; which will only make your holiday that bit better to know that, after a great night/day out, you'll be returning to apartments with a homely feel. La Penita covers all aspects of a great holiday experience.

Room Tip: Any room you choose is likely to be as good as the one we stayed in, but if you can, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieFarguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#8 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Property: La Penita Apartments
Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing