We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach!”
Review of HM Gran Fiesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HM Gran Fiesta
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed at HM Gran Fiesta over the weekend... as this was my first trip to Mallorca or any of the Balearic islands, I didn't know what to expect. I thought the location was excellent. Right on the beach, only 10-15 minutes from the airport, and 30-40 minutes from Palma (by bus). The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Perfect for a beach getaway, really! All rooms have a sea view, so it was a real pleasure. And not just the glimpse, but all of it! The food was so-so, mainly meat, potatoes and bread. I certainly missed some salads and vegetables and a good selection of fruits and fruit juices. Overall, it was a good value for money, and the location was unbeatable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, so can't go wrong with options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    172
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
72
193
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Right on Beach, shops on dootstep and pubs short distance so far enough away not to be in amongst it. Only British in hotel but food varied each night to suit. Very clean and civilised hotel. Staff were excellent. Only downside is the hotel next door, Hotel Kintiki which is basically 18-30 for Germans. They are up all night and very noisy.

Room Tip: We were in room 712 on 7th floor with excellent views over pool and sea. Room nice and clean. Clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had a great stay at Hotel Gran Fiesta in June 2010. The location is perfect (the beach is across the street and the hotel is very close to the shops, bars, and restaurants). Everything was clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This was our second stay in this hotel, so probably we are satisfied with it. The location is unbitable! So close to Palma, as well from the airport. Right on the beach, and in very peaceful area, what suited us perfectly, although we were there with our small kid. The rooms are quite nice, although more 3 stars than 4 stars. Very clean. The breakfast was very good, although it didn't have much with Spanish food. The view from the rooms is perfect, due to the conformation of the hotel (all the rooms have the sea view).
My only complain is that the hotel is completely dedicated to German tourists. I like Germans, but we wanted to stay in Spain for a summer holiday! The staff is so-so, some of them really nice, some of them disinterested. The main problem is that the most of the staff speaking or poor English, or no English at all. This is also the case with reception staff, what is a shame for a 4 star hotel, in a very touristic area. If you are relaxed completely, it's OK, but if you have a problem like we did (sick child), you can not count too much on them, although they simply don't understand you. If you don't know Spanish (I do some thanks God) or German, you might be in a problem. The hotel management has to be aware that not all the tourists are Germans.! One more complain is that there is no free Wi-Fi intenet, only 2 computers in a lobby for whole hotel (one of them very often out of function), and totally overpriced - 3 EURO for half an hour! Apart from that, it is a very good place to stay on Mallorca

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

HM Gran Fiesta is excellently located, only minutes from the beach. I had a great sea view from my balcony and the hotel offered peace and quiet, unlike some of those in the vicinity, which were full of German teenagers. Although the male receptionist appeared unfriendly on arrival, he was lovely and gave me a top floor room as requested, which gave me a great view of the surrounding area.

This hotel caters largely for a German clientele but as I had read the reviews, I was aware of this and it certainly wasn't a problem. Breakfast also geared to German palate -didn't expect to have the opportunity to try pumpernickel in Spain :-). Gran Fiesta is a great hotel for the price and as it is located between the busier "resorts", solo travellers will feel very safe.

If I had anything negative to say , then probably it isn't a four star hotel. Whilst the reception, bar and dining areas are very nice, the rooms are quite "tired" and in need of new carpets etc. The other bug-bear was that I have never in my life seen such small lifts. I'm 5ft and around 8 st yet you could only fit 2 other people in the lift with me. However, these are minor complaints and overall a definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I had booked the hotel Playa Golf through Travelrepublic and the day before i flew they
emailed me to say that my hotel had changed to the Gran Fiesta, no reason was given.

I had stayed at the Gran FIesta last year and wasn't too bothered about the change as
both hotels are as good as each other but the Gran Fiesta is in the quieter area and i
prefer the Balneiro 6 area which is where the Playa golf is as against the Balneiro 11
area of the Gran Fiesta.

Arrived on time with Flybe and caught bus 21 to the Gran Fiesta, 2 euros as usual and
superb value as against the taxi's charging 16 euros or more depending on the drivers
mood.

The Check in desk man ignored me as is usual in Spanish hotels but when he realised
i was just going to stand there until he did something he eventually booked me in and
offered me room 327 and i was away after paying 9 euros(3 returnable) for the 3 days
use of the in room safe.

Room was as good as usual, if you want double beds then your in trouble because
it doesn't look as if they have them, small bathroom with bath/shower etc and a balcony
with a side sea view, the TV is a nice Samsung flat screen and it has Sky news etc.

This was my birthday weekend away and on the Sunday night i was out socialising and
came back to the room at about midnight and a large bottle of Spanish Cava and two
glasses had appeared in my room with a birthday card from the hotel wishing me a
great day, a wonderfully thoughtful thing for them to do as they must have got my
birthday from my passport when checking in.

I was booked in as half board and the food in this place is very good for most people,
some will find fault but that is nothing unusual it seems, the choices were amazing
and for instance on the Saturday night, i had onion soup to start, cuts from a large
joint of Lamb(carved to order) with freshly cooked Asparagus from the grill and baby roast potatoes and for dessert the choices are unbelievable and i had Melon and ice
cream.

Breakfast is typical greasy bacon but if you don't like it, don't eat it, there is so much
other stuff to be had including Scrambled/Fried egg or omelettes cooked to order,
plus white and wholemeal loaves to be sliced yourself, rolls of all types and doughnuts/
cakes etc plus fruit and so many other things. Coffee is brought to your table in a pot
but the teapots are there with decent english breakfast tea bags to make your own.

One thing to be aware of, the EMT bus from Palma to Arenal (no 15 / 25) has gone up
from 1.10 euros per journey last month to 1.25 euros this month, an incease of over
13%.

My thanks to the Hotel and staff for a wonderful 3 nights and i will be back again next
month for another long weekend, flight is booked (subject to the BAA strike next month)
but i need to check prices to see which hotel i stay at this time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynnbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed 15 days in Gran Fiesta Hotel. The rooms are good and very clean. The location is good. We have the beach on the other side of the street. The staff are friendly.
The food is always the same, but is nice. I think for the 4 star hotel they must have carefull with the food, because it's a beat repetitive.
The Island is very beautiful especially the beaches. This is the fourth time that I stay in Maiorca and I always enjoy my holidays.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valquiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.3 mi away
HM Tropical
HM Tropical
#12 of 77 in Playa de Palma
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Balanguera Beach
HM Balanguera Beach
#4 of 77 in Playa de Palma
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
#14 of 77 in Playa de Palma
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#20 of 77 in Playa de Palma
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cristina
IBEROSTAR Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Gran Fiesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Gran Fiesta

Property: HM Gran Fiesta
Address: Calle Marbella 28, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Gran Fiesta 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Gran Fiesta is a 4 star hotel open all year round that offers its clients a pleasant stay by the sea, thanks to its superb location on the beach front of the Playa de Palma. Our restaurant offers breakfast and dinner to our clients. In the evening, you can enjoy live music and professional shows.As well as its 241 fully equipped rooms, all with sea views, the hotel has 2 swimming pools, one of which is indoor and heated, a restaurant in which guests can enjoy buffet style dining, and a snack bar for those who prefer something quick to eat by the pool. The indoor heated pool has a Jacuzzi and sauna. A new conference hall has recently (2010) been opened, which has the capacity to hold up to 50 people and is equipped with the latest in audiovisual technology. AccomodationThere are 241 rooms all with balcony and sea view. All are double altough there is a special price for single occupancy. The check-in is from 14.00 and the check-out 12.00.All are equipped with:- full bathroom- telephone- satellite TV- air conditioning- heating- minibar- safeHM Gran Fiesta a 4* hotel, opened all year situated just in front of the beach and very closed to the airport ( 4 km), is a great option for your holidays to combine beach and city life with Palma just 10 away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HM Gran Fiesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Gran Fiesta Hotel Playa De Palma
HM Gran Fiesta Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing