We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarage,def not coming back,very noisy”
Review of Grupotel Orient

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grupotel Orient
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We checked in very late around 11 pm.The reception looked great,receptionist very nice,we paid for safe i think 1.50 eur / day plus 3 eur deposite,so not very expensive. You recive 2 electronic cards so that's ok. A/C worked. First night we find out that the walls are so thin,we heard our neibourghs 2 german women speaking very loud,with tv very loud and it was 2 am,they were very drunk and you could here them vomiting like they were with you in the room!!! Disgusting! I called our travel agent she spoke with ppl at the reception and they changed our room, we hoped it will help. Nope, our new neighbours decided to have ... At 4 am when they returned from party and with music loud,in 1 week we slept around 10 hours,very noisy with a lot of Germans 90%, young men 20-30per group screaming,singing,drinking from 9 am until 6 am next day,with megaphones, really crazy!!!there were also older ppl in the hotel. Food was very good,esp dinner,staff very
friendly,speaking english,helpful, room cleaned every day,towels changed when you needed, simply you just let them in the bath and they gave you new. Didn't try swimming pool because there where a lot of groups of screaming Germans so we went every day to the beach,is like 10 min walking from the hill or shorter way is through Taurus Hotel,they are connected.
I will recommend this hotel to ppl who wanna party and don't wanna sleep.I will not return to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ioanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

I came for a relaxing break and it was far from that, the hotel was full of groups of all men or all women and some not that young, but still very noisy. Because I didnt speak German I found the staff unhelpful if though I did speak a little spanish, the room was ok but did wake up with bites on the first night so slept on top of the bed after that
Spent the days down on the beach at can pastilla because of the noise of the beach by the hotel
The spa at the adjoining Playa Palma suites was nice and at a discounted price for those staying at the orient was the only positive thing to say

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caretenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The hotel is very pleasant, well located within a 5 minute walk of the beach and a supermarket. The staff are mainly (!) friendly and helpful and great with the kids. The breakfast is nice. We upgraded to half board from b&b - and I wouldnt have been mad about the evening meal. The kids liked it, especially the desserts. The room was small enough for 3 of us but it was cleaned every day and the air conditioning was excellent and badly needed in the heat. The bathroom was fine and they supplied toilitries and you could get the towels changed as required. However beware, the walls are thin! The pool was lovely and clean with a nice pool side bar. The hotels main bar was also nice with a choice of indoors with air con or outdoors. There was entertainment and night which was hit and miss. Overall I'd say it was good value for money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy_Irish_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed here for four days in August. It is very close to the airport (16 euros taxi fare, ten-minute ride). It is set back from the beach and the main drag, the pool area is fine and clean, and there's a reasonable bar. It is virtually part of the Taurus Park, as access is by a covered walkway. There is a great supermarket down the road (a Mercadona), and a small mini market across the road from Taurus Park for water, etc. Staff are lovely, and the place is spotless. We arrived early, and they gave us complimentary coffee while we were waiting to get into our rooms. The rooms could do with a little renovation but they were clean and a reasonable size, with air con and a TV. The bathoom is by the terrace, which means you don't get the usual drain smells that seem to haunt Spanish hotels! Come here for the food - they make a real effort to cater for everyone but they also offer Mallorcan specialties every night, and one of the nights there was a special Mallorcan night. They really know how to cook fish here - this is one of the few hotels where fish wasn't overcooked and the range was super. Lots of salads, fruit, hot and cold dishes, cooked to a very good standard.

However, it deteriorates at night, largely due to rowdy groups of males. Police had to be called most nights, and that was just in our corridor so you can imagine how rough it was generally - lots of shouting, banging of doors, stuff thrown from balconies, but you could say that about probably every hotel in the area, which caters to German and now Eastern European tourists. So bring ear plugs and expect to be woken every night. God only knows what some of those people were doing, and it can be very intimidating. On the plus side, they appear to spend most of the day time sleeping so it is quite peaceful during the day.

We would recommend Palma of course (get 23 bus) and the Aquarium which costs around 18 euros but you could spend hours there, it's super.

So, all in all, a decent hotel, super food, and nice staff, shame about the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank C0mputerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We have just returned from spending the Easter weekend at this hotel. The hotel is located in Playa de Palma between Can Pastilla and Arenal. As you may know this stretch of Majorca is virtually a German colony and as such 90% of the hotels guests are German.
we thought the hotel was good value for money but the rooms were very small with extremely poor sound isolation, so if you are easily woken by the sound of booming German voices in the corridors at 2 a.m then this is not the place for you.
Half board was the only option available and again for the money we paid (60 euros a night for two) one can not really complain. The breakfast buffet is ver good but the evening meal was a bit tired and repetitive. We stuck it for three nights but I guess any longer and you would be forced to find an alternative.
Similarly the "entertainment" in the hotel bar in the evenings was not really top notch but again at 60 euros a night we weren't really expecting Las Vegas.
The sister hotel Grupotel Taurus Park is located alongside and they share some facilities - the indoor pool and the gym. The Orient has no food facilities outside the morning and evening buffet so you have to use the snack bar at the Taurus park

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank linneamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
hofheim germany
110
Reviewed 14 August 2004

Stayed at the Orient in late August 2003, nice property, great food. Backside of hotel was construction so the view wasn't all that. Quite location about 600 meters from beach. Pool was well kept and refreshing. Would stay there again.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit ungeraden Zahlen sind gegen das Meer raus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BFA722015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirOrient, Director General at Grupotel Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Taurus Park
Grupotel Taurus Park
#26 of 78 in Playa de Palma
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa
Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites &...
#12 of 78 in Playa de Palma
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cosmopolitan
Cosmopolitan
#14 of 78 in Playa de Palma
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tres Torres
Tres Torres
#43 of 78 in Playa de Palma
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
AYA Hotel
AYA Hotel
#34 of 78 in Playa de Palma
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Orient

Address: Calle Duna 3, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quite area only 500 mts. Away from the spectacular Playa de Palma beach. Rooms: Bathroom. Hair dryer Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Safety Deposit Box. Balcony. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool with children's pool. Heated indoor swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Table tennis. Billiard table. Children's playground. Live music at evening . Gastronomy: Warm & cold breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Rstaurant with breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Lounge & Pool Bar with terrace and snack service. Services: Babysitting service. Medical services. Car rental. Internet. Children entertainment in July and August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Orient Hotel Playa De Palma
Grupotel Orient Playa De Palma
Grupotel Orient Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing