We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acuario Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acuario Sol
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
bolton, lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvelous apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here on 2 Dec, our third visit to the Acuario sol iI. The lay out of the complex makes for a friendly feel with plenty of space to sunbath or swim in the pool. There is a bar / restaurant that serves a very good value barbecue for those with a good appetite. The rooms are simple and clean with pleasant views from the balcony. There is a shop 2 minutes away for morning bread and a 10 minute walk away is the promenade and all the shops, bars and restaurants you could wish for. The complex is locked up in the evening and can only be entered by guests using a key. Main reception is in the Acuario sol I1 2 minutes away, if you have any problems I found them to be very helpful. I have paid much more for accommodation in Lanzarote but this complex is definitely the best value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaddyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    200
    71
    14
    20
See reviews for
131
229
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Just returned home after a most enjoyable stay at the Acuario Sol. For a 2 star you can't fault the place with only a 5 minute stroll to the sea front. What we liked was that the Acuario Sol was at one end of the 'strip', so we passed all the bars and restaurants every day going up to the harbour end. This gave us the opportunity to 'suss-out' all the best bars, restaurants and cafe's. We particularly liked 'Routa 66' bar which was great for music lovers like ourselves. The girls working in the Acuario Sol bar/cafe/restaurant, Rachel, Tina, Josephine and Viligia were absolutely lovely and a joy to talk to. They also did a superb breakfast. Bill & Marilyn Cheetham

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamcheetham43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

i have just returned from a fantastic holiday to puerto del carmen. Its the first time i have been to lanzarote and i would definatly go back.
we booked to stay at the acuario sol and it was very good value for money. i read reviews about it not being great, and was slightly aprehensive but was plesantly suprised.

The pools were all clean, (salty water in pools) downside the sun beds only have one position - great for lying flat! ( there were about 3 with moving backs!)

The apartments were tidy and we did have a kettle and a toaster which i wasnt expecting! ( obviously i cant say if they are in every room!) we did have to ask for the towels to be changed as they didnt get done after the first week, but they got done after we asked.

The main thing we wernt impressed with was that its advertised as a 3 adult sharing apartment, we went as a 3 and there were 2 beds and a sofa, (not a sofa bed) it had wooden ends and was not a thick matteress and a piece of chipboard under it and was really not very wide. 1 friend was too tall, 1 was pregnant, so i, the shortest of us slept on it for the first night...its not a bed! we got to the acuario sol after 9:30pm and asked if we could have a bed for me to sleep on, the receptionist (youngish women) who was not the most cheerful of people said that if we wanted a bed we would have to pay and there was nothing else she could do, so i just slept on it that night and waited for the welcome meeting in the morning. when we spoke to the rep she said that was what you got for a 3bed but said she would see what she could do. when we reurned to the apartment later that day .... i had a fold out bed waiting for me....so i was able to sleep much better for the rest of our 2 week stay.

we spent most of our days by the pool at the acuario sol 2 the pools here are bigger and there is a bar! Suzie runs the bar at sol 2 she is really friendly and helpful, she did a great meal deal for about 22euros for BBQ on friday (really good food and loads of it) a sunday lunch and curry night on tuesday, all great value for money but BBQ was definatly the best.

As for cats yes there were stray cats but they just wanted some love, but if you ignore them they will leave you alone, it really annoyed me that people were really horrid and hitting them, there is no need for this, just ignore them if you dont like them.

If you plan on cooking (as we did) its worth going to the spar to by food and not to the shop across the road as it is much cheaper there.

its about a 15 min walk to centro atlantico which is where you find all the main bars, loved it there, yes you do get hassled by the pr but there friendly enough and doing there job so say no thanks, they may ask again but usually they are fine and back off.

Would definatly go back to these apartments as for the price you pay its great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Acurio Sol 1 Filthy, staff obnoxious, unsafe first night at hospital when I fell down the stairs....no handrails. Rep never available. All in all the worst place I have ever been to in the world and couldnt wait to get home. keep watching this space I have just complained to Thomas Cook and if they are not interested will take legal proceedings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerface3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

My friend and I (age 18 – 20) have just got back from a quiet, relaxing week in Lanzarote. We weren't expecting much from our apartment, but were pleasantly surprised. It was clean and spacious with all the amenities we needed. The pools at both complexes were of a good size, although a little cold.

The main strip of bars and shops in just a short 5 minute walk away and there is lots of supermarkets nearby offering fresh bread and home comforts.

The Friday night BBQ is not to be missed - ‘all you can eat’, a quiz and a cheap bar!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloe_r21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

got back from lanzarote last week after staying in the acuario sol 2 and what can i say, it was fantastic all round, the rooms are large and are kept clean 6 days a week. yes there is no kettle, toaster or microwave, or oven but who needs that when the hotel restaurant had great food at resonable prices, it was 5.50 euros for one of the best breakfasts i have ever had, curry night was great the bbq was great, the sunday lunch was great, it was all great, the bar and kitchen staff made you feel welcome and it was a pleasure to meet them all. we will be back in 2011 without a doubt, as for the rest of puerto del carmen it was amazing and yes it is windy but you sure need it to be it was hot hot hot. we are going back same time in 2011 and cannot wait. adios amigos!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Acuario Sol 2 appartments in Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote. The appartment was fairly spacious and clean but was seriously let down by a lack of air conditioning! during our 2 week stay, the temp didn't drop below mid 30's and on many occasions was mid 40's!! The hotel provide fans and a "Cooler" fan which uses Ice..........don't bother with the latter, just go for a pan or two.....it does the same thing for less money!! The cooler was useless!!
The complex has a bar/restaurant (I'd call it a small bar/cafe) it also has a small supermarket..... The bar/cafe was very expensive and the supermarket was poorly stocked and also very expensive.......Just up the road from the complex, there is a SPAR supermarket which was excellent and massively cheaper than the one on site! Needless to say, the only people who ever use the cafe/supermarket/bar are those who have just arrived and don't know any better!
The pool's were ok, though on the cold side. One seemed to be salt water, the other Chlorine (Though there were some tiles missing from the latter pool!
One really poor thing at the complex is the lack of parasoles that actually work and are in one piece....Also, the sunbeds are lay flat only with just 3 adjustable beds (which were fought over constantly!! By the way - THE BEDS ARE SERIOUSLY HARD!!!!
One thing I really MUST mention........If you want seriously good food......Go to the Italian restaurant on the main strip called the Trattoria!! I've been all over the world, and this place served me some of the best food I've ever eaten!! Try the Fillet steak!!! WOW!
AVOID like the plague the American Indian Restaurant on the main strip. It's expensive crap with service to match! The buffalo Grill is also another good place to eat....
The beach was really excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJJUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Aloe
Apartamentos Aloe
#45 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuario Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuario Sol

Property: Acuario Sol
Address: Calle Rociega 46, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Acuario Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Acuario Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Sol Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Puerto Del Carmen
Acuario Sol Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing