We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but terrible neighbourhood”
Review of Playa Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Golf
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Eidsvag, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but terrible neighbourhood”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Playa Golf in the beginning of July 2014. The rooms were clean and nice. We had breakfast at the hotel and this was very good. We stayed in first floor with view to the pool area and the seaside. It was a lot of noise in the night. German people who were partying all night.. It was a large beer tent close to the hotel, and from there you could hear high music and noise. This is absolute no hotel for families. But if you want to party all night its absolute a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    131
    49
    24
    8
See reviews for
83
120
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is quite old but many rooms and common areas have been renovated. Great breakfast and perfect location on the beach makes it worth it. Clear 4/5 starts - nothing amazing, nothing bad. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
245 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel was nice for what we needed for a few days. We had an excellent rate for a sea view suite of 225 euro for three nights. We were there Sunday night thru Wednesday morning and had no problems with the noise or partying that is mentioned in the other reviews, but it was full of German tourists and the food in the restaurant at breakfast catered to that crowd for sure.
We stayed in room 205 and I would recommend any of the 05 rooms as they are corner suites and have two balconies each, one facing the ocean and one facing the pool. The hotel is older but the room was newly updated and felt modern and clean. The shower was large, although the water pressure was low, There were two nice sized closets and a safe, a mini refrigerator stocked with drinks and a tea kettle, which was not working, but we only tried to use it the morning we were leaving. The coffee in the room is instant, which I don't like, so if you enjoy coffee, you will need to get it elsewhere. The beds were comfortable enough, not great, but ok.

None of the channels on the television were in English, all were either German or Spanish dubbed in one, subtitled in the other. Frustrating when you speak neither.
The Sea Club restaurant served a nice fresh fish dinner, the best food I had the whole 10 days in Mallorca. Breakfast came with the room price, and was a very large buffet with many choices including fresh fruits, meat and cheeses, pastries and an omlet chef. Coffee, teas, juices, and cava.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and it met our expectations for this hotel. We did not have the chance to try the spa. The sundeck and the pool area were cleaned and straightened at least twice a day while we were there, and had a nice appearance.
There was no valet for the luggage, which was kind of a pain, and the elevators were SO small that the cart barely fit with one person squished in with it.

Room Tip: Choose any room ending in 05 for a great corner suite with double balconies one facing the sea, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

First things first - this is a very good hotel. The rooms are large and airy, beds clean and comfortable, the public areas are spacious and well decorated; it's a very comfortable hotel...but it's even better if you're German! Most of the staff speak good English, they all speak good German; most written materials have English translations, all written materials have German translations. I counted 15 different German TV stations available on my in-room TV, plus another 5 Austrian channels. Unfortunately I don't speak a word of German; even more unfortunately the English selection is limited to BBC World (basically, news for expats), Bloomberg TV (Business news) and CNBC (Business news)...oh yes, and the Jewish News programme. After a week in this hotel you're guaranteed to be extremely knowledgeable about world affairs, especially from a Jewish viewpoint! I suspect this TV selection also holds true for the other hotels in this area. In fairness, the vast majority of tourists who visit the area are German - so the hotel naturally does its best to accommodate them.
Playa Golf is a very good and comfortable hotel - just brush up on your German before you visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickbtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Due to the strongly differing opinions about this hotel, let's try a dfiferentiated view:
- It is located in the heart of the German party area of Mallorca. This is ground zero for German Mallorca tourists, exactly between "Ballermann 6" and "Bierkoenig.
- This means that many of the guests are not your family or business travelllers normally staying in a four star hotel, but rather teenagers and groups of adults looking for a bed until they can go on partying again. This explaines the very differing opinions about the quality of the hotel.
--> Compared to normal international standards, this is a two-three star hotel
- The hotel is old and the intererior both in the lobby and in the rooms quite old. Bathrooms seem new
- Staff are reasonable friendly depsite the special quality of the guests
Overall, a good place to stay if you look for a decent bed right in the heart of the party zone. Avoid this entire area if you look for a quiet wellness experience

Room Tip: Out front will be very loud. Be aware that the back side will just be marginally less niosy at peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCGN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beautiful room matched exactly what we booked. Excellent location right next to the beach. All areas of the hotel were clean, good swimming pools with ample supply of sunbeds. Food at breakfast And dinner was excellent with good quality And variety of choice.
Very nice And helpful staff.
Close to the airport, 10 min. By taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed in hotel from July 17 to 25.I liked almost everything in this hotel. It's located very close to beach, lots of restaurants around. Rooms are good and spacey, not old, everything works. They don't have electric keys for doors and safe box. You have to carry two big keys with yourself all the time:). Food is good enough. The only thing that you have to know before booking this hotel is that it is near some German-favorite club, and you'll have to listen to their singing all the night long(I'm not exaggerating), all night long they are drinking, singing, shouting. You can hear them clearly even with closed doors and windows. But as you may know Palma is Germans most favorite place for vacation so if you planning to spend your vacation there be prepared for them. Other than that everything is good with this hotel, Palma is wonderful place to spend vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#6 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#4 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Golf

Property: Playa Golf
Address: Carretera Arenal 45, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa Golf, in Playa de Palma, Mallorca, offers its clients all of the services necessary to make their stay as pleasant as possible.It has three swimming pools, one of which is heated, an aquatic toboggan, solarium terrace, fitness machines, Spa & Wellness, tennis courts, beach tennis, mini-golf surrounded by a pretty garden, cyclist centre, events and meetings centre, a Buffet restaurant where you can enjoy the best gastronomy of the island, and three cafeterias with different atmospheres.And above all, good service and familiar and cordial treatment are our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Golf Hotel Playa De Palma
Playa Hotel De Palma
Playa Golf Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing