We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't try to cheat me!”

Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada
Price range: US$17 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Easy to find in the sea front of the Playa de Palma beach, it offers varied and tasty Italian dishes and a great variety of international food. An ideal place to enjoy a great atmosphere with wonderful sea views.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't try to cheat me!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

OK, maybe not the biggest score in the history of fraud, but don't put olives, bread and dip on my table that I did not order and then try to charge me for it! Was aware of the problem due to the reviews already given on Tripadvisor so, I asked the waitress when she brought it if she planned to charge me. First she acted like she didn't understand the question, but here blushing told another story. Food: pasta is bad, pizza is not too shabby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    47
    29
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Excellent pizza and wine,reasonably priced with good service.The desserts were huge and we`ll go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bentrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Gerente at Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quaint Pizzeria on the first line”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you get tired of dining in your hotel, a good choice for Pizza and other Italian delicacies. Service was good, and prices reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pm62185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Gerente at Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and good overall”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We went to this restaurant as we wanted a Pizza and I can say that the Pizza was very good. We also had a fish dish with a prawn sauce which was also very good. The pizza was a little overpriced at 10.20Euro but the fish was reasonably priced. We would recommend this restaurant BUT would agree with the other reviewers that you MUST make sure that if you agree to take the bread and dips they offer to you when you arrive that you are prepared to pay a crazy price for bread and dips. It is very unfortunate that they don't WARN you of this price for bread!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZiaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Gerente at Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our food.

As we already informed on Tripadvisor, like most of the restaurants in Spain, we provide bread, alioli and olives at the cost of 1,30€ per person altogether.

Of course, you can always refuse this service and we are very sorry if you felt taken advantage of as it is not explained to the costumers due to the fact that it is a normal practice in Spain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“Watch out for hidden charges”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I usually do not review restaurants. And I am usually a fairly tolerant person when it comes to questionable service and mediocre food. But I am most definitely not okay with being taken advantage of.
Our party of four got a table on the patio for late lunch. We ordered a bottle of wine and started looking at the menus. With our wine they brought a little bowl with 12 olives accompanied by 4 slices of stale bread and about 1 oz of aioli dipping sauce. We never asked for that but hey, this is Spain. A glass of wine almost always comes with a free tapa even if it is just a plate of olives. As two more friends joined our table the waiter asked if they would like a plate of olives with bread as well. We said no since there were still plenty left over in our bowl. But what an attentive guy, right? WRONG! At the end of our meal the bill showed 5 Euro for the olives, 5 Euro for the bread, and 4 Euro for the dipping sauce. So in total 14 Euro, almost as much as the pizza I ordered, for about 7 sorry olives that we actually ate but never asked for.
Look, I know this is a tourist trap sort of place but they do not need to rip off customers! As they put these so called tapas on the table, they should at least warn they cost 14 Euro. It is a good thing our two friends did not take them up on the offer for a second portion, otherwise we'd be 28 Euro short...
The actual food was okay but the bogus charge left such a bad taste in our mouths. We would never go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank costucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Gerente at Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry that you felt this way about the services we provide. We would like to clarify that, like most of the restaurants in Spain, we provide bread, alioli and olives at the cost of 1,30€ per person altogether.

Of course, you can always refuse this service and we are very sorry if you felt taken advantage of as it is not explained to the costumers due to the fact that it is a normal practice in Spain.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada also viewed

Playa de Palma, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Pizzeria L'Arcada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing