We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, clean, peaceful and central.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartamentos Playa mar
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to these apartments, October/November this year and have found them to be just as enjoyable as we'd remembered from last year.
We were transported from the airport in no time by taxi and warmly welcomed by Ulla at reception, who indeed was very patient and helpful with all our queries throughout our stay !! The apartment we had was poolside, very convenient, comfortable and clean.
The grounds are very pretty and kept very clean as are the two pools. We found the maintenance staff to be always very pleasant and friendly and ready to say hello.
The poolside bar serves delicious food, cooked as I understand it by Paco and his wife, who are both so pleasant. We were lucky enough not to miss our share of the wonderful paella this year. It has got to be the best, in Lanzarote at least !!
The apartments are located across the road just five minutes walk from the lovely beach in Puerto del Carmen and probably a good fifteen minutes walk from the old town.
We were lucky enough to have lovely weather when we were away and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in Lanzarote!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeanjosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We recently returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Playa Mar, whilst visiting Lanzarote for my sisters wedding.
The staff on reception (Ulla and Judith) were extremely friendly and helpful, and dealt quickly and efficiently with any queries we raised.
The apartment was very clean, spacious and well appointed, right down to the micowave oven, the full sized hob, and even the corkscrew and tin opener!
The location was fantastic, just off the main strip, but only 50 metres from the lovely beach.
The poolside was never crowded, with sun beds always available, and lovely trees and flowers in the gardens surrounding the poolside.
The poolside bar/retaurant served good quality food and drinks at very reasonable prices (only 2 Euros a pint of lager) and the Thursday Paella nights are excellent value at only 8 Euros for a massive portion!

You must also try the Cinese restaurant just outside the apartments main entrance for authentic Chinese food at very reasonable prices.

We will definitely be back again, with our only slight disappointment being that we left 5 postcards for posting with reception on our final day, and none have been received?

Jim, Sirje and Liisa.

Room Tip: First floor rooms above and on same side as the reception have good views of the poolside and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foxcherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playamar, Gerente at Apartamentos Playa mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Jim,
thank you for your comments about our resort. We are very pleased that you and your family spend pleasent vacations with us. Your and the comments of our other guests help us to improve our service all the time.
We are very sorry about the fact that the postcards you deposited in our postbox didn´t arrive in their destination. The postbox is an official postbox run by CORREOS which is the official spanish post company. If you used their official stamps they should have been arrived within no longer than a week. Maybe you bought the cards in an bazar (indian or chinese) which sell postcards with a special, not official stamp. Those postcards will not be carried out by CORREOS.
Thank you and kind regards
Günther Schnelle
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We have been coming to Playa Mar for 5 years now and can claim the title of the first English to stay there. The apartments are brilliant, very clean, the cleaning staff are very good. The apartments always have a their maintenance team on go. There are constantly keeping the place in tip top shape, be it working in the grounds or the apartments. If you report a fault they are at you apartment within minutes.
The reception staff Rafael. Ula & Judith are also fantastic, they are so helpful.
The pools have recently had a full refurbishment and look lovely, their is also a children's pool.
Next to the pool the is Javier's Bar. Javier or Paco to the german guests is a lovely man with a lovely family. Javier's food and hospitality is brilliant and very reasonably priced.
When we first went to playa mar 5 yrs ago we ate out at different restaurants and didn't realise Javier did steaks and fish. If you ask Javier the day before he buys in fresh steaks and his wife Susie who is a trained Chef cooks a fantastic meal for you. After visiting loads of restaurants there is no one better than Javier & Susie. We have told loads of people when they first arrive how good Javiers is and they go an try the other local eateries and always end up back at Javier's a few days later after spending loads of money and eating bland food saying the best place is on their doorstep.
If you like Paella, Javier & Susie cook a massive Paella on Thursdays and it's only 8 Euro. It is great to sit at the bar and watch it being cooked while having a beer.
The resort of Puerto del Carmen is very nice and great for walking off all the food and beer. The Grade beach is just across the road from playa mar and the old town is a ten minute walk.
A lot of bars on the front have closed down recently due to the recession. There is still a lot left but be aware of the drinks prices. Most Places are charging 3 euros a pint and a White wine & soda was 6 euros. It has gone very expensive here. This will eventually stop people coming to Lanzarote. We have recently been to Los Chritianos on Tenerife and a beer is 1 euro to 1.50 and a White wine & soda 3 euros.
Setting the resort beer prices aside Play Mar is very recommended.
I would like to thank Rafael (& Luna) Ulla, Judith, Javier & Susie for making our holidays here very relaxing and fantastic. From Darren & Jane.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darren-PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playamar, Manager at Apartamentos Playa mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Jane, dear Darren,
thank you for your kind review which makes us feel we are on the right way to cultivate the loyalty of our customers and, at the same time, it shows us that we have to keep improving our services to make your holidays more pleasant all the time.
Thank you again and best regards
Günther Schnelle
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed here for 10 days in july, this place is great, ideal location, 2 mins for beach, apartments very clean, no noise and staff in resort are very nice

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galway_dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Very clean place,the pool area was excellent,the pool was quite warm too!, rooms were just the job and well equipt!pool bar very resonably priced with a friendly husband and wife team,and the reception ladies were so very helpful and polite!, 2mins to the beach down some steps or down the footpath if you prefer! Spar shop and bars right on your doorstep, very good value and we would return tomorrow

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIELLARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here for New Year 2010/11 having visited the same resort the previous year. The good:
* complex and room was extremely clean
* supermarket close by
* close to the beach front but no noise
* good value for money
* the beach front cafe next door which had great breakfasts
the could do better:
* the position of the hotel on the front means there is a lot of steps up to the pool and down to the beach front
* its catered towards german people so we felt a little like outsiders around the pool
* as the above all the TV channels pretty much were Geman, only news in english
I wouldn't put people off staying here but wouldnt personally stay again, for a more enjoyable stay try La Penita instead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CHurley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playamar, Gerente at Apartamentos Playa mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear guest,
thank you for using the review system what helps us to improve our service.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay all the way you expected. There is a problem with TV channels in english language, because all channels we can receive unencrypted via satellite are only news channels, not so the spanish and german ones which mostly can be received free.
Best regard
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed for 9 days in a 1 bed ground floor, pool side apartment in mid December. The apartment was generally spacious but the kitchenette and shower were very small. There is plenty of storage space and we saw the apartments getting a very thorough cleaning between lettings. If steps are a problem for you request a ground floor apartment around the pool as there are 16 steps up to the first floor units and between 8 and 40 steps to the apartments that are located off the steps that lead to the beach. There is a charge of €1 per day for the TV , with ony 2 english chanels (Sky News and BBC World News)and also for the safe.

The grounds around the pool are attractive and well kept and prices in the poolside bar are very reasonable, the paella evenings on Thursdays are not to be missed and at €8 pp are excellent value. There is a good Spar shop 75 metres from the entrance to the complex and the main road and beach are approx 300 metres down a gentle hill from the apartments. All the staff, particularly those in reception are very helpful and friendly.

The apartments were very quiet and catered for couples mainly German, but they were very friendly. During the summer and school holidays it could be noiser with families and children. There was no late nite noise from people returning from discos or bars. Restaurants that we enjoyed were the Playamar on the main road under the apartments and Il Sardinero and El Cangrejo Rojo with a roof terrace both overlooking the old Harbour........try the mixed tapas plates. the morning trip on saturdays to the market in Playa blanca was very enjoyable but the market in Tegise on Sunday was 5 times larger and not as enjoyable. We would recommend these apartments and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David'snews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
#21 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Playa mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Playa mar

Address: Calle Doramas 13 | Apartado 35, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £63 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and beautifully maintained apartment and bungalow complex is situated in the south of Lanzarote, immediately behind the big beach at Puerto del Carmen. Although situated in the centre of the tourist area, guests can enjoy a private, secluded and quiet location under German management.The heated swimming pool is surrounded by a Canary garden and equipped with comfortable sun beds and umbrellas. The pool bar offers all kind of drinks and a small selection of food. Close to the complex there is a larger selection of restaurants and shops, as well as gyms, tennis courts and schools for diving and windsurfing.The comfortably furnished apartments and bungalows are for 2-3 persons (1 bedroom) or 3-5 persons (2 bedrooms) and are all generously equipped with free Wifi, satellite TV, telephone, safe, fan, adequately fitted kitchen and a communal launderette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Playa Mar Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Playa Mar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing