We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the pool bar”
Review of Playa Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Golf
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved the pool bar”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Let me say that when you go to a place like Playa de Palma you can't complain about noise at night or that the majority of people are Germans.
We got a nice room at the hotel and we didn't hear so much noise at night. The room was quite big and the bathroom was ok.We also had a balcony. The staff in the reception were very nice and they seemed to speak English very well.
The pool area and especially the pool bar was very stylish. The sunbeds were good and you could rent a towel.
The breakfast buffet had a great variety of different food. We also tried the dinner buffet twice.
The hotel also had 3 restaurants close to the hotel. I will absolutely recommend them.
the hotel is only a short distance from the beach.We found the beach expensive,16,5 Euro for 2 sundbeds and a sunshade.
I think the hotel was good but in some ways oldfashioned - the doorlock, you had to pay for the safe and wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    131
    49
    24
    8
See reviews for
83
120
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was the last lag to a girls Euro Trip. My best friend and I decided to end our Euro trip in a nice relaxing location and go home with a tan. I do not think we did not enough research as this is not what we were expecting at all. The title to this post is a quote from one of the many Germans we spoke to, though after researching I found that are already 16 states so is Mallorca the '17th'?!
In my opinion, the hotel deserves a 3 star rating. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I felt the hotel was trying to modernize but had only completed certain features. The bathroom in our room was newer, new pictures, and flat screen LG TV. However, the furniture and carpeting was old looking and made the room seem very dark without the curtains drawn open. We paid for half board, breakfast only. This is my recommendation so guests are able to venture outside and explore the Spanish eateries (in Palma). Breakfast was buffet style, and had a nice assortment for all cultures I believe.
The location:
If you are looking to go on a 'college spring break' type vacation and between the ages of 16-40+ and sing and dance native german songs all day & night, Playa de Palma is the place for you. I am all for country pride, however, being woken up at 2AM, 4AM, 5AM and yes even 8AM to drunk men singing german songs outside the hotel is by no means a place for a family with children or anyone looking for a relaxing quiet vacation.
African sellers on the beach BEWARE, as they are persistent and travelers know this, my friend got hit in the face by a fake LV bag after we told one we did not want to purchase.
The Chinese "massagey?" people on the beach may be annoying but 5 euros for a 10 minute massage is well worth it, if you bargain you may be able to get them down even further.

With all the craziness and drunken germans, Playa de Palma is overall safe - police are around and there is security in the hotel.

As beach lovers, my friend and I paid to sit on the beach for the 4 days we stayed, 16.05Euro for 2 chairs and an umbrella. Floats were inexpensive as well and sold at the local store for 4euros, well worth it to relax in the beautiful warm water.

Buy all water and drinks at the local euro store they even have snacks, very reasonably priced.

Bus station is one or two hotels over (about 1 block away). Bus ride into Palma is 1.50Euros each way and about 20 mins there and 30 mins back. Palma is a beautiful, historic city with many nice Tapas restaurants to eat at. Highly suggest going in every night and pay a visit to the Cathedral.

Airport is about 15 mins away, 15-20Euros each way depending on time of day.

As said in other reviews if this hotel was picked up and moved to another location I would probably visit again. However, if Mallorca is a destination of choice for the future, I will NOT be staying in Playa de Palma.
And to end on a german note: OLAY!!

Room Tip: Sea view was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluvbug19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Quite old but recently refurnished hotel (imagine that you enter the room by classical key, not by card). The rooms are large and very clean. The sound insulation (very required, because of the approach of noisy german clubs) not quite good. A plus for the balcony, clean and covered by carpet, not by ceramic tiles. We spent a week there in July, with my 5yr old kid, half board and i have nothing to complain. The food was varied and enough, buffet style. Men are required to wear long trousers for the dinner (this is funny, because ladies can wear any skirt they want).
The hotel is located near the beach and the minimarkets, so you can buy anything you want until the late hours of night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

One of the best location in this area. It is practically ON the beach, there is spectacular view over the entire gulf. The food is excellent, the buffet breakfast had plenty of choice. Good facilities and kind stuff.
On the other hand, this hotel is old and there are still rooms, that are not renovated. You should pay 4 euro per day for Wi-FI.
I think it is overrated and it doesn't deserve 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumyana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is lovely. Right on the beach, clean, relaxed, good facilities, food etc.
Despite this it is in a very busy/loud location and you can hear singing at all times of the day and night. The resort is about 98%German and not one person either in the hotel or close by spoke any english. We speak some spanish but even this proved difficult. As we only stayed for a mini break, this wasnt too much of a problem but has we been there longer it would have been different. Food choice is limited across the seafront. Typically you could get pizza or spaghetti bolognaise. We couldnt fault the hotel at all and if it could be picked up and put somehwere else it would be great. Definately not suitale for children. Nothing for them to do here. I wouldnt come back here.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for a sea view. This should also get you a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianske Lazne, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Nice hotel, big clean rooms, bathrooms and balcony. Excelent food and pleasant staff. Fantastic location, everything is near, beach, supermarket, pubs, discos...
Only thing I don´t find good is payed WI-FI (4 Euro for one day and you can use it only for one device) - in the year 2013 very strange :-( But on th other side - you go there for holiday, swim, relax and not for work.
And please, give some wall clocks to the pool area...
100% we will come back, perfect holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucka2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel was lovely, clean and modern. It had plenty of sunbeds and space to sun bath. It was also opposite the beach.
The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and was all extremely fresh.

The 3 restaurants/bars attached to the hotel were also clean and modern. The menu's were identical and a little more expensive then the surrounding restaurants.

Most of the staff were friendly and the handy man seemed to work non stop! Our flight was in the evening and we were given a room to shower and change. The security man was extremely rude to my husband and told him to put his t shirt on as we were walking to the lift, a German man followed without a shirt and he said nothing. He clearly didn't like English people. One extremely tall lady behind reception was also rude but we both put it down to ignorance. Shame really as everyone else was extremely friendly and helpful. She probably shouldn't work with the public.

This resort is 100% German. It is surrounded by German clubs/discos and strip bars. This is probably the equivalent to Magaluf for English people!
Everyday from about 11am everyone would buy buckets of alcohol and go to the beach with huge stereos/speakers. They would stay on the beach all day/night drinking and singing.

Our room was opposite the tennis courts on the third floor and we were kept awake for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed by Germans singing. The bar opposite was a 24 hour bar and one road up was bar street. This had a huge building similar to Munich Beer festival and the music was pumping 24 7. Don't get me wrong we like to have a drink but these people were out of their face by 5pm. Bodies of all ages lay all over the place on grass or pavements or benches. This really is a boys holiday!!! The Germans did not stop singing from 10am until 6am on their way home.

If your German on a stag do this would be a perfect location.

I would recommend this hotel as it was lovely. We would even go back if our room didn't overlook the bars and strip clubs and we could actually get some sleep.

Room Tip: Do not sleep opposite the tennis courts, maybe to the side of the building would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#4 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Golf

Property: Playa Golf
Address: Carretera Arenal 45, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa Golf, in Playa de Palma, Mallorca, offers its clients all of the services necessary to make their stay as pleasant as possible.It has three swimming pools, one of which is heated, an aquatic toboggan, solarium terrace, fitness machines, Spa & Wellness, tennis courts, beach tennis, mini-golf surrounded by a pretty garden, cyclist centre, events and meetings centre, a Buffet restaurant where you can enjoy the best gastronomy of the island, and three cafeterias with different atmospheres.And above all, good service and familiar and cordial treatment are our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Golf Hotel Playa De Palma
Playa Hotel De Palma
Playa Golf Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing