We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and absolutely spotless.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely place and absolutely spotless.”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The complex is extremely clean and in a quiet area of Matagorda but not too far from the Promenade, the local shops and bus stop.
The staff are lovely. Apparently, they always dealt through a firm in Ireland who supplied them with all their customers. The firm recently went bankrupt so they are in the process of building up a website and advertising for themselves. We only found it on the internet by default - although you can book it now with booking.com. Of the 32 apartments, there were only 3 occupied. It was like having our own private place ! The handyman was there from early in the morning, sweeping up a few leaves, cleaning the pool and touching up with paint here and there. The whole place was pristine.
We stayed on the top row ( of two levels .) There was a lounge area with bedsettee and a television which you had to put coins in, a kitchen with fridge, kettle, toaster, two halogen rings and a microwave. Some of the apartments have ovens. Ask if you prefer one. The bedroom had two comfy beds. Not many hangers in the wardrobe, take extra if you have a lot of hanging-up clothes. The bathroom had bath with shower over and toilet and washbasin, all spotless. Towels were changed every other day or every day if you leave them in the bath. The balcony had three chairs and table and a glorious sea view. You can watch the planes going past over the sea to the nearby airport ( no noise, though, it's a kilometre away ) There is a sea view too, from the lower level.
Turn left out of the complex to the shops and right to the bus stop on the main road. It's a comfortable stroll along the Prom to Puerto del Carmen. And if you walk the other way, you can walk under the aircraft as they come into land. Keep going this way to Playa Honda, a lovely place, although it is a bit more than a gentle walk. It's even further to carry on to Arrecife but we did it and didn't need oxygen masks althoug we were in need of a sit down and liquid refreshment when we got there.We took the bus back !
You can hire mosquito plug - in things from reception and buy the tablets to go in them from there, too. Make sure they give you the bottom plug and workings of the kettle when you arrive. We searched all over for it to make a brew only to discover that they are kept at reception, probably some kind of security measure.
The staff, Fatima and Lissett are so lovely. Very friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more, and I would reccomend these apartments to anyone who wants a quiet, clean place but not too far from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackpool-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    73
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
335
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

It's already been a month since we got back from our trip to Lanzarote and we (my husband and I) must say, we had a great time.( as always) Every October we go to Villa Canaima and we really love it there. So far we always booked our trips through Budget Travel, but as they just closed down, we were really worried about our future trips.(since I know for a fact, that Villa Canaima always worked exclusively with Budget Travel) But since I've got their phonenumber I called them up yesterday to find out if they still exist and how to book our next trip. The manager told me that since Budget Travel closed down, they are now able to take their bookings directly.(she also told me about some very tempting X-mas and New Years offers they have going on, -too bad we just got back and can't go again over the Holidays) We are very relieved to hear that we can go on with our tradition of going to Villa Canaima and we are already planning our trip for next year. We thought that information could also be useful for any fellow "Villa Canaima Fans".
We highly recommend this complex to everybody who is looking for a relaxing, peaceful, very quiet & clean place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BhappyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I literally got back from Lanzarote last night and wanted to write this before I start to forget things! This was the most amazing experience of my whole life and we are definately going back there next year!
The apartment was really nice and clean-the cleaning lady was very pleasant and always had a smile on her face which is always nice to see. The snack bar, run by Sharon and Paul, is very reasonable-their scrambled egg on toast for breakfast has to be tasted to be believed, plus I highly recommend Paul's Sangria!
Also, very short taxi ride into the new part of Puerto del Carmen, or a 20 minute walk. There is so much to do out here on "the strip" including about 50 incredible cocktail bars!! If you're a cocktail fan, try Sol y Sombro-they claim to have the best cocktails on the island and I think they might be right! If you prefer a nice pint, try Mulligan's which is about 5 minutes from the casino. not the cheapest bar on the island, but every night they have a live band, The Usual Suspects, who are just fantastic. Close your eyes when Siobhan starts singing Valerie-you'd swear it was actually Amy Winehouse up there!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanaimaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmaglen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Slighty away from the madding crowd, this complex is quiet, but not too far from Matagorda beach. If you want to go to Puarto Del Carmen it is around 10 Euro return plus the tip in a taxi. There is a free bus to Rancho Texas that stops at the taxi rank slighty uphill to the left. The complex has the best courtesy room I have ever encountered, spotlessy clean and with a T.V. All in all I would have no hesitation in returning here, It is three stories high and I am sure all apartments have a pool view.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank brom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed in these apartments with my Mum in March 2009. They were basic, but exactly what you need when on holiday. The receptionist is lovely and the couple who run the bar are very friendly. Place was clean, and the rooms were ok. If visiting Matagorda, best pub ever is THE AULD TRIANGLE', great craic, Dave is very funny, and a great singer, also have fantastic Sunday lunches for less than €10!!! Matagorda is a lot quieter than Peurto Del Carmen, but a lot nicer too. Would def recommend this to anyone who is thinking of Lanzarote as a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

My husband and I have stayed in these apartments 6 times and everytime we stay it gets better. Gabriella the receptionist is so friendly and her english is excellent she would do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Sharon and Paul run the restaurant on site and the food is fab. They are so friendly and are always up for a good laugh. The cleaners are also very friendly and do not call at crazy times in the morning to clean your apartment. I am going back in May for a week and I cannot wait to see everyone again It is like Home from Home.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livergee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I stayed at these apts in mar 2008 and found them to be great. The complex was small yes but had a third floor apt with a fab view of the sea. The pool was small but considering how small the complex was it was more then adequete. Only reason it felt a little cold was because the weather was just so hot so it was great for jumping in and coooling down.

The place was kept clean every morning there was a caretaker cleaning the pool and surronding areas. A maid came in also not too early like some hotels i'v being too and fresh towels provided every second day also.

taxi rank was just around the corner around 3 to 4 euro depending on where u got dropped in peurto del carmen. bus stop around on the opposite side less than two minutes stroll cost like a euro!!!!!

the resort itself is quite but good if u want to relax like we did nice little center 5mins walk away with a few good pubs and restaurensts. In the complex itself paul and sharon provide great grub and drink and are up for a laugh also doesnt stay open late though as the demand isnt there for it.

would recommend to anyone and will be goin back again. total 5 stars.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Property: Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Address: Calle Tomillo 5 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 Self-catering apartments: 29 one-bedroom apartments and 2 two-bedroom apartments. Free services for our guests: Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet access in reception, Late check out from apartment if availability, Courtesy room / luggage storage on the departure, Suitcases storage for next holiday here, Print boarding pass, Order a taxi in advance, Modify the dates of stay if the availability and monetary value fits, Free map of island & street map of Puerto del Carmen, Free bottle of water. General: Outdoor pool with sun beds, Library, Snack bar, Pool table, Tourist desk with a lot of useful tips about our island, plenty of activities to book for you: Trekking, Bicycle rental, Fishing, Car hire, Excursions all over the island. Services at extra cost: Self-service laundry, Safety Deposit Box, Fax/photocopying. Apartment Facilities: Air conditioning / heating in the bedroom, Safety Deposit Box (extra cost), Wardrobe, Kitchenette, Refrigerator, Cooker, Microwave, Oven, Electric Kettle, Toaster, Coffee maker, Kitchenware, Bathroom, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bath or Shower, Bidet, Seating Area, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Flat-screen TV, Sofa, Tiled floor, Wake Up Service, Towels and bed linen, Maid service... This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote's family. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing