We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bungalows Velazquez
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a real gem”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we had a lovely 18 nights here. we were in number 12 overlooking the childrens pool. very quiet despite being right in the middle of town - maid service every day & nothing too much trouble. security knocked us up on first night as not locked patio doors!! however we felt very safe. everything very clean and was maintained to a good standard. Almost had peace spoilt as during the last week a family of 5 arrived consisting of 3 small children and mum & dad - children just being children but the parents continually shouting their names from the loungers (over parenting) however every one round the pool found it amusing and would arrive with ear plugs or use this time to take a break from the sun - luckily they only ever stayed out for around an hour and a half each day. I wont name and shame as they must have noticed the looks of other holiday makers. would definitely stay again & recommend to anyone who likes to be close to town - great nights sleep too. would advise travellers did not book shuttle as much easier to get a cab from airport as so close.

Room Tip: i would say no real bad rooms - look at other reviews for this property as they are very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would start by saying that this accommodation is not cheap but there is a short supply of front line 2 bedroom places in PDC. Transfer from airport as has been said costs around €8.5 each way so dont bother booking a transfer just walk outside and grab a cab, very short 10 minute trip into PDC and much easier than cramming onto a multi drop coach run. On arrival if out of hours the security man will let you in and hand over your keys and walk you to your designated bungalow or suite. We had a Bungalow next to the pool with a view to the sea within 30 Mtrs and to sit out late and hear the waves crashing on the rocks was very nice and relaxing. The bungalows are set down from the main strip which is right across the road but surprisingly you cant hear the noise as you are lower than the stip by a good 15 feet across the road so both brilliantly placed but quiet on your return. Bungalow had a terrace with table and 4 chairs and a living, dining area seperate kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom all of which were in excellent order and condition. I think this is the first trip where the cleaners were in every single day to clean throughly and replace all towels, fantastic work by the cleaners definately first class. Everything worked and the 32" FSTV on the wall nice touch not that we watched it much. Bungalows are gated and very secure you get 2 keys one to gate and one to bungalow. Step outside and your on the main strip into PDC walk either way to pocillos or PDC nice stoll on the front probably 15 minutes into PDC old town pretty flat nice breeze in the evening to walk to PDC. Old town has far better choice of lets say more authentic restaurants, more of a spanish feel and certainly not the same old tat on the main drag of Asian, mexican and awful tex-mex mash ups with the odd italian and indian thrown in. There are a few jewels but you have to root them out. But the bungalow and location here were fantastic with private access to a small beach or two thrown in. All in all one of the best choices in PDC especially for 2 bed accommodation. Great stuff. Family of 4 with 2 teen lads (18 and 14).

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the sea side with direct step access to the private beach from your terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous week at this accommodation.Excellent location, plenty of bars and restaurants around.Spotlessly clean and very quiet considering it's right in the centre of town.
The downside is we were only there a week! We will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Chose these bungalows based on reviews on Trip Advisor, Booked through Monarch (Cosmos) and it cost just short of 2 grand for a 10 day stay with flights in June. No need to book a transfer as a cab will cost about 10 euros from the airport.We were dropped off at the entrance which was a electronically locked gate,pressed the buzzer but nobody turned up for about 10 minutes, however this was soon forgotten as we were shown to our apartment, a spacious sea facing paradise. Two bedrooms one en suite, TV, Kettle, Toaster, large fridge freezer, microwave and lots of little surprises such as Hand wash in both bathrooms, lots of towels which were changed daily, a drip dry area for wet clothes.We had the very end room which looked on to the rocky beach, and yes, the sound of the sea lapping up at night was fantastic.One thing we didn't bank on was Mosquito's, they loved me !! Also one negative was the visit of a rather large Cockroach on the Kitchen floor, we reported this to reception and the area was immediately fumigated,we didn't see any more.The pool was a bit small, but it didn't matter as we had the sea.The complex is located centrally along the promenade, with lots of bars and restaurants on the doorstep, we could hear people outside until about 1am in our room as it was the closest to the road. one day we walked to the airport runway, took about an hour at a steady pace.There is a bike lane running along the road which is forever full of bikes and joggers. We also did the full island tour, cost about 45 euro each, highly recommended. The weather was mixed, a few cloudy days, but a lovely cooling breeze. A favourite place to eat was the American Indian Cafe, Juicy steaks for under 8 euro and live bands.The number of people walking past who asked us about the place was unbelievable, a lot thought they were private bungalows. The place was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly and i would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Always worth e mailing the hotel prior to travel to request a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed in these apartments in early May
Weather was fantastic
Location brilliant
Quite and relaxing.
Friendly
Great to overlook the sea and hear the waves and paddle your feet in the sea.
Will be back again,
The small reception stocks the large containers of water so no carrying from the shops !!
Did not even turn on the TV.
Friendly neighbours.

Room Tip: No Pool bar here but step out of the apartments on to the strip and plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mardeleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

There's no bar or shop in the hotel area, but that's ok, because you can find tens of shops and restaurants in just 2 minutes walk.
They do sell water in the reseption, so no need to carry
it from shops.
Well maintenad place, rooms and other areas are clean. Big room, nice bathroom and shower, you can cook your own breakfast in the kitchen.
It's very nice to have own private terrace and watch the see from it, totally relaxing.
Only minus was the noice from Galleon bar (at the main street), you could hear the right numbers when they played bingo there. They started about 10 pm, but not every night. It might be, that this problem is alreyde solved by toe hotel...
There also a pool for children and one for adults, they are ok. If you wish to swim in the sea, you'll have to walk about five minutes. Bungalows are situated at the beach, but the beach is quite rocky there. Would go back again, it's one of the best bungalows in PDC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

There is no point me writing too much as the last review says it all (thanks guys ... you've saved me a bit of time!). We were very impressed with the apartments when we saw the photos on the internet, but we can honesty say that it was even better than expected when we arrived. We didn't have an apartment on the front, but no.3 on the ground floor at the side of the main pool, which having a young child was a great location. The apartment was roomy, exceptionally clean and tidy, had TWO bathrooms (which was a surprise) and cleaned every day with towels and tea towels being replaced daily. The apartments on the front are great as you get the wonderful view of the sea/hear the waves crashing against the rocks, but even at the side in No.3 you had a good view from your roomy terrace and still heard the waves so we were not disappointed. You do get a little bit of noise (ie music) in the apartment due to Café La Ola being behind but this was really only on the Friday and Saturday evenings and it isn't heard in the front twin bedroom. The location was great with the bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. We thought we were in the main resort (as it was our first time) until we realised there was far more down the road, which was great. The beach was lovely especially the smaller beach that we used to visit a few mins down the road. We can recommend the croissants and sandwiches from the little café on the front called Lolita. We can also recommend the trip to Rancho Texas (animal park). It is only small but the animal displays (birds of prey, parrots and sealions) were great and remember to take your swimwear as the water park/pools there are worth a visit (and are included in the price which we didn't realise). I will definitely be recommending this to my friends and family and hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Velazquez

Property: Bungalows Velazquez
Address: Avenida Playas 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Velazquez 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bungalows Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velazquez Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bungalows Velazquez Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing