We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel, horrible atmosphere for the brits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa
Ranked #54 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel, horrible atmosphere for the brits”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

NOT FOR BRITISH PEOPLE!! PLEASE READ
arrived at the hotel, it looked absolutely beautiful, was given our room number but werent allowed to go in as maids were still cleaning... rooms were absolutely lovely, quite modern, flat screen tv and decent decor, cream walls and laminate flooring, loads of storage and a nice little dressing table - room 101!! not long after arriving at the hotel we established it was a german hotel in a german resort, the germans were so rude and frowned upon us, we had a 5 month old baby and they all pushed past us to get in the lift - not heard of first come forst serve, so most of the time we carried the baby in the buggy up and down the stairs. the whole of playa de palma caters mainly for the germans, all the restaurant and bars too :/ would not reccommend for anyone british... anyway after spending a couple of days at the hotel we decided to use the spa which cost 10euros.. i went to the roon to get baby to sleep and my younger sister came rushing into the room saying that all the germans were in the spa naked, so i went down to reception to see what it was all about and they said that after 4pm they have a nude club... but there werent any signs in english to let us know of this obscenity... i made a complaint and reception gave us all a refund then typed up a notice in english... NOT FOR BRITISH PEOPLE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fairyprincess_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    48
    31
    15
    5
See reviews for
25
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Have been visiting this area and these appartments since the 1990's. Always have a wonderful stay. The views are amazing, especially at night when the bay is all lit up. Over the road from the beach and surrounded by great restaurants. The higher the floor the better the view. The appartments had been refurbed since the last time we visited and my first reaction was Wow! The appartments are basic but clean and every appartment has a balcony with a bay view. 10 mins from airport and Palma where you can get a bus anywhere on the island. Can't wait to go back again. Home from home for us now.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We recently stayed here in the Pil-Lari Apartments, fairly out of season but that didn't stop us! Rooms were clean, spacious and all had amazing views of the beach/sea and local area - and such an amazing view at night with all the lights. The bus (21) from the Airport stops right outside the hotel front (which is the side opposite to the beach) and check in was easy and we soon settled into our rooms. Buses 15/25 go to Palma and Arenal - this being where we spent most of our days, lots of lovely little shops, street market on a Thursday until 1pm, English bars with English food (the sportsman liverpool bar, does great cheap British food too!) - as yes this area is mainly catered for the German market! Also a bar/restaurant on the front called "El Bistro" had amazing food at really good prices - ask for the specials, and China Ming down a side street but well signposted was the nicest chinese! And for 5 people with drinks both means cost 55 euros which was brilliant compared to the rip off food prices in Palma centre.

Being out of season night life was quiet at the hotel, but theres a little cocktail bar just out the back (beach side) of the hotel called make-up, and lots of little souvenier shops here that stay open quite late! For a really good night, we recommend "Mega Park" halfway between Pil-Lari and Arenal, I recommend getting the bus from the hotel as it's quite a walk!! But we had a brilliant time, German songs being Oktoberfest - but everyone was on tables dancing and around the aisles, really good atmosphere!!

The kitchenettes in the rooms are BASIC - probably only downfall, we had 2 hobs and a kettle, plus a fridge and that was it so ate out most of the week. If you go out the front of the hotel and cross the road and go left, theres a parade of shops - keep walking to the end and on the corner out of sight is the "Eroski" centre which is the local supermarket, best prices here for alcohol to take home if wanted! Also lovely breads, fruit/veg etc at reasonable prices, however the Eroski supermarkets can be found anywhere - and if buying water, get that from one of the little shops out the back on the hotel so you're not carrying it so far. Cigarette shop is out the back by the pool and go right past the spa shop etc and this was the most stocked one we saw in the whole area - all prices are the same and much cheaper than those at the airport!!

To get upto the other ends we either got the bus, or the little train - 4 euros for a return journey per person, takes you to Arenal or C'an Pastillas which had some quaint little boutique shops and bakeries - plus this end appeared to have more bars etc for those seeking nightlife! Also Magaluf via bus is around 40 minutes and 4.50 euro one way (as someone from the hotel ventured over but said it was VERY quiet by the end of October and a taxi back was v expensive!)

All in all, I really enjoyed my holiday here and would return - probably in September so I was more in season, but was perfect for the relaxing holiday I was after with sun, amazing views and great food from the places listed above :) Was easy to barter with the shops/markets being out of season, so if they'd say a price and we'd walk off it would quickly get reduced!! We also got on well with the staff here, the food menu is basic but the food on there was really tasty and reasonably priced - with lovely cocktails too!

Room Tip: No point paying for "superior" as it's the same as standards except a bathrobe & t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tigger462_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel itself was immaculate and clean lovely big balconies and fantastic view.
Ask for a top floor room.
Hotel is Right on the beachfron which is fab
Beds were fairly comfy and the rooms had everthing you required fridge etc....
Bus 15 and 25 goes to Palma from the front of the hotel, Palma is nice and pretty and a 15 min bus ride roughly.
The playa de plama area however caters for the Germans and German foods.. we struggled to find any food that appealed to us at the local restarants each night. Mostly full of drunk Germans but I guess maybe this is the German 'Magaluf' this side.

Go to palmanova the other side of the island its beautiful.
any questions email me guys I'm honest this was my second trip to Majorca and I much preferred the Palmanova area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sljl060908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice if you want to be near the beach and the bars. If you expect any kind of service, dont go there. And if you want a temperature below 40' celcius at night, you should find a hotel with aircon or fan in the room. We'll never come back, nor recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Voss Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just came back from a 7 night stay in this hotel, and I would not reccomend this for people with children or for those who like to go to bed before midnight. Due to the central location of the hotel, it is extremely noisy during the day and evening. Playa de Palma is a German holiday resort, and they play really loud German "ompa pop" music until midnight !
The rooms are tiny and not very nicely decorated,and the kithcenette are very poorly equipped. That was ok for me, since I was travelling alone and had a 3 bed room, but my travel companions were 2 adults and a child in the same size apartment , and it was really packed. None of the rooms had air-condition, and were extremely hot, it is absolutely advisable to bring or buy your own fan !!
I had asked for a room on the top floors and got a confirmation that I would get this, but when checking in they had placed me on one of the lower floors, and the very unfriendly receptionist pretended he did not understand what I was talking about. The same receptionist refused to lend me 2 extra glasses one evening when I had friends visiting. I had towels changed every second day, but they did not change the beds during the 7 days I stayed there, and I don`t think the room was cleaned, at least not properly.. The bathroom was nice, but had a strong mouldy smell. All of the balconies at the hotel are facing the beach, and have a very nice view. This is probably the only hotel in Playa de Palma without ligthing on the balconies, so it is impossible to sit and read there in the evening. The reception area were recently redecorated, not very tastful, but looks clean and spacious. The rest of the hotel could do with the same refurbishment. The hotel are probably ok for travellers without children, and it is okay if you don`t expect much more than a bed and a nice view!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimegsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our small group really enjoyed a week in this hotel, which is cleverly built so that every room faces the beach. From the 10th floor, the view was magnificent - wonderful sunsets. It was nice to fall asleep to the sound of the sea, in a very comfortable bed. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean, tho' cleaning was every second day and not daily. There are convenient trash cans on every floor for sorting and emptying trash yourself. Every room has a small kitchen area that suffices for making breakfast or simple meals. There are two Spar stores very nearby that are not overpriced and have just about everything one could need. There is an excellent pizzeria with Italian cooks and very reasonable prices right next door. The staff is very helpful. There is a bus stop right outside and Palma is easy and inexpensive to reach via express bus (highly recommended as the local bus takes a very long time to get to downtown). The world-class aquarium is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The beach is impeccably maintained and there is a nice beach bar. The hotel is in a reasonably quiet area, distant from Ballermann. My only small criticisms: the bathtub (with shower head) has a very concave bottom and there is no grab bar. A final thought: I would probably not want to be anywhere in this area during the high season. We were here in the 2nd week of May and the summer tidal wave of tourists had not yet set in. I am thinking of going back in the fall, or maybe next year early in the season.

Room Tip: The only difference between a regular and a deluxe room is a few small amenities that do not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GenieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.2 mi away
HSM Golden Playa
HSM Golden Playa
#30 of 77 in Playa de Palma
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#20 of 77 in Playa de Palma
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Playa Hotel
Riviera Playa Hotel
#72 of 77 in Playa de Palma
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
#17 of 77 in Playa de Palma
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Tropical
HM Tropical
#12 of 77 in Playa de Palma
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Gran Fiesta
HM Gran Fiesta
#28 of 77 in Playa de Palma
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa

Property: Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa
Address: Calle Marbella 24, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Pil-lari Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Pil-Lari Playa Hotel Playa De Palma
Apartamentos Pil-Lari Playa Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing