We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nice!”
Review of HM Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HM Tropical
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just nice!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Would I recommend HM Tropical to anyone else? The answer would sadly be NO! It was just alright, clean and close to a great beach, yet atmospherically dull and lacking. Even on the World Cup night no excitement could be mustered, however there were nearby bars which sounded more energetic. The food was nice, but bland and there was not enough Spanish morsels to try. We went all inclusive and were sadly made to feel like second class citizens. I love cocktails, which I only have when on holiday and strongly suggest the hotel invest in an ice crusher, 2 large ice cubes in a cocktail, served up in a paper cup just doesn't make for feel like you're in paradise. Having stayed in other 4 star, all inclusive hotels, the HM Tropical felt more 3 star and just nice and lacking those special holiday sprinkles that gives a guest a memorable holiday and feel good factor.
Learnt tips would be:
Take your own beach towel.
Very reasonable and well stocked supermarket opposite the hotel.
Ample complementary shampoo and shower gel in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v4myk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    178
    59
    26
    15
See reviews for
99
186
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We read so many reviews prior to booking our holiday, and were confused by the seemingly polarised view of this hotel! Having been, I can understand it from both sides.
It is refreshing to avoid a long transfer time.
The front sea views are amazing and the side views poor (literally staring at a half finished car park) - so you must try and get a sea view if possible.
The hotel seemed clean and the air con worked.
The food is plentiful and a reasonable variety, but not amazing and probably not 4 star. We stayed at Hotel Camp De Mar (same star rating) last year and the food there was literally ten times better, so your opinion on the food will vary with past experience! It was ok though - we never went hungry, always managed (several) platefuls and the wine and beer were fine for us. The reception staff were friendly and helpful in our experience, but the waiting staff were a bit grumpy. The bar staff varied - some, if you made an effort to speak Spanish, would become very friendly. Others acted like they resented you ordering!
We went to the beach everyday and bit the bullet on the cost of a sun lounger - you pay extra for a parasol so think if you need one and if not, drag a sun lounger out in the sun and save some money. Brace yourself for incessant cries of 'looky kooky', 'helllooo massage' and 'COCO, PINEAPPLE, ANANAS, MELONNNN' literally all day on the beach though! Obviously not the hotels fault, but irritating and according to the beach signs - prohibited.
WiFi is expensive but it was cheaper for us to use our data roaming package (O2) which worked great for us.
We sat on the beach most nights, but occasionally viewed the entertainment which varied from laughing at to laughing with, but was ok as you can take it or leave it!
There are a lot of Germans there, but I don't see that as an issue. People are people regardless of perceived cultural stereo types and even so - I would rather be on holiday with a 'typical' German than a typical Brit! And I am British!!
So, in summary - get a sea view, don't expect 4 star food, make an effort with the staff and take earphones to the beach and enjoy the AMAZING location, which is probably worth paying for in itself. I would go back, if I could get a good deal.

Room Tip: Get a sea view - absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesell4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently a Group of friends travelled to Mallorca. We booked rooms with a side ocean view and a pool view. Guess what? None of the rooms had the promised and paid for views. After half of our Holidays were over, one room was able to relocate to the appropriate room type, the other could not. The reception told us why don,t you Switch sleeping in the newly assigned room.
A Special mention has to be made about two female receptionists who made this comment, they very rude ruder it would not be possible. Service? Never.
The other room neithzer had pool nor Ocean view but a nice construction site in front of the room. We were never informed that there would be construction.
We booked all inclusive meaning, room, breakfast Lunch and Dinner as well as alcoholic beverages.
of course after we checked in we wanted to order some beers to celebrate our arrival. No we were told. We could have dinner as part of the package but alcohol would start the next day. Why was not explained. After we paid for this package we assumed that once you check in you can start using the paid for package. Not at this hotel be aware they rip you off.
Our rooms were in a terrible filthy state, loose wires hanging from the ceiling and toilets that were barely touched by cleaning if you can call it as such. The food was mostly to forget and tasted rather bland and bad. Travellers should vote with their feet and avoid this rip off place so the owner can be along with his sour and surly staff and does not need to serve these terrible paying guests. Ola

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BangkokDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We've chosen this hotel based on positive comments but we were unpleasantly surprised by the reality. I'm not a spoiled person and don't complain easily but of course I wasn't happy to pay quite a lot for a hotel considered to be 4 star while I would rate it 2,5 stars. Really - very small room (for two persons), with minimum what they can offer and even less. Dust on lamps, wooden parts of mirror and beds, broken balcony door, TERRIBLE food. Seriously, how people can praise that tasteless food? They only use salt, no herbs or something. The choice is very little for 4* hotel. The staff were friendly, true but you are there not to talk to the staff but to enjoy your holidays that you deserved by working hard and paying quite a good money for this hotel. The location is good but you have to pay too much if that's the only good thing you get. And prices for umbrellas and bed on the beach - my gosh, are they crazy? We advise to buy paraplu, get beach towel with you and save those money for going to Aquarium for example :) What can I say - we will definitely will never go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a room faced to the road - quite noisy with balcony open but I suppose on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Public Relations Manager at HM Tropical, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Client,
we are sorry to hear that your stay didn't fulfill your wishes and expectations. We are always keen on positive as well as negative criticism in order to improve constantly. We wish you the best.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was booked as a last minute change - due to its 'sister' hotel HM Gran Fiesta being overbooked. What an amazing change! Had the best ever 3 day (1st wedding anniversary) break... Have never been to Mallorca and was a little surprised at my husbands choice but cannot wait to return now. From arriving at the airport, to departing, I cannot fault one thing. We are a couple (25 and 34), 2 kids (6 and 2 - left with grandparents!) who enjoy a drink and laugh.
We got the 21 bus from the airport (no instructions, just walked out to the bus area and found one waiting) and we were at the front of the hotel within 15 minutes, saving us 15E on the cab. Walking into the hotel I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and modern it looked, and the view from the back window was amazing. Checked in easily (10am) - room wasn't ready until 2, but we were given all inclusive bands to enjoy the facilities immediately – bags in a special locked room (room ready by 11.30!) Staff were amazing and friendly. Sat drinking sangrias by the beautiful pool. Not very packed (early June) although you must reserve beds early if you want them (rent towels from reception 10E each but stay on your beds all day - even though sign says you can't, EVERYONE does leave towels on beds). Room was beautiful and clean, although sea view was a little lacking (room 111, all first floor is limited view). Beautiful glass door bathroom (frosted), lovely strong shower, lots of hot water, hairdryer. Flat screen TV (only News in English but ok for background noise). Pillows were great - not sure what other reviews were on about!
Lunch, whilst simple, had a lot of choice (fine for what we had paid and for the options available). Fresh fried chicken and fish, fresh meats and cheeses, pasta, salads, fruit etc… When lunch (1.30-3.30 I think) finished, snacks started (4.15-5.15?) a sandwich toaster, fresh meats and cheeses, fruits and cakes etc…. Dinner was again fresh meat/fish, pasta, chips cheese, salad, potatoes, vegetables (chicken schnitzel and veal stew one night – fab). Deserts by the way are AMAZING – I put on 4lbs in 3days – says it all (stay away from chocolate profiteroles!!) Basic all inclusive, but all tasty and well cooked. Wine was AWFUL in restaurant, as mentioned in another review. Get drinks from the bar to take in if you need, rest of drinks are lovely in restaurant. Whilst all inclusive cocktails from the bar were not the same as the paid-for ones (no crushed ice or tall glasses) they were strong and tasty. Saw no favouritism over non all-inclusive customers – in fact, be friendly and you will be served first! Spirits were expensive brands (if not, the second best), sangria was strong and tasty, beer was San Miguel on tap etc….
Next morning, breakfast was SUPERB! Bacon, eggs, fresh breads and toast, fruits, churros (YES!), fresh crepes (AND CARAMEL AND CHOCOLATE SAUCES!) FRESH fruits juice (no powdered stuff as I have previously read, it was lovely).
The staff were amazing, the animation guy was SOOOO friendly. Yes it wasn’t the best entertainment package, but he did what we needed – couldn’t fault him at all! Bar staff were friendly (PEDRO amazing), reception couldn’t do enough!
One problem was the WiFi – 10E a day!!! Sneaky tip (NOT FROM ME ;))– go round the pool, you can pick up free WiFi from other places!
Yes, the hotel was very German, and we were the ONLY English speaking people (staff speak it very well) but it was no problem at all. Main age of people is 25+, and very couple orientated, but as it got busier lots of children turned up and were entertained (although I wouldn’t return with my kids as not enough to do – personal opinion). Lots of older couples too – although don’t be put off, I spent 3 days drinking, laughing and having fun – and was not put off by anyone else.
Beach is LITERALLY ten steps from the end of the HOTEL – beautiful, but no watersports or rentals for about 20/30 min walk. Most close bars are German, and whilst friendly, we missed chatting to other English people. We found the ‘Manchester Bar’ one night, but that is another story!!!
As an extra, when booking initially I was struggling between here and HM Gran Fiesta – I definitely made the right choice. We went for a drink in Gran Fiesta one night to compare, and it was so OVER crowded, and packed out – seemed much more manic, and filled with kids and tired parents, whereas Tropical seemed more relaxed and fun. The pool was better here too!
Sorry for the long review - but I spent so long trying to decide if I had picked the right hotel that I wanted to make sure I had answered all the questions I had when looking at TA! Hope this helps..... Would definetely go back - 110% Had imagined a slight 'Benidormy' feel to the Island, and it was totally crushed - AMAZING BREAK! Thankyou HM Tropical x

Room Tip: Towels on beds early (ignore the sign!), bottles of CAVA are available AI - don't forget! Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xxSLKxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Public Relations Manager at HM Tropical, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your very detailed and long review. We always try our best and want to show our clients that we care about them. For us every review is important, but yours especially makes us also a little bit proud. Hopefully all our clients are as happy and pleased as you are. We hope to welcome you in the future again and wish you all the best for the future.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvalstad
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotell is located at a nice and quite part of Playa de Palma. The beach is just across the road (without traffic) and is not busy at all (beginning of June).
The rooms are modern, beds are good and the seaview is great!
Pool area is clean and inviting. The restaurant offers a good selection of food for both breakfast and dinner. Staff is friendly and serviceminded. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel the beginnig of May . All rooms have sea views , very clean and modern throughout , staff were very friendly and helpfull. Great choice of food both at breakfast and dinner . Pool area was exceptional , over looking the sea. And with activities all day like archery , shooting etc there was no chance of getting bored .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davegdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Gran Fiesta
HM Gran Fiesta
#30 of 77 in Playa de Palma
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Balanguera Beach
HM Balanguera Beach
#4 of 77 in Playa de Palma
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
#19 of 77 in Playa de Palma
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Tropical

Property: HM Tropical
Address: Calle Marbella 16 | C'an Pastilla, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HM Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Tropical Hotel Playa De Palma
Hm Tropical Playa De Palma
HM Tropical Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing