We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time, pretty sure there'll be a 3rd!”
Review of Acuario Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acuario Sol
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“2nd time, pretty sure there'll be a 3rd!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I've stayed here once before with my family, we had the same room again this time, 117 in Acuario Sol 2 as I had requested it when we booked.
The rooms are perfectly adequate. Plenty of space for the 5 of us, clean towels when needed and the cleaning lady came on 5 days. She mopped the lounge and bathroom, changed the towels, emptied the bins and wiped down the surfaces. The bedroom floors could have done with a once over but apart from that it was fine. Enough glasses and plates and so on for all of us. There's a kettle and toaster and basic hob in the kitchen. They aren't luxury apartments but they are spacious and the staff are lovely and the location is great.The only bad things I can think of are the pools need re-painting and the bar is expensive. Happy hour 5-7 makes that better though. Also, there was a problem with the smoke alarm in our apartment making strange noises at stupid o'clock in the morning.
I'd highly recommend the Pizzeria Napoletana (down to the seafront and turn left) for a lovely meal. Lovely staff, excellent food and a great sea view. I'm not going to repeat my last review here so basically if you want somewhere safe, clean, spacious, reasonably priced and peaceful then the acuario sol 2 is a great choice. I'll definitely be going back there again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms in Acuario Sol 2 face the pool but the top floor apartments also have a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgeLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    213
    80
    15
    21
See reviews for
145
243
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

i have been to this accomodation 3 tymes now with my family and we all absolutley loved it the rooms were clean and the cafe had freindly staff. i really reccomend it brilliant place thanks alot peeps xxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

23rd october 2012 1 week, me and my best mate, i have stayed here before with me husband and we loved it so much, i brought me best friend for a 1 week girlie holiday, we left last night. Absolutley fantastic hotel, we stayed in ACURIO SOL 1, its nice and peaceful, we stayed in room 4, top balcony, however we did have to climb the stairs with our cases, which was a struggle, but view was lovely of sea, i would ask for a ground floor next time we come, there is about 20 stairs u have to climb to get from reception and 3 other steps to get on lower balcony levels.The pool is lovely and we were lucky to have the whole pool to our selfs for the whole week, acurio sol1 is more of a suntrap,The staff were very helpful, and we hired the safe @ 24 EUROS u get 12 euros back, and an air conditioning unit 38 euros and u also get 10 euros back at end of holiday, well worth both.... at acurio sol 2 there is the bar and resturant, we used to have a jug of pimms 7 euros, lovely and refreshing, and Tina the chinese girl who works there is the most friendliest, nothing is too much trouble for her,this hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the main strip, we chose this hotel cos its just so quiet and u dont hear the pounding of discos and bars music further down the strip

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BRANSON426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at the Acuario Sol 2 apartments in February 2012 for one week, booked as a package with my husband for some late winter sun. The apartments themselves are a little distant from the centre of the action in Puerto Del Carmen - maybe 20 minutes from the largest beach and an hours' (pleasant) walk from the sweet old town harbour area. However, they were perfect for us. The kitchen was reasonably well stocked and the large apartment was regularly cleaned. There was a small supermarket very close to the apartments with free on street parking. One small negative is that despite requesting a double bed we were given an apartment with twin beds - easy enough to push together but not super comfy for a couple! The other small downer was that the pools were unheated, which made them unusable in February.

As we'd come to PDC in order to have a good base to explore the island in our car, the distance from the clubbing section was a positive bonus. We enjoyed walking into the old port for dinners in the evening, and if you don't want to be bothered by touts, then walking on the beach side of the street ameliorates that entirely.

We enjoyed great days out to Arrieta, Haria, Farmara and all of the Manrique exhibitions and sites, and the Timanfaya Park was a real highlight. Very close by to the hotel (walk to the beach and turn left) is a great Indian restaurant. There's a lovely pizzeria just next door too if you want to eat close to your lodgings. When we return to Lanzarote we will probably stay in another part of the island, but only because we feel as if we've seen all that Puerto Del Carmen has to offer. It's a peaceful spot and the staff are very friendly and pleasant. Recommended, particularly at the excellent prices on offer as part of many packages.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor level next to the pool, but the rooms on upper floors had nicer balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Acuario Sol 2 is certainly better than 1, however we were disapointed by the location, not that it was too far from the beach or the main strip, but the journey to and from were very third world and one had to keep looking where one stepped for fear of uneven pavements and dog poo.
The situation of Sol 2 apartments were on the corner of two busy roads and in constant use 24 hours a day, so sleeping without ear plugs is a bit of a challenge. The grounds were kept very clean and the staff were helpful and nice, and if you leaned your head out far enough you could see the sea from the front of the apartments. To the rear of the apartments is a tract of land about 4 acres yet to be built upon and a bit of an eyesore, so don't look that way.
If you can get a deal, the price it's marginaly OK if your deaf, but if you possibly can, spend a little bit more and get something better to avoid disapointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

As a couple in our early 20's we really loved these apartments, they were quiet and not filled with screaming children. The apartment itself had everything we needed - and an iron et available for a supplement. There was a good sized bedroom and bathroom with a lovely sitting area and a balcony that caught the sun perfectly all day and into the evening (we had an upstairs apartment). There was a small pool with about 10 loungers and there was never a problem getting one. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartments are situated perfectly for getting to the main strip and the beaches (about a 5 minute walk if that). We went to Acuario sol 2 once and used the cafe which was fine but there's so much choice down at the strip we never ate there again.

The only comment would be puerto del camen isn't great for people wanting a clubbing holiday - but for a relaxing week with lots of restaurants and bars its perfect.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs apartment so you get the sun all day - nice for a drink before heading out for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorjee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Was raging when i first arrived at sol 1 to check in because on the booking form i specifically stated i wanted to stay in sol 2 the main reason been we have 2 children and there is no kids pool in sol1. I found the receptionist on duty at the time not very helpful at all!! Sol 1 is very very quite and will admit the rooms are spotless the cleaning stay do a great job and are very friendly. On day 2 water started flowing down into our bathroom from the apartment above. The manager came straight away and we had to move apartments but he gave us an air conditioning unit free of charge for the week so couldn't really complain!! We had to bring the kids up to sol 2 to swim every morning its really not that far was just annoyed because you just couldn't pop back into your apartment if you forgot something. The kids basically had the pool to themselves all the time.. 2 kids pool lovely and clean. Over all very quite clean complex i would stay again if i was guaranteed sol 2!!

Room Tip: Sol 2 is better..bigger apartment complex and has 2 kids pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otreacyThurles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuario Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuario Sol

Property: Acuario Sol
Address: Calle Rociega 46, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Acuario Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Acuario Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Sol Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing