We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Disappointing Holiday - Wouldn't Ever Go Back Again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Stayed at the Riu Olivina apartments in Lanzarote for 11 days form 16th April 07.

Apartments we very tired looking - ours backed onto the main road. Be careful as we were burgled even though we were on the first floor - man on reception sadi 'you aren't the first and you won't be the last' - so beware! Bumped into lots of people in the actual resort of Puerto de Carmen who had also been burgled - ironically my husband found this out when he went to the police-station the next morning to make a statement.

Despite repeated requests about the sound quality of our television it didn't get fixed. No kettle or toaster in the room - we were not offered them when we checked-in - someone told us later on that you had to hire them - have stayed in basic accommodation in Greece and have never been asked to rent basic utensils which should be automatically supplied in s/c apartments.

99.9% of the clientele are German - nice people but if you don't speak the language you will feel very isolated. All the staff at the hotel/apts speak German but very little English.

This is the worst holiday we have ever had - so disappointed as Riu usually have a very good reputation - this is not a typical Riu - hotel wasn't bad but the apartments we very sub-standard - the whole place could do with renovating - and security should be put in place - you are very isolated in the apartments - anyone can walk round 24/7

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

We stayed at these apartments for two weeks in July this year and, despite a few negatives, overall we were very happy with them. They are located in Playa de los Pocillos in a quiet street just an easy couple of minutes walk to the beach and a small supermarket. It's also easy to walk into Puerto del Carmen. The staff throughout the hotel and apartments are all really friendly - the friendliest I've come across on all our visits to Lanzarote!
We were in the Coral apartments, which is a smaller, quieter complex than the Olivina apartments across the road. That suited us very well - no pool bar, no entertainment, and totally quiet at night. If you like things a bit busier, the Olivina complex is much bigger with several pools and a pool bar which Coral residents can also use. Residents of either apartments are also entitled to use all the facilities at the RIU Olivina Hotel, which is just a very short walk away in the same street. My husband and son played tennis which cost 7 Euros for an hour, including hire of racquets and balls. There is also evening entertainment at the hotel if that's your thing!
The first week, not many of the apartments in our complex seemed to be occupied, so it was blissfully quiet at the pool and there were sunbeds available whenever you wanted one. There was no-one out at 7am putting their towels out! When we first arrived though, the water level in the pool was quite low and there was rather disgusting green slime round the edge, but this was cleaned off after a couple of days and more water was added.
The second week, several families with children arrived which made things a bit busier and noisier. The pool didn't seem to be quite big enough for the number of people who could potentially be staying at the apartments at any one time, and I don't think there would be enough sunbeds or umbrellas to go round if the apartments were full. We don't spend much time by the pool so it's not really a problem for us, but it's something to bear in mind if you're a pool bunny! The terrace area round the pool is very spacious though, so there is definitely room for more sunbeds to be brought in.
We had a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the living room/kitchen. They are typical holiday apartments really - very basic construction which means that you can hear every step above your head! The bedroom had a ceiling fan which kept things nice and cool at night and the beds were really comfortable. There is a safe in the wardrobe which you pay extra for - 12 Euros a week. The kitchen equipment was a bit basic if you actually intend to do any cooking. These are also the first apartments we have stayed in that haven't had a coffee-maker - there was just a jug and a slightly-too-small filter cone which you had to balance carefully on the top to stop it falling off, not always successfully!! The apartments are cleaned six days a week, the sheets were changed twice a week and our towels were changed every day. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom - the kind with one speed and one heat-setting, so if you really need a hairdryer, I'd recommend taking your own. We also had a large terrace with a table and chairs, which was shady for most of the day - ideal if you like to keep out of the sun, which I do, although possibly not so great if you plan on sunbathing there! There are plenty of apartments with terraces and balconies which do get the sun though.
You can also choose to eat at the hotel if you want. There's possibly a better deal to be had if you upgrade to half-board, but if you just want to do it the odd time, breakfast was 9 Euros, dinner buffet was 20 Euros. We didn't have dinner, so don't know what the food's like, but we had the excellent breakfast on our last morning - a massive buffet with juices, cereal, meats and cheeses, freshly cooked bacon, eggs, pancakes and potato dishes, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cake(!) and a big pot of coffee. We also had lunch one day at the hotel snack bar, which offers a small selection of light meals - very tasty! The day we went, there was a demonstration of paella cooking - looked fabulous but didn't get a chance to try it! The hotel itself seems to cater predominantly for German guests, with a few Dutch, while at the Coral apartments the guests were a mixture of German, Dutch, Spanish and British.
Overall, I preferred the peace and quiet of the first week and I would recommend these apartments if you're going at a quieter time of year. At the height of the season, I think they could feel a little overcrowded. There are definitely more good points than bad about these apartments though. They're nothing fancy but the location is great and you have the advantage of being able to use the facilities at the hotel without the price tag of staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lanzarotelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2006

Just returned from the Riu Olivina/Coral apts,22.3.06 had a wonderful time. weather hot and sunny for 10 full days, apartments very clean and spacious pool area very clean, very quiet I would not recommend it if you have kids as there is nothing for them to do at the Coral apts, fresh flowers every day, I received a bottle of champagne as it was my birthday, pool towels provided f.o.c. kettle and toaster to hire for 10 euros given back to you when you leave, cannot fault it


RS1

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank RS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank segu1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
Thank oconor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#43 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
817 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral

Address: C/ Grecia, 6, 35008 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 250 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach. 1-storey apartment buildings. Surrounded by a 5,000 m2 garden. Next to the Hotel Riu Olivina. 2 km from Puerto del Carmen. 400 m from various shops. 8 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing