We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”
Review of Acuario Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acuario Sol
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from 7nights in Acuario Sol 2. We booked last minute with Thomas cook and were a little unsure about the hotel being only a 2 star, but when we arrived - we were so glad what we got for our money. This hotel is rated a 2 star but it should be higher - we were given room 101 - ground floor with terrace - it was shaded by the trees all day (possibly the only down side) but we dont go on holiday to sit in the hotel room and bonus - cause we were situated away from the majority of the balcony rooms it was quieter!
Room - The room was spacious and more importantly very clean and well equipped kitchen for self catering (fridge/freezer, hobs, kettle, toaster, pots, plates, bowls, cutlery etc). Bathroom - good size, shower was powerful! We paid the extra for the safety deposit 24euros got 12back for deposit. It doesnt have air conditioning - i believe u can rent a fan but we didnt nother - kept the windows open on the latch, it was windy so nice cool breeze at night and bonus no mosquitos!
Maid service - room cleaned 5days out of 7, sheets and towels changed 3days out of 7.
Pool - both were cold as small and deep but nice to cool of in. Sunbeds - no problems with getting one only a few towels on first thing but by time we arrived at the pool ~11am got beds no probelm. They arent that comfy though and very few parasouls but there were plenty of shaded areas under the trees.
Pool bar - good for breakfasts, snacks, cocktails, alcohol and the Friday night BBQ (great food, all u can eat for only 12euros). Found soft drinks were expensive and unfortuntly it was a little quite than we hoped - almost every night we returned from restaurants it was closed as nobody there and that was mayby 1030pm ish. Luckily we had drink in the fridge.
Location - Short 1min walk up the street from Acuario Sol 1 (reception). It is only a short 5min walk to the strip and to the Spar, also small shop just around the corner beside acuario sol 1.
Last day - we had a late flight and with check out being at 12pm we had 6 hours to kill - tried to get a late check out but the rooms wernt available - we were able to lock our suitcases away in secure room and use the facilities including a room with shower and toilet by the pool - only problem was shower was cold and the room flooded with the shower. The light but didnt work - but later we realised we should have asked for a key for the elec and heated water at reception - silly us!
Loved this hotel and would def come back and recommend.

Room Tip: if want shaded room, 101 on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kezzadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We ended up at the Acuario Sol as a last minute solution, we were buying an apartment on the island through myPDC homes which we thought we would be staying in for our summer holidays in August as we started the purchase and paid our deposit in November 2010, so we had booked for us to stay for a fortnight and then my daughter to stay on for a further fortnight.
The estate agent booked us into these apartments after letting us down on a villa he'd promised us, so we went with some apprehension as they were only rated 2 star.
These apartments are definitely not 2 star they are much better than that, the reception staff were so very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we can't thank them enough for the help and advice they gave. They even let us pay in installments as again the estate agent was supposed to pay and didn't!
We were in Sol 2 on the top floor, the apartments are clean and well equipped with the most comfortable beds we've ever had n an apartment, and the location of them is brilliant, only about a five minute walk to the strip and with the top quality restaurants that are now opening up at this end of the strip many a night we didn't go further than ten minutes away from the apartments, but once in the apartments they are so quiet.
As far as the cats go, I was really worried as I really don't like them but if you ignore them they ignore you.
The pool bar serves very good food and we had a couple of breakfasts and snacks there, beware of the prices for soft drinks it is cheaper to pop to the supermarket and buy a big bottle, but they do serve a good Nescafe coffee and happy hour is good value.
These apartments are also very secure with the gate being locked and you need your key to get in after about 8pm.

My recommendations - these apartments are where we'll stay everytime we go to Lanzarote now, which is 3 or 4 times a year, KEEP AWAY from mypdchomes on the avenida they truely are con men who promise you your dream, take your money, tell you 8 months later that you can't afford an apartment now and keep your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillcraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

It was my first visit to Lanzarote and was pleasantly surprised with the apartments. They were clean and comfortable, comfy beds and a nice sofa in the living area. All necessary kitchen utensils were there including a kettle and toaster which you often don't get in self catering apartments. We had a room overlooking the garden and pool area at Acuario Sol II which was great although a bit of noise from the upstairs apartments. Generally though a very quiet apartment block and lovely pool area with two pools which are separated with a sort of paddling area at the end of each pool. The only drawback with these apartments unfortunately is the bar/restaurant which advertises 0800 til late. If you think you can go back to your rooms and catch a nightcap in the bar before going to bed, don't. The bar chooses to close most evenings around 10 p.m. unless it suits them, i.e. when they have a barbecue night. So if you are in town around 10p.m. and still want another drink or something to eat, then stay in town, no point in going back to get anything at the apartments. There was an elderly couple, and the lady was in a wheelchair who came back at the same time as us - about 9.45 p.m. and only wanted a lemonade and a beer and they were served but begrudgingly. Such a shame as this bar could be a little goldmine.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dot48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I honestly don't know how people can come on here and write a bad review about these apartments. You booked a 2 star accommodation(which should at least be a 3). It's not going to be of the highest standard! However it certainly was in my opinion, I would go back in a flash.
Pool and bar area were fantastic just what we needed for a relaxing holiday. It was quiet and peaceful so no bother. Max 7 min walk to main strip which suited us. Prices were reasonable.
Fao the people that moan about the cats, if you don't show them attention they don't bother you.
Going back next year can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelrossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Booked this late deal with Thomas Cook, on arrival we were shown to our apartment which was in Sol 1 not realising there was Sol 2 up the road which is the better of the 2 and unfair as this costs the same price as Sol 2! views from Sol 1 are.. trees!! and feels a bit like being plonked in the middle of a housing estate with a swimming pool... there is 1 pool in Sol 1 and 2 in Sol 2 both smaller than the photos's!. Sunbeds are few and very uncomfortable as they do not lift up and there is only about 5 parasols between everyone. The girls in the Bar were friendly and have to say the food was very good.. Sunday Dinner was lovely. Found resort dull.. thankfully we found the Dubliner which had a great atmosphere the band Celtic Twist were brill worth a visit and Dave and Dara on the bar are a great team.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Sol 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozza6227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and i have just returned from a week at Sol ll. It was brill,,, very clean and suprisingly quiet. We had a great pool and sea view from the top floor. really pleased with this accomodation. Few mins walk to front where there is everything you need, and a very pleasant stroll to the old town, all flat so walking is easy. Only downside... had to come home.
Already looking for june next year.
REALLY RECOMMEND

Room Tip: All seemed pretty well placed but top floor with pool view. only 3 floors up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ellis172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in Acuario Sol 1 for the first two weeks in August.
The apartments are located on a quiet street about 5-10min walk from the strip.
The room was a good size for us, there were two adults and a 14 month old in the room.
The rooms came with a toaster and kettle and all the usual ammeanities you would expect in a self catering apartment. When we requested a travel cot for our little girl we were given one free of charge. Every room has a balcony and these were great for sitting in day or night, during the day, after about 3.30 the balcony was a bit of a suntrap and was very nice to sunbath in.
The pool in Sol 1 was an ok size but always seemed to be cold, no matter how warm a day it was, but was nice to cool off in once you are over the initial shock lol. There are two larger pools in Sol 2, which is just up the hill, which guests also have access to. We tried two of the three pools and both were salt water pools, unsure if the pool nearest the gate of Sol 2 is salt water to.
There are sun loungers in all pool areas, these had towels on them most of the time even when you went to the pool before 9am which ment it was difficult to get a lounger some days, this issue could be solved if hotel staff removed towels from the loungers as they were cleaning the pools in the mornings as people were placing their towels down when coming home from nights out at 3am etc then going to bed, this is just a minor thing and no big issue though. In Sol 1 there were also loungers outside the ground floor apartments.
The rooms were cleaned daily with the towels being changed every few days. The bed sheets were changed once a week
There is a supermarket across the road from the entrance to Sol 1 but it is expensive when compared to the Spar which is a short walk away. The Spar also has a bigger selection.
All the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful and always seemed happy to help.
All in all I would stay here again as this is a quiet and relaxing place close enough to the strip for easy access but far enough to be quiet at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank userScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#35 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#23 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Apartamentos THe Morromar
#38 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuario Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuario Sol

Address: Calle Rociega 46, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £51 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Acuario Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Acuario Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Sol Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing