We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff!”
Review of HM Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HM Tropical
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel is in a superb location, as you just have to cross the street to a lovely beach. The swimming pool is superb with lots of room to lounge nearby. The food was plentiful, delicious and freshly cooked, with a pasta chef serving at each meal, in addition to the normal buffet. There were lots of desserts and fresh fruit to choose from at each meal. The room was perfect with a great sea view. Best of all was the hotel staff who were all charming and helpful at all times and extremely patient in their dealings with children who were staying, in particular. The restaurant manager, the bar staff and the people on reception did everything they could to make our stay really special and I would not hesitate to return to the hotel and would unreservedly recommend it to my friends and family.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tess500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for HM Tropical
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

I came across this hotel by chance and was delighted by it. All the staff, from the manager to the reception, restaurant and bar staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, going out of their way to maximise the guests' enjoyment with a real eye for detail. There was a good choice of food, all well prepared and presented, with plenty of variety throughout the week. The hotel seems to attract a lot of Italian guests, which gave a pleasant Italian slant to some of the dishes and ensured fresh pasta was available every night prepared by a specialist chef. The rooms are a good size, clean and with efficient air conditioning. All rooms have a degree of sea view as all the side room balconies slant towards the sea. If you want a full sea view you would have to specify it and presumably pay a supplement. There is a good size pool with separate children's area and plenty of loungers around the pool and in a separate area at the front of the hotel. From the hotel you walk straight out onto the promenade and beach. It's a good stretch of beach, part with sunshades and pedalos, part just nice clean sand. There is a lifeguard on duty on the beach and swimming seemed safe. There are plenty of nearby shops and public transport is good both into Palma (the 15 and the faster 25 buses) and to/from the airport (the 21.) I was worried that this hotel might be in the part of Playa de Palma towards El Arenal which becomes a sort of little Germany, territory for heavy drinking and loud night-time behaviour. But it's not - it seemed to be family orientated around here and was quiet at night. As you can tell, I had a great time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pool side: good view but noise from the pool / entertainments. Non pool side: decent side sea view...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ric012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel for the excellent restaurant, great location, helpful staff and clean rooms. The pool and pool area are pleasant and there is certainly plenty of space to sit / lounge and swim. The beach is literally over the road. The rooms are clean and more than adequate, although I would specify a sea view if you want one. The restaurant is large and bright, and the food is excellent, with plenty of choice to cater for all tastes. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and on several occasions they went out of their way to assist the needs of our party. The other guests were mainly Italian or German, and some staff spoke little English, but this was not a problem. I would definitely return to this hotel as it offers good value and good service.

Room Tip: Although all rooms have a sea view of sorts, some look out over a side road, so specify that you wan...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireJane867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is was my first time on Mallorca, so I have no idea what other hotels in the area are like, but this hotel impressed me with how clean it was (including room and amenities). The enterior of the room was very basic and somewhat worn out, but it didn't bother us because of (yet again) how clean everything was. The only complaint was that there was no fridge in the room, and that was a huge inconvenience. We had a front sea view, which was spectacular. Watching the sea replaced watching TV since all channels were in German or Spanish (except for BBC news, but I don't like watching news while on vacation). The hotel is mostly occupied by middle age and senior Germans, with only a few young adults like us, so it was nice and quite. We took BB, but should have gone with HB or all-inclusive. Breakfasts were good, with a lot of fresh fruit and sometimes even with champagne and freshly squeezed juice, so I imagine lunches and dinners were even better. There is no good food to eat in Palma de Playa (or it actually depends on what you like I guess), and it's pretty pricey for its quality. The beach cafe serves pretty good coctails and sangria at a reasonable price. Bus stop is 2-minute walk away. I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get front or side sew view (should overlook the swimming pool or promenade) because on...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dariya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hello everyone,
Me & my partner Julie stayed for one week all inclusive here during the end of May,arived about 11-00am & after a easy check-in with the friendly reception girl we put our luggage in a locked room & were told we could use the bar or go for snacks & our room would be ready in a hour.

Weather wasnt great being cloudy & cool so we had a relax with a coffee & got our key to room 127 over looking the pool,all rooms have a sea-view but a room on the poolside gets the best of the sunshine.The room itself was spotless & roomy with a tv which only gets Sky News channel thats in English.The hotel itself is very well run & imaculate & most of the staff are really nice & friendly but a few dont speak very good English as the hotel is 99% German.

The food was realy good,always hot,with a wide choice,breakfasts were a bit of a let down with weird German sausages & no beans apart from two mornings but had no problem with lunch & dinner,be prepered to put a bit of weight on with the deserts to die for!
The all-inclusive drinks package was a lot differant to what we are used to in a English hotel,same beer or lagar but no cocktails,malibiu,baileys,tia-maria.Mostley whiskey,brandy ,schnaps & other drinks you havnt heard of.

Was easy to get a sunbed by the pool but best to put your towels on them on the way to breakfast to get a good spot.If you prefer the beach its only a few steps over the road & loverly & clean.

The resort itself is aslo very German on the whole,cant remember hearing another English accent all week,most food & drink menus are only wriiten in German & you do feel a bit of an outcast at times.We normally holiday in Palma-Nova & found Playa da Palma a lot more expensive than whar we're used to.

Looking at the bigger picture it was a ok holliday & if th HM Tropical was in Palma-Nova we would go back,but wont be returning to Playa da Palma!

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpiemac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay at HM Tropical, whih we booked all inclusive for a very reasonable price. Hotel, clean; room basic, but clean; food excellent; drinks good! Most staff very friendly and helpful. No entertainment in or around hotel, bit it is fine for a chill ou Found a wee pub, The Rat Pack, about 10 minute walk from hotel. Owners very welcoming and friendly, played good music. Although not busy, had great time. The hotel and resort is mostly German, but have nos issues with that. Would definately return and recommend for a chill out!

Room Tip: Rooms to the left, balconies facing up the main street, but get sun from first thing in morning. Po...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gracie039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at HM Tropical. Hotel is on an excellent location right opposite the very long sandy beach. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, rooms were a good size and all have sea view. We chose the all inclusive option and was very glad we did. The food was all freshly cooked and was constantly replenished no matter how late we decided to eat. The staff were all very friendly and keen to help. This is a predominantly German resort but if you want a high quality get away from it all holiday then it doesn't get much better than this. Sadly no evening entertainment but we were out of season so was to be expected. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.3 mi away
HM Gran Fiesta
HM Gran Fiesta
#27 of 78 in Playa de Palma
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cristina
IBEROSTAR Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Balanguera Beach
HM Balanguera Beach
#4 of 78 in Playa de Palma
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Tropical

Address: C Marbella 16, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £64 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HM Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Tropical Hotel Playa De Palma
Hm Tropical Playa De Palma
HM Tropical Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing