We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great time and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Excellent trip. Gated secure apartment complex. Friendly staff. Large Rooms. Spotless Pool and surrounding area. Late pool bar.
Dont get travel agent transfer coach as there is a taxi station at the front door of airport and is approx 13-15euro.. ie 10 mins in taxi from Airport.. We had room 206. See view slightly interrupted by the massive trees but balcony got the sun all morning into late afternoon. Bright and Airy.
Restaurants were amazing - not enough time in one week to try them all. Will surely return. Some entertainment at Rocos cafe at night and further along the strip at Irish bars with frequent live music.
The Short South - volcano/camel riding excursion was really good. well worth the trip.booked with LateExcursions.com on the main strip. the half day trip was more than enough for us.
On a whole the weather was fantastic, friendly place and very clean, BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICnBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    343
    62
    14
    4
See reviews for
254
595
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We decided to go back to La Penita in Lanzarote in mid August for my Wife's birthday having previously vistited this hotel in 2003, when we found it to be great and it is still just as good! . We asked for a pool view and we were given one on the middle floor of the three storey block overlooking the pool. This hotel is very clean and well maintained and good value for money and just two minutes away from the main street and bars/restaurants at the upper end of the strip, whilst the central area is only 15-20 mins walk max and the harbour area around 30-40 minutes. The pool is good and you could quite easily get a sunbed, even though some people reserved beds as usual, although the pool is very cold, which is good when you want to cool off but you cant stay in for long unless your moving about.

There are quite a few decent bars and restaurants within a short walk, inclduing the two cocktail bars over the road adjacent to the Casino and a few nice Chinese restaurants including one adjacent to the hotel. I would also recommend the Lani's Mexican restaurant close to the new shopping parade further down the strip past the Centro area; there were quite often queues to get in and they had an offer of 5 euros for chicken fajitas which were very good and the Nacho's were also excellent.

The centro area has loads of Bars, which are ok, and get very busiy, whilost the club was good, but we missed Ceasers taht used to be there but closed down this summer.

The Harbour has some great restaurants and bars, the best was on the cliff edge called Restaurante Mar Casa Benito, with great views over the harbour, greatr food and cheap drinks, including 2 euros for beer and reasonably priced wine, so very good for a special occassion.

Overall, we will be going back soon and woudl not stay anywhere other than La Penita!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiggersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We decided to go to Lanzarote for the mid-term break and selected this accommodation on the ratings on trip advisor. We had contacted La Penita directly and though they could not guarantee the room we requested, i.e. sea view, top floor (of three floors) etc., we were lucky to get the choice of room we had made. Paco (manager) told us they were 80% full. There was no entertainment on site as it had finished the previous week. If you require somewhere upmarket, four+ or five star maybe this is not the place for you. If you require a good standard of accommodation that is value for money and two minutes away from the main street then this probably is. They do have a very good tennis court which is a bit expensive at 10 euro for an hour. The pool is good and you could quite easily get a sunbed without having to get up at an unearthly hour, even though some people could not resist doing just that! You really got the feeling with this resort that it was well managed and well looked after. Lanzarote was really quiet considering it was mid-term. The most annoying thing about Puerto del Carmen is that you cannot walk up the coast road without someone trying to drag you in to a restaurant or bar (We only went to restaurants where they did not do this). We found we had to cross over to the opposite side of the road and make our selection from there, just for the peace and quiet. So, in conclusion, would be go again, YES!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmalc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Absolutely fantastic trip yet again. We stayed with 3 young boys and 2 teenager, it was great suited all - location is second to none - bar food fab - pool area is great - apartments are spacious and spotless. In a nice part of PDC just at start of strip in new town, bout 5 min to all disco bars etc but 2 seconds way from shops and family restaurants. You can even have a late check out apt for only € 15 which means you have an apt til u have to leave. Very respectable apartments - all staff friendly and helpful, listening to talk around the pool its seems that most residents come here time again - in our opinion you cannot beat La Penita.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed in a lovely room on the top floor with sea view (room 231) as requested
Excellent accomodation, very clean, well maintained and very well managed
Spacious accomodation in great location very peaceful yet close to all amenities
Good restaurant at bottom of service road La Brasa - top waiter Andy
Good bar across road Diamonds
Route 62 and American Indian good for a bit of entertainment
Marietonies restaurant on promenade towards old town can easily be missed but is traditional spanish does fantastic food and is reasonably priced - must try

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

All the reviews are bang on,just a few details you MUST get right.
Contact the appts direct to book, and insist you get a top floor with pool or sea view.
We were given a room facing a service road .which caters for shops/bars on the main strip.An alley way and a fav haunt for local lads to play footy till early hours also is directly behind.
Because of a lack of air con we tried to keep windows open, but noise from the back floored this,added to this ,the bedroom window at the front could not be left open as it was directly onto the walkway which was used by other holidaymakers and staff. It didnt help as there seemed to be a full scale row every night..Cant wait for a full nights sleep..
Noise apart the rooms were large , clean and if in the right block would have been superb.Food at the pool bar was great and Carlos is a top bloke,kids loved him..Would go again but wouldnt play russian roulette with a room..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kipper99007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

me and my partner stayed at la penita with our young child of 2, apartment was very clean and spacious we had a top floor room,our balcony looked down on the pool and also the sea. Bar staff are really friendly and food is nice too!! they have entertainment goin throughout the day water polo,aerobics,tennis etc. also at night they have different things goin on, they had repltile shows and bird shows which were good..! There is a little beach just opposite the apartments, and also along the strip about 10 mins walk you will find a gorgeous sandy beach with loungers,watersports etc.

the area itself had plenty of bars,restaurants and shops to keep your busy the strip goes on for ages, the only thing that can get annoy theres about a 3 minute strip where you do get hassled by people to go into bars, if you cross over and walk along the beachside you only get the odd couple cross over to you..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxtownsendxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Property: La Penita Apartments
Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing