We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by staff !”
Review of THB El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THB El Cid
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very clean Hotel , poor Hot breakfast , good if you like fruit etc, terrible HARD beds, worst problem is VERY POOR RUDE staff. Especially the Bar Manager! Bar was empty, asked for a cocktail for my wife, waiter very helpful tried to show us, bar Manager rudely told us you cannot stand here !
We politely left the bar . I wonder why the Hotel bar is always empty ? Sack him now !
Manager should take a look at this, we only stayed a weekend, glad we did not book a week !

Room Tip: Find another Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Peter,

Thanks for your opinion because is very important for us to improve, we are so sorry about your bad experience at the bar, we will take actions on this issue because we do not want it to happen anymore.
We would be grateful if you gave us a second chance and visit us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came home few days ago from 1 week holiday at El Cid hotel.
I´m very pleased we chose this hotel. It´s located right on the long beach in a quiet area of Can Pastilla.
Hotel´s guests were mostly in middle age or older people. There were peaceful atmosphere at the hotel (no running kids or drunken young people).
We asked to have our two rooms in higher floor and hoped them to be close to each other, because we traveled with two teenagers. They carried out our wishes by putting us almost beside each other in 5th floor, with beautiful beach view on sunset side.
Everybody of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, special thanks to lady in buffet restaurant,
she was always in such a good mood, smiling and talking to people at the same time she was roasting eggs and steaks really quickly.
Hotel was clean and it offers free wifi. there were also free parking area behind the gate for hotels quests. Refrigerator was big enought, hair dryer was brand new and air condtioning worked very fine.
We had full board, which means 3 buffet meals without drinks. (Breakfast 8.00-10.30, lunch 13.00-15.30 and dinner 19.00-21.30). There were lot of delicious food to eat and it was really wort of having it.
Bus stop was around the corner. Bus to the airport takes 5-10 min and it cost 3e.
Bus number 15 and 25 goes to Palma City (nr 25 goes faster by motorway, it takes about 15 min and cost 1,50e). If you like to go to the shopping area, leave the bus one stop after Placa d ´Espanya, you will find El Corte Ingles department house. Then go towards Placa Olivar, there is lots of little shops in walking streets.
If you have time take the train from Palma City to Sollier, or hire a car and drive to Formentor, there in a stunning view and a beautiful beach with the crystal clear sea.
There is many beautiful beaches around the island. El Cid hotel is situeded within easy access of everywere. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Elpor,

We apreciate very much your kind words about us and we hope see you soon again.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just come back from the El Cid. The location is 2nd to none for beach lovers which suited us fine. The swimming pools are great and always seemed to have free sunbeds. The rooms were well furnished and the beds were so comfortable and just like my bed at home. The restaurant is so busy and the tables were very close together. I would go back though.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a full sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LUSIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you nice words, and we are also glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
We also hope to see you soon in your next holidays.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely hotel in perfect location right on the beach. Rooms comfortable and fantastic view from sea view rooms overlooking pool and beach.Food good and plentiful.Staff efficient and friendly but reception staff who were not so helpful and a little offhanded.

Room Tip: Sea view room is amust
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your nice words about our establishment. We will try to work harder for your next stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our five days in May were marred only by the unacceptable level of sound from the disco/bar directly below our room (no. 106). Rooms on other floors, or over other parts of the hotel, were probably spared. Otherwise everything was perfect, with decent breakfasts and dinners and a clean, well-maintained room with excellent bed. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms 104-110 , and possibly others on first floor, are to be avoided. Try to be as far as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Julius,

Thanks very much for your kind words about our establishment and staff, regarding the noise next time would be good if you told to the reception your problem and if we had available rooms we would be able to change you, we work for make your holidays better. We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived back home yesterday ( April 27th 2014 ) after a short 3 day break , as mentioned in other reviews it seems like the hotel caters for cycling events , so lots of people in their cycling outfits walking around and they are a great bunch of respectable people , the hotel is ideally located directly opposite the beach and close to all amenities , the staff seemed fine , rooms are spacious and clean and the food is superb , both outdoor pools are large with plenty of space around them , there is an indoor pool too . We hired a couple of bikes for the day for 10 euros each and rode on a designated cycle track into palma , an excellent day ! We Enjoyed the hotel and would return again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mikey1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Mikey,

We are very proud to hear you comments, and are happy that you had a good expereinece in our hotel. We look forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed end April for 3 nights, check-in smooth and quick, room on top floor (615) with view overlooking front pool and sea.. Clean room and nice sized bathroom with full bath and bidet.. In room safe but extra charge, but nice sized fridge. TV had just 2 english channels.. Good sized balcony. Air con apparently not available til beginning of May. Breakfast in the mornings was super - lots of fresh fruit, cereals, bacon, sausages and choice of eggs, including freshly fried eggs and omlettes.. Hotel seemed busy but no queues for any food even at peak times.. Buffet dinners were excellent, with different themes each evening. Plentiful steaks, chicken and fish, and nice choice of sweets. Entertainment on each night - bit basic, but entertaining particularly the dance duo featuring dances from around the world. All staff friendly and helpful. Easy walk of several supermarkets for local Beers (under 2 euros a litre) .. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the sea. We emailed hotel prior to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THB El Cid H, Gerente at THB El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks very much for your nice coment. We appreciate so much your opinion and hope to see you soon in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
7.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Portals Nous
10.0 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
690 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.2 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#4 of 15 in Canyamel
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
AluaSoul Palma
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB El Cid

Address: Calle Vaixell 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £62 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB El Cid 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he hotel has 210 rooms and 6 suites, all featuring incredible views of the sea, fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer, terrace, telephone, air-conditioning, satellite television, mini-bar, safety deposit box, etc. plus all the services you would expect from tourist accommodation of this category, such as a gymnasium, sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium, snack bar, lounge bar, internet connection, dinning room with buffet service, show cooking and conference room. It also features three swimming pools (one heated), garden tennis court, bicycle workshop, client parking, volley ball and table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb El Cid Hotel Playa De Palma
THB El Cid Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing