We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, near beach.”
Review of Bandama Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bandama Bungalows
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet, near beach.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Perhaps people are thrown by the address but the apartments are in Pocillos which is a small resort about a mile or so outside the lively resort of Puerto del Carmen. This suited us as we had the choice of stopping local in the relaxed atmosphere of Pocillos (or Matagorda) or a 20 minute walk into Puerto. The aparments were 50m or so from a supermarket and a couple of restaurants. The complex itself comprises around 20 bungalows/apartments we stopped in No 1 but if we returned would probably like Nos 8-15 which were more away from the edge and in Feb got more sun. The apartments are fairly basic but clean with free toaster, kettle and microwave (sadly not always the case these days). There was TV as well but only one English speaking channel in Disney. The beds were comfy and the complex is very quiet so we enjoyed a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    36
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner have just returned from Bungalows Bandama after a very short break of 3 days and were very glad we weren't staying for any longer.

The lady on reception was very friendly & helpful. The complex was very quiet, with a few people sat around the pool. We had to wait about 15 minutes to get into the bungalow as it was still being cleaned. Initially we thought the bungalow (number 3) looked ok on entry but when we looked further it was very tired looking...blinds were broken, paintwork very shabby, rotten woodwork & not a great shower. The information booklet in the bungalow indicated that the rooms were done up in 2009/2010 and there was a photo of a lovely bedroom....number 3 where we stayed had certainly not had a makeover in many a year. The bungalows could be lovely if money was spent on them. Luckily for us we were hardly in the bungalow other than to shower & sleep, so we put up with it. I would hate it if I were to stay for any longer.

The bungalows are about about 30-40 minutes walk away or a 5 minute taxi ride away (costing around 4 euros) to the centre of Puerto del Carmen. We loved Puerto Del Carmen which had lovely beaches, great restaurants & great sea views from bars & restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great place, very clean, took no.9, ideal for shade/sun, very tranquil at this time of year, a bit far out of the main strip of activity, a good 40mins walking to old town, but taxi fare in evening time is around 6euro or you can get the bus, we got a Bono Ticket because we were going in and out and to other places. you can buy the ticket on the bus, it saves hassle everytime u want to use the bus, (change ect) The staff were very helpful to us when my husband needed medical care and were very considerate , would come again to this complex, reception is not 24-7 but you can access the staff via phone.

Room Tip: there is no A/C in apartment 9 can't speak for others, may be a problem in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lara1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

First impression of the bungalows was a very good one, they're in a good location, it's quiet, near a beach, near facilities and the grounds and pool are very nice. Then we entered the actual bungalow and that's when we became disappointed. We’d read all the reviews and were really looking forward to our stay but when we saw the state of the blinds, the rotting woodwork and the general weariness of the rooms, our mood changed. The bed coverings were disgusting, torn pillow cases and thin worn out duvets. The towels were ancient and during the whole week, were only changed once. We did ask to be moved as soon as reception was open but were told there were no other available rooms and most were in the same state of disrepair. Then the toilet started to play up and we couldn't flush, admittedly when reported the maintenance man was round immediately, although it was 24 hours before it was resolved. 24 hours of having to open up the top of the cistern and move the ball cock so we could flush was not our idea of a holiday pastime. We asked to move again and were told this wasn't possible.

It just seemed such a shame when these apartments could be gorgeous if some money was spent on them. The wooden frame around the window in the bathroom was so rotten that it made me want to retch every time I stood in the shower beside it......how can the management company expect people to accept this?

We did enjoy our holiday in Lanzarote but tried to spend as much time as possible away from the apartment. We won't be going back to Banadama Bungalows......unless they carry out a complete refurbishment and at least change the blinds!

Room Tip: If you intend to go, or have already booked, try to avoid Bungalow No 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The bungalows are situated in a lovely garden surround, very peaceful yet easy to get to where you want as buses and taxi's readily available
Clean and large bungalows, towels and sheets changed regularly, although bins not emptied daily which i would have liked
The pool was very deep and very cold
Great value for money
Staff great and helpful, although reception only open some mornings
we will be back

Room Tip: All the bungalows are on the ground level, the sun is mainly on 1-7 most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just returned from Bandama bungalows and must say for us it was perfect, OK the bungalows need a bit of TLC but at the end of the day you sleep there and occasionally eat there but everything was spotless and had all the equipment you could ask for, and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely bungalows. Very spacious. Your own front & back door with own little garden. Set around the pool, where you will have no bother getting a lounger. Very relaxing. Staff are always friendly & helpful. Close to the lovely long beach & shops. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday , this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn5359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyde Park Lane
Hyde Park Lane
#22 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Sal
Villa Sal
#66 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Flamboyant
Apartamentos Flamboyant
#23 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Mar
Aparthotel Costa Mar
#26 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mar Azul Playa
Mar Azul Playa
#3 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
#1 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandama Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandama Bungalows

Property: Bandama Bungalows
Address: Calle Lapa 18, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:2 star — Bandama Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bandama Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandama Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bandama Bungalows Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing