We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
smartline Lancaster
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
355 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Lancaster is a hub for german youth in the summermonths, so if you are not into silly drunkenness, noise and bad behavior you might want to skip this hotel. Out of season the hotel caters for Mundp Senior, spanish pensioners on their yearly government sponsor trip. German tourists, some french and a few english.

Hotel Lancaster is situated in El Arenal- a lively area in summertime, close to airport, beach and public transportation to palma city. The hotel is in the low end of a 3star hotel, very warn out, old colours and in badly need of some fresh paint, new furniture etc. receptionarea quite small, but big recreational areas which seems quite popular with the guests. Big bar with dancefloor and big pool area.

Rooms are quite dated with old furniture, dirty walls, lightning which requires sunglasses, aircondition which drags foodsmell from the restaurant- smelled like a take away for my 10 day stay. Cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful and provided fresh towels every day. cleaning consisted of a quick wipe of floor and emptying trashcan. I did not have any linnechange or cleaning of toilet for 10 days. bring earplugs as doors slamming all the time. Telly has 3 german, 3 english, 1 french and lots of spanish channels. remotedeposit is EUR20.

Restaurant can be quite busy at peak hours, plenty of foods to choose from and very tasty indeed. Luckily they are quite relaxed about opening hours and take into account that germans eat early and the spanish late which is very good. Restaurant and bar staff were quite friendly and helpful, some even provided a smile and asking if everything was ok- a rare thing on a 3 start hotel in spain.

A note on all-inclusive: its my first year on all-inclusive which for me is a good choice. I am not sure I understand the attitude towards people with wristband. Headwaiter does not care to serve you at all, and plates on the table are not removed- the neighbour table was and they were not AI, Coffee is served in plastic cup and are from a machine, while non-AI gets real coffee in cups, it feels like you become like a second class guest- but I did pay for it all, so I dont really understand the attitude. I dont drink alcohol so I can not comment.

The lancaster earns its 3 stars on its staff which was indeed a nice experience, with a touch up on the decor it would be a very good 3 star choice in El Arenal.

Room Tip: I can only say that I hope hotels in the future will appreciate its singletravellers and provide the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    46
    55
    30
    50
See reviews for
29
83
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of November for a 4 night all inclusive stay.
Really good value for money for the price that we payed.
Check in was very efficient and friendly and we were handed a guide to the hotel, which gave us the valuable information concerning the meal times and the bar opening !
OK - the hotel needs a refurb, but overall it was clean, both in the room and in all of the public areas - no complaints.
Meals were very good with a generous choice both at lunch time and also the evening meal. There was always soup, a huge selection of salads, 4-5 choices of main courses including fish and a vegetarian dish at each meal, with a good selection of vegetables, potatoes, rice, chips, pasta etc. Dessert consisted of a selection of cakes, ice cream, jelly, fruit, creamed rice, just to mention a few. It was help yourself to everything, including the wine, which although not the best, was perfectly adequate to have with your meals.
All the staff we came across were courteous and friendly, even though the restaurant was busy at every sitting. Yes, the majority were Spanish pensioners, but as one of the very few English couples staying at this hotel, it made the break that much better - we did really feel as though we had been transported abroad !
The bar served all the local brands of drinks and despite it being all inclusive, it was no problem getting served at any time of the day.
I think that 4 days was enough to be honest - we tended to make sure that we were around for the lunch, which in some ways was better than the evening meal !
All in all, were were very sceptical when we read the reviews, but had a really good time and would certainly return at this time of the year again. The weather, apart from the day we arrived was sunny, fine and around 20 degrees - in fact it was warm enough to sunbathe on the beach.
The area the hotel is in is perfect for getting the local bus into Palma and relatively cheap at 1.25 euro - we ventured in twice during our stay and reall enjoyed the city.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Positive:
The localization could be worst
The fact that you can park the car outside (with no cost)
Negative:
Room too small
Both room and bathroom need to be redone
Walls as thick as a piece of paper
VERY VERY VERY noisy (german teenagers screaming, kicking, ... always jupping from room to room, unitl 7AM)
Food very basic...
Only 2 slow lifts for too many rooms.
I can't talk about the swimming pool... I didn't tried it
It's a good place if you intend being drunk during your holidays.. otherwise... RUN AWAY! look for other place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

kirkby-in-ashfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and i were booked into the Lancaster for 10 nights from 24/7/2011,what a mistake,arrived at 9.15 pm,no snacks(all inclusive?)full of young roudy Germans,dont even try to sleep between 4.30-6.30 am,no evening entertainment at all on any night,to be fair the hotel staff were very kind and arranged a swap to the hotel palmanova where we had a great time(see our review) in short the hotel Lancaster is clean & friendly but only suitable for young Germans.Kevin & June

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banger1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and apart from it being a little dated is was good food staff friendly and acc ok now listern full of youngstersdrinking all day and then coming in at 4 am and then to approx 6 am seeing who can make the most noise banging doors shouting and running up down corriders with megaphones playing music very loud up the rest is a disaster the entertainment was a diso every night with the music so load you could not hear or hold a conversation without shouting throwing water over people from the balconys and the security did not seem to do anything about it and seemed to hide from the german groups of boys who I observed at least three times throwing sun beds etc into the swimming pool

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsorpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I took my fiancee for a 5 day break from the 14th of February 2011 and we really enjoyed our stay.
We were aware prior to going that there would be mainly Spanish pensioners staying at the hotel but that did not bother us one bit.
The food in our opinion was better than some 4 star hotels we had stayed in and was quite warm as well.
Out towles were changed on a daily basis and the bedding was changed as well.
The drinks although not branded, were of a good quality and did not seem to be watered down. All in all, we had a really chilled five days and would not hesitate going back for a short break in the winter again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just back from a week here. Lots of Spanish pensioners as they have a special deal with the Spanish government. (Half price to them to give them a cheap break and the hotel stays open and keeps its staff employed too)
Good value, good food but could have been warmer. Fish and meat at both evening meal and lunch. Lots of salads, deserts, and a good variety at all meal times. Some food might not be exactly as we would have at home but the bottom line is, we were abroad !!
All inclusive is good value for money.
Animation team, Sam and Aurelia are great. Very helpful and informative. Good fun too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewrinklyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#23 of 77 in Playa de Palma
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristobal Colon
Hotel Cristobal Colon
#17 of 77 in Playa de Palma
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Festival
Hotel Riu Festival
#26 of 77 in Playa de Palma
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#7 of 77 in Playa de Palma
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#38 of 77 in Playa de Palma
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Hur
Ben Hur
#58 of 77 in Playa de Palma
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lancaster

Property: smartline Lancaster
Address: Calle Sant Ramon Nonat 16 | Las Maravillas, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS HOTEL IS TO BE REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ADULTS ONLY (+18) Enjoy Majorca to the fullest and in comfort; this is what we offer you in the smartline Lancaster in relaxing surroundings of Playa de Palma. An ideal place to enjoy yourself with your partner or with friends both in the surroundings of the hotel, in Playa de Palma, and taking advantage of all the offers of the capital - Palma de Majorca. The smartline Lancaster*** is located on the Playa de Palma only 300 metres from the beach, 6,5 km from the airport and 12 km from the centre of Palma. The hotel disposes of 318 rooms with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe (extra charge), bath, shower, toilet. The hotel also has 1 adults' pool and offers a varied program of entertainment for adults. Nearby the hotel, in the area of Playa de Palma, you will find a great range of additional water and sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your smartline Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel El Arenal
Smartline Lancaster Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing