We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star for the price of a 4 star”
Review of Hotel Riu Bravo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Bravo
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you're going to Mallorca but want to stay away from the German adolescent craze, this is one amazing option for its price.

The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is very friendly. The food is very good and the variety does not disappoint.

Great if you want to combine the relaxation of not doing anything with the beach, which is 150-200 metres away.

From the airport take the 21 bus and you'll be checking in within 15 minutes.

Room Tip: When making the reservation, you can submit special requests you might have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited the hotel for two nights on the 12th and 13th July 2013 . We were rather wary after reading the reviews !
We were pleasantly surprised the hotel is very good.Rooms are clean and have all the expected benefits. They are not brand new by any means but are more than adequate. The public areas are all cleaned to a high standard and are attractive, the hotel is set in very nice grounds.
The food is very good,there is show cooking at every meal, three different stations at dinner there is thus something fresh all the time.
As previous reviewers have said the hotel is predominantly occupied by Germans and as you would therefore expect things are to their taste, there is no allowance for the British which didn't bother us.
The hotel is in an area of Palma in which all the bars etc are used by young Germans to party and boy do they party ! There are at least two massive clubs occupied by around 1000 young Germans at a time which were open from 11.O0 am until 5.00 am the next day. Considering the size of these clubs and their proximity to the hotel there was surprising little noise from them at the hotel. We walked around the area on saturday morning and saw plenty of young Germans many of whom were drinking but in no way threatening the atmsphere was very friendly. I don't think they even noticed us !

We have been to majorca before and there are plenty of prettier places, but I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a short break very near to the airport

Room Tip: Pool view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were victims of the French air traffic controllers strike last Tuesday and found ourselves at the airport needing to find accommodation for two nights somewhere not too far away. We got lucky!
We arrived at the Bravo after a ten minute taxi ride.
We got an upgrade to a suite in a separate building in the hotel grounds, and it was very nice indeed, with a hallway, twin bedroom with loads of storage, a bathroom with 2 sinks, bath, shower, loo and bidet, and a large sitting room. The furniture, curtains and carpets were all of good quality and very clean.
The pool area had lots of loungers, an irregular shaped pool, mature trees and a bar with a self service area for soft drinks, beer and tea and coffee.
The food was without doubt the best buffet food we'd ever seen. The choice was stupendous, and the quality was excellent. They have a two sitting system for dinner, 6.30 and 8.30, and each party is allocated a dinner table for their own use throughout their stay. No scrabbling about.
There are professional entertainers on every night.
The staff seemed rightly proud of their hotel; they were constantly tidying the dining room and pool areas.
Downsides: Playa de Palma is the German Magalluf - party central!!! We saw lots of very drunk young people and police patrols. Even in our fifth floor room, we were woken by revellers at 5 and 6am. There were beer bottles and cans all over the otherwise lovely beach and prom area.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better because of the noise of nocturnal party people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

my wife and i decided to have a week away in Majorca for her birthday but boy did i get things wrong.
we took the car over on the ferry from valencia which in its self was ok.
we arrived in palma very early in the morning and then drove to our hotel.
i thought it strange when we were getting into the resort that all the signs for shops etc were all in german. we then arrived at the hotel which was nice and clean and just what i expected.
what i did not expect was that we would be the only brits there but then we can put up with that we thought.
we decided to go out for a walk and as we did we were surrounded by hundreds of drunken young germans and this was at 9,30am. it was dreadful, you could not walk without people bumping in to you they were so drunk.
then at night they were singing at the top of their voices we could not sleep as the hotel is so close to a place i can only describe as similar to the munich beer festival called the mega park.
we suffered 2 nights then we we could not stand anymore and checked out.
unfortunately i paid 900 euro for the week and stayed 2 nights. expensive hotel.
we then drove accross to cala dor and checked into the hotel cala dor which was fantastic.
so if you idea of a good holiday is hanging out with thousands of drunken vomiting germans then you now know were to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We choose this hotel as it is only 2 1/2 hour flight from UK. After ten minute taxi ride from airport which is a bonus as well we got checked in. As usual it was a painless and quick task, we went for lunch and after that we went to our rooms which were clean and tidy. The weather was mixed but we were able to relax in between showers. The staff were all pleasant and courteous as we would expect from Riu(19 th visit to them to various hotels). The hotel is a couple of minutes from the beach and shop area and was always busy but not too busy. All the drinks and food were always
Plentiful and varied,so no complaints. We would not hesitate to come again for our sixth visit

Room Tip: Away from front of hotel as you can here a lot of noise from the party area a few streets away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1968birchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Busy year so this review is somewhat late - apologies. We were a group of seven friends who spent a really enjoyable week at the Riu Bravo last June. A lovely hotel with a delightful poolside terrace surrounded by pleasant gardens and just a very short walk from a beautiful beach. The quality and presentation of the food in the dining room was excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were polite and friendly. A great break in a great hotel and a destination we will certainly be returning to in the very near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supernan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

As an example of an all-inclusive mass-tourism hotel, you will seldom find better. Our party of three spent one week all inclusive with Saga from 5th April at the Riu Bravo.The hotel is situated a short walk away from the prom and beach at Playa de Palma, a resort which is a little scruffy in places, but was not fully open for the season, so still being prepared. The annoying street-sellers were persistent, but accepted a firm but friendly "no thanks" and moved on. They seemed to leave the promenade part along the beach alone, concentrating instead along the shop-front side. It is a pleasant area, though the Riu Princess along the beach towards S'Arenal might be an eye-opener or some, with much beer-drinking and table-top cavorting, even at 2.30 in the afternoon. Our German friends have great stamina for fun!

The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. There are plenty of sun-beds around the nice (but not very large) pool and gardens. The terrace, lounge and reception areas are lovely, with unlimited supplies of drinks, tea, coffee and snacks available. The staff were excellent, well-trained and thoroughly professional. They made our stay very pleasant, and the superb manager made sure that she was visible and available to all the guests. Any issues (and we overheard a couple of complaints about the showers) were dealt with at lightening speed - in our case the maintenance-man hacksawed an errant suitcase lock in 5 minutes!). The room (125) was of a good standard in Regency style with a pleasant balcony, though it did not have an inspiring view. The bathroom was a little dated, and the shower and toilet just squeaked in to being acceptable, with low water flows. The single room (131) was rather small, but we did not pay a single-room supplement, so overall OK. We could not fault the hotel for the quality and quantity of food. Superb, and very well organised. The restaurant staff - both front and back of house - deserve special praise. The used plates were cleared immediately, and the linen was crisp and fresh - a joy to behold! The service was very friendly and efficient. The range of food was A1, with huge salads, two soups, breads, choice of five or so mains including fish and a slightly dull vegetarian choice, fruit, extensive sweets and ice creams, beer, wine and water on tap. An excellent aspect was that the food was largely freshly-prepared - little unused food was recycled the next day, so the chances of avoiding Spanish-tummy were increased. Some of the courses were designed for the majority German palate - eg the schnitzel came with a chilly/curry sauce. which was maybe a bit odd to average British tastes.

The indoor pool was a bit small and dowdy and reportedly not very warm, and was also separate from the main hotel and spa. The spa and gym looked fine, and were free to use, though the treatments seemed rather expensive (though the reviewer has no experience of this area). Entertainment was middle-of-the-road "live" (which means computer-assisted!) dance music, which suited the rather middle-aged to elderly holidaymakers. Certainly at this time of year the hotel would suit that clientele, more than families with young children. Free drinks were non-branded but actually quite acceptable.

Just to add that we also hired a car from Sixt, about 15 mins walk away from the hotel. They were not the cheapest, but were reliable, trustworthy and professional. I would also advise getting a car with some pulling-power, as the roads - especially around Palma require fast lane-changes or escape from locals in small white vans! Parking at your destination was OK in April, but it must be impossible in peak season. Public transport or tours might be better early-May to end-August.

If you like all-inclusive, multinational, busy holidays in popular places, with a great level of quality, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Some balconies in the reception block facing the pool are shaded by a huge fig tree. Room selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collidug134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#6 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#19 of 78 in Playa de Palma
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Gran Playa de Palma
Hipotels Gran Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myseahouse Neptuno
Myseahouse Neptuno
#31 of 78 in Playa de Palma
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bravo

Address: Mision de San Diego, 4 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £106 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bravo 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive Hotel Riu Bravo completely renovated in 2015, is situated in the south of Mallorca, in the bay of Playa de Palma, a lively holiday area with many other hotels, entertainments and shops. The 4.5 km-long beach of fine sand is about 300m. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Son Sant Joan Airport PMI (5km) and Palma (12 km) and invites you to explore the island. The hotel has 442 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the gym. 3 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool. Evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant and Spanish specialty restaurant, as well as 3 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bravo Hotel
Riu Bravo Playa De Palma
Hotel Riu Bravo Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing