We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not going back.”
Review of Acuario Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acuario Sol
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not going back.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We opted for a self catering apartment. It was pretty sparsely equipped and not that well cleaned. The kitchen equipment consisted of (apart from the usual crockery and cutlery) a tin opener, a bottle opener, a fish slice, a ladle, a caulender, a frypan, 2 large and 2 small pots, 4 knives (one missing from the set), a chopping board, 2 jugs, a bowl and part of a coffee filter. 2 rings to cook on, a toaster and a kettle. Not even bare minimum - no wooden spoons, no other part of coffee filter. No basic essentials to get you started - salt, pepper, oil, wash up liquid all missing. Pathetic. The TV had all but one of its buttons removed so you have to rent a remote control, no air con unless you rent it and you need to as when you leave the windows open, the mosquitoes come in for a feast.
Two single beds in the bedroom and two couches in the living room. Why no double bed? The bathroom was okay but two people could not shower with one tank of hot water without turning off the water between wetting and rinsing.
The swimming pools were colder than the sea. Ridiculous. No solar panels anywhere to heat hot water or the pool. The pool bar charged 2.50 for a 5l water where the same was 1.20 in the local shops.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Plenty more to try before this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    209
    76
    15
    21
See reviews for
137
240
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for seven nights in the middle of November ,basic,clean,cheap and friendly sums it up really nice little place
Plenty of decent restaurants nearby that are very reasonable and a quick transfer from the airport definitely would return

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to the Acuario for a week at the end of October/beginning of november 2013 as part of my 60th birthday celebrations. It seemed ideal as we had four generations of the family there, It completely matched the description we had been given. Apartments were a good size and they managed to locate us close to each other. The cafe was nice and provided nice breakfast and a greta sunday lluch, otherise it was a bit limited. that didnt matter because the great location meant that many restaurants were within 10 minutes walk

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Acuario Sol 2 delivered exactly what we expected. We had four generations of family and needed four rooms close together... They matched our needs! The units were clean and basic, but suited our week there. Everyone thought a great place to have either a simple day by the pool or as a base to venture out from. Felt secure at the resort and staff at the 'restaurant' were always helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we stayed here at Acuario Sol 2 in October. Very quiet apartment,good size,clean,good kitchen,swimming pool area very clean and nice,nice view from apartment 217 to the sea.
pool bar closing to early,no free internet area.internet is 6 eu a day and deposit for remote 15 eu,Tv very old showing only few channels,beds were squeaky to hard to sleep,toilet a bit smelly.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaraska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed in Acuario Sol 1 for a week in September and enjoyed every minute. Sol 1 is really quiet and at times it was like we had our own private pool. Rooms are pretty basic but there is everything you need. Very clean rooms and pool area. Only 5 mins walk from the front n 10 mins to the beach so in an ideal location ... Would definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillibob33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Really enjoyed staying here at the apartments they were a nice size.

Towels were changed everyday and the apartment was cleaned every two days.

Rachel was a lovely bar lady who couldn't do enough for you - the bbq and pub quiz were delicious!

The two pools were nice and cold for how hot it was!

It was nice how the apartments were not higher than three floors (a part of the Lanzarote history) but not many stairs to walk up and they all faced the pool as well.

Lovely rooms, plenty of sunbeds and great people met as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicoleshari93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Aloe
Apartamentos Aloe
#47 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#33 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuario Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuario Sol

Property: Acuario Sol
Address: Calle Rociega 46, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Acuario Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acuario Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Sol Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing