We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing place for a hoilday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Certificate of Excellence
County Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Lovely relaxing place for a hoilday”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hi we went on a family holiday to Lanzarote, myself and my sister staying in the family villas, they were excellent, There was great service provided, the apartments were spacious and clean. We all enjoyed our holiday, the receptionist was really helpful. The bar had excellent food, and very reasonable priced. My parents are regulars at Villa Canaima, they stay a few times a year and would not stay anywhere else. I don't blame them as its such a lovely clean environment. Also the people staying were also really nice.

Its only a few minutes walk to the sea and to the shops and bars. We will def be back.

Room Tip: Family rooms area ideal very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinetravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holidays with us.
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    69
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
309
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we stayed here for 12 nights after walking passed this little place for nearly 15yrs we went ahead and booked we walked into our appartment and we both said WOW instead of the norm little two seater there was a lovely L shaped sofer bed room was a WOW to ok two single beds on a king size bed .But belive me we slept lol pool bar good food happy hour 4_5 beer 1e pool nice but cold lol but the best of all was the staff wot lovely people and i mean that any problems they were on it like shot so a BIG BIG THANK YOU FROM Iain & Becky app 18

Room Tip: it's over 4 floors we had a 1st floor over the pool sea veiws 2nd 3rd floors look out to sea gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpoolladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Recepcionista at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our apartments!!
We hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Spent three wonderful weeks in May at Villa Canaima and could not make one negative comment about the place. These are the reasons why we will be returning.
1. The cleanliness of the apartments and public areas. The maids and maintainence man work extremely hard to make sure every where is spotless. Towels and bedding are replaced most days. As an apartment is vacated the staff complete a major clean and even paint over areas that have been marked!
2. No need to reserve sun beds. Every day, all day you are able to find a free sun bed.
3. Third floor rooms have brilliant sea views.
4. Excellent bar/restaurant within complex. €1 pint happy hour every day. John serves the best breakfast for only €2.50 and home made Sunday roast for €7.50 which includes glass of wine.
5.Staff are extremely friendly and helpful if you have a problem.
6.Flexable arrival and departing times. Usually you can pick up key and go straight to your apartment even if you arrive as early as 11am. Also on the day of departure,if your apartment is not needed for new guests you can stay in your apartment until you leave at no extra charge.
7. Location is excellent. Five minute walk to beach and long promenade. Lots of really good restaurants, bars and shops close by.
8. Only 10 minutes drive from airport to apartment complex.
9. Only 3 minute walk to bus stop to get to Porta Del Carmen, Playa Blanca, Arricife and Costa Teguise

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thank you for giving so many reasons to stay with us!!
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Another great visit to villa canaima .clean tidy relaxed atmosphere and lovely staff .5 min walk to the sea front . Hello to Slim and Wendy who stay near by and support the the little cafe bar by eating there a couple of times a week and having a glass or two in the afternoon . (Thanks for showing us your place ). The staff onsite are great and will help you out with any you need . Regards Ian&Sandra

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We love these apartments and are already looking forward to our next visit. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. The apartments are kept spottless and are very well equiped. It is so quiet and relaxing that all life's problems are soon forgotten. Even with an arthritic knee I was able to walk to the shops and restaurants in Matagorda and Poccilos. There is a taxi rank about 200 metres one way and stops for the local buses about 600 to 800 metres the other way. The service into Puerto del Carmen (1.35 euro) and Arriciffe (1.70 euro) is very regular. Our visits have been in March, June, September and October and the weather has always been great. There are always plenty sunbeds available round the pristine pool. With good food and a happy hour at the cafe what more could you need? Well there is the magnificant sea view and the entertainment of plane spotting from yhe balcony. Plane noise is not a problem unless you are particularly sensative. A walk along the beach towards the airport gives some stunning views. Have no doubts. Go for it and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pool rooms if stairs are a problem. Sea view rooms on first or second floor are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to know that you are looking forward to your fifth visit.
We look forwards to have you in Villa Canaima once again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in June in a sea view apartment and I can honestly say it is the best complex I have stayed at in all my 10 years of going to Lanzarote

The wifi worked pretty well and we only used around 10 hours of the available air conditioning as 15 minutes at a time was more than enough to cool the apartment down if it was too hot and it certainly wasnt too hot at night.

The cleaning lady came 5 out of 7 days and did a really good job and she was always smiling and very friendly,

You can buy big bottles of water from reception for 2 euros to save carrying it from the shops. The reception was really helpful and also organised our taxi for us for going home.

We never had to fight for a sunbed round the pool, pool was a little cold when you first got in but I soon got used to it.

The self service laundry was 3 euros and you had to buy a token from reception, I used it a few times with no problems

The cafe bar was good and really good value, the breakfasts were excellent and we also had a sunday roast which was also good value for 7.50 euros and that included a glass of wine, you do need to book though. The happy hour was from 4 - 5pm and a large beer is 1 euro. This did attract people from outside the complex but it was only people who lived in the private apartments at the back of the apartments and certainly didn't cause any problems.

The TV had manually Spanish channels but there were some american sitcoms on there which were in Spanish but you can change the language so there can be in English instead. The lady on reception explains how to do this. We just watched them or watched the world cup, To be honest, we didnt really spend much time in the apartment anyway.

We didn't use the cooker but it actually looked brand new, I don't know if anybody had ever used it, I spoke to the couple who were staying next door and they were there for a long time so they cooked a few meals and I did see other people eating on their balcony so it looked like it was more than adequate if you do like to do that, We chose to eat out as there was so many good restaurants to chose from.

The beds were quite hard but to be honest I actually found them comfortable but I suppose everybody has a preference. There was alot of wardrobe space and plenty of hangers.

The safe was in the wardrobe and costs 10 euros a week and is quite big, I managed to fit my 10" tablet in there.

The shops and restaurants are only 5 minutes walk and there are even more bars and restaurants down the promenade which is only about 10 minutes walk. The bus stop is a few minutes away and you can jump on a bus to Puerto Del Carmen for 1.35 euros each. It is 2.90 euros to Costa Teguise

If you are feeling energetic the walk down the promenade to Arrecife is a nice walk passed the airport but it did take us over an hour and we just jumped on a bus back.

Puerto Calero is also a nice place to visit and again is only 1.35 euros on the bus each and only takes about 15 minutes

Playa Blanca takes around 40 miniutes on the bus and is 2.90 euros each and from there you can jump on a ferry to Fuerteventura for 21 euros and stay a few hours, just remember to get back early for the ferry, we missed ours and had a stay for another 2 hours but it wasn't really a problem.

Overall a very pleasant stay, we are regular visitors to Lanzarote and next time we go, we are definitely going to book these apartments.

Room Tip: Sea View apartments are good but if you want late afternoon sun then chose pool view apartments dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchesterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thank you for that good description of our apartments and surroundings.
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, U.K.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and had no hesitation in booking again. The place is spotless, and it is in a good area, very quiet but only a short walk to the promenade and beach. We had a top floor sea view apartment so we had sun most of the day. The apartments are very well equipped with plenty of cooking utensils, pans and two hot rings, fridge but no oven. The bathroom has a bath with shower over, loo, sink and bidet and hair dryer ( there is a small switch under the appliance fitting you have to press before it will work. I thought it was broken at first. ) We hired a car because it is so cheap in Lanzarote but you don't really need one, apart from carting the initial 'big' shop on the first day...the large container of water weighs heavy ! If you don't have a hire car, it's not far to the airport so the taxi ride won't be too expensive. And If you turn right out of the main gate of Villa Canaima, a short walk will take you to some steps down to the main road where there are bus stops in both directions. It's a nice if longish walk into Puerto del Carmen and the other direction will take you past the airport and directly under the flight path. Lots of people gather there to watch the planes as they land. Matagorda is quieter than Puerto and has a good beach and several shops and restaurants. All in all, a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackpool-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
It is nice to know that you did not hesitate to book us a second time.
We look forwards to have you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Property: Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Address: Calle Tomillo 5 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 Self-catering apartments: 29 one-bedroom apartments and 2 two-bedroom apartments. Free services for our guests: Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet access in reception, Late check out from apartment if availability, Courtesy room / luggage storage on the departure, Suitcases storage for next holiday here, Print boarding pass, Order a taxi in advance, Modify the dates of stay if the availability and monetary value fits, Free map of island & street map of Puerto del Carmen, Free bottle of water. General: Outdoor pool with sun beds, Library, Snack bar, Pool table, Tourist desk with a lot of useful tips about our island, plenty of activities to book for you: Trekking, Bicycle rental, Fishing, Car hire, Excursions all over the island. Services at extra cost: Self-service laundry, Safety Deposit Box, Fax/photocopying. Apartment Facilities: Air conditioning / heating in the bedroom, Safety Deposit Box (extra cost), Wardrobe, Kitchenette, Refrigerator, Cooker, Microwave, Oven, Electric Kettle, Toaster, Coffee maker, Kitchenware, Bathroom, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bath or Shower, Bidet, Seating Area, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Flat-screen TV, Sofa, Tiled floor, Wake Up Service, Towels and bed linen, Maid service... This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote's family. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing