We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Escape from Siberia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Penita Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Escape from Siberia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We arrived at la penita apartments pleased to be away from freezing U.K ,the efficient and friendly reception manager soon had us on our way to the apartment.Our apartment 226 was just right with a large balcony,a sun trap overlooking the sea.The swimming pool was large but could have been a tad warmer for my liking and there were plenty of loungers.Our apartment cleaner Deloures came in nearly every day and we could agree a time of day with her to suit us.The apartment grounds were spotless and the gardens were very well maintained.Although the apartment complex was busy it remained quiet.
The location of the la penita couldn't be better just a couple of minutes stroll from the sea front with its long sandy beach and dozens of inexpensive but nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splooshtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    324
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
238
558
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

I went to Lanzarote with a mate and we stayed at La Pentia. The room was excellent. I had a good night's sleep every night (it was the quiet season after all). The staff were helpful with their site seeing recommendations and their 'going the extra mile' attitude (I had a blister on my foot from my flip flops and they gave me plasters and antiseptic which they keep behind the front desk). I see a lot of people on the reviews complain that their sheets/towels weren't replaced often enough...I found they were (once every few days) and even if you want some new ones beforehand, just ask at the front desk. Also, some complain of next door's toilet being heard flushing. Yes, you can hear it, but it is very faint. For those that like air conditioning, unfortunately our apartment didn't have, but there was a very good fan there and during our stay, it was sufficiently cool anyway.

Location-wise, La Penita is very close to some nice cafes, bars and restaurants, not to mention its proximity to the beach. It is also close to essential services such as a supermarket, doctor's surgery, pharmacy and car rental if you should need it.

All in all, a great holiday and I will definitely be back very soon! See you again, La Penita.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailAway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Great location,spacious and well equipped apartment.Pool was clean and inviting, staff were polite and helpful.Safe,secure and good value.Not the Ritz but we didnt book the Ritz, we booked on the strength of Trip Advisor ratings and we were not disappointed.Long promenade for walking/jogging.Hugh selection of restaurants/pubs/shops.We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Had high expectations, very disappointed!!!! after reading the reviews on here i was so excited about my holiday, my excitement went when i walked up to the apartments, complex not the best to look at, pool really big but dirty, rooms nice size but very noisy could hear our neighbours everytime they went to the toilet!! was woken up every morning at 6am as the bin men empty the bins, someome in one of the apartments kept dogs which liked the sound of there own bark!!! rooms not cleaned very well, towels changed only once, sheets not changed at all, floors not brushed either. all in all really disappointed. This is my 7th time to lanzarote and wont be my last, PDC has some lovely restaurants and bars, we ate and drank like kings the whole week and quite reasonable to. The front is lovely to walk along with some lovely shops to wander into, the beach is also lovely to walk along. As i have said, will be back but not to La Penita

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank holidayfreakWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Would agree with what others have already said about these apartments - very centrally located but set away from any noise from the main strip. They are definately more spacious than average, with a good size bedroom with loads of storage, a nice big lounge and decent sized bathroom. We were in a ground floor apartment which had a really good sized terrace and got the sun all day. The kitchen was well equipped and the kettle and the toaster allowed us to have breakfast "at home" rather than going out as we normally would, which was a bonus. All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly from the receptionist to the snack bar manager to the cleaner.

If we had one gripe it would be the failure of the apartments to enforce their "no reserving sunbeds" rule. Despite receiving a note on arrival to say this was not allowed, there was a lot of it going on. There were usually enough beds to go around (since it was November) but people appeared to have their favourite beds which they thought they owned for the duration of their holiday and had their towels out nice and early even if didn't intend using them til lunchtime. On one occasion there was a heavy shower of rain so we grabbed our towels and ran into the snack bar. We looked over to see how the "bed blockers" (as we christened them) had handled this, only to find they'd rushed out of their apartments, put their towels in individual carrier bags and put them back on the beds! These people are clearly pros. It was quite amusing in a pathetic sort of way.

Overall we had an enjoyable holiday though and would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auders70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

booked apartments after reading all the great reviews, probably expectations were too high.
Although nothing wrong with the apartment as such, found it a little tired. Did not get much sun on balcony which was a pity. Note that the towels are only changed thrice in the week, which was inconvenient.
Great location for all the bars etc & love lanzarote for the easy walks to Arrecife area & also costal walk to Calero.
However probably good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frannyanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Just come back from another week at La penita and it didn't disappoint! Had great service, asked to move rooms - no problem - helped with any queries etc etc. I totally recommend this place if you are looking for excellent value and a cheap week in the sun. Its' no 5 star but the basic accomodation is excellent with all you need, great location and staff. book early though as they seem to be constantly full!!! make sure you try 'emma's cantina' mexican restaurant in the Old Town - superb - and a newish Tapas restaurant 'Taberna Del Nino' just in the road before MacD's on the strip - great to get some authentic Spanish food!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lani"s Suites de Luxe
Lani"s Suites de Luxe
#1 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#8 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Property: La Penita Apartments
Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Onthebeach so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing