We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday, but awful hotel during drinking season.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playa Park
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great holiday, but awful hotel during drinking season.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is probably a great hotel, but not during July or August. Playa de Palma is a relocated Munich beer festival during the summer months with 90,000 drunk youths singing and yelling from 7pm to 7 am.
Majorca is lovely and we will be returning soon, but not to this area. The hotel is tired and rooms quite basic, nothing breakable so no glasses or tea and coffee making facilities. Television only has 1 English channel and lots of german ones. Air conditioning is a fan which is just adequate but noisy( no way you could open the windows at night). Food is quite good, lots of variety, buffet replenished frequently with freshly cooked food supplemented by great salads.
The main problem is the noise at night, we took ear plugs but really they only took the edge off the noise. German boys and the occasional girl singing, shouting and moving furniture all night made sleep impossible. Staff offered to move us but as 800 of the 900 hotel guests were there to join the drinking fun there was nowhere in the hotel that was quiet .
Staff were charming and hardworking but seemed resigned to coping as best they could.

Room Tip: Stay out of summer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadySugarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    91
    68
    29
    25
See reviews for
86
73
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

No AC on rooms with 40c is something of last century. It's impossible to have a good night sleep.
Found 2 cockroach on the eating area.
The staff keeps annoying you about the exact meal time and the table you need to sit in.
Poor cleaning on the bar areas. The smell is incredible.
The food is always the same. After 3 days your sick of it.
I'll never get back to this hotel and have only bad recommendations about it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagan_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you want to have a group of young german guys doing a party in your room, please go to this hotel.
And if you complain at the reception, they just tell you that is normal because the hotel is full of teenagers, who drink too much. Unbelivable!

Conclusion: 3 horrible nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaBernardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here for the world cup in July 2010 the hotel is mainly german infact the only time we heard engligh voice's was in Palma the resort of playa de Palma is like a german Magaluf
Wevloved the fact that we could just hop on a bus that run every 5 minutes into Palma!
We were there for the German v Spain final what an amazing experience this was to be staying in a german resort in SPAIN!!!!
The hotel itself is very lively with couples and groups. Rooms were basic but clean for a 3 star couldn't fault maid service daily.
Pool area does get really busy had to get down for at least 9am to grab at bed!
The food is excellent to be honest stayed in many Riu's and the food at this one is one of the best we've had.
all in all had a great week away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAATKINSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We've been on vacation in this hotel and really enjoyed stay, everything was good, very good food and lots of choice. The restaurant staff impeccable. Counseling to anyone, especially if it is German, because most of the guests were German, did a lot of noise, which was the least liked.
We loved it and we went back there, not for Mallorca. but to enjoy the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antonio_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

yes its true..most people staying here are german, this hotel is not in the uk brouchers- thats proberly why?!
the food was ok, for a 3 star hotel- 2 dinner sittings -
drinks were local wine- beer - coke-fanta-sprite-tea coffee-hotchoc-milkshake-

local area was good, walking distance to beach-bars-clubs-restaurants

had a indoor pool- internet-outdoor pool- 2 lifts-

nothing else to say..its a 3 star all inclusive

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taurus_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner and I spent one week in this hotel. First of all, I have to say that there was no problem with the hotel itself at all. Our room was clean, and suitable for the three star rating, food and service were great and the staff was very kind and friendly. Still, I also had difficult times during the week we spent there because of the incredibly high number of Germans we found there and in the town as well. The whole place is exclusively for Germans!
I don't have problems with the German nation, I had problems with the way they behaved. They were drunk all the time, they were screaming and shouting extremely loudly almost all night long in the hotel and in front of our room, They were thumping on the door of our room and even tried to come in in the middle of the night (it is likely that they were so drunk that they missed the room). I wouldn't complain if it all had happened in the pubs or in the streets of the town but they were doing it in the hotel and it was obvious that the staff cannot or do not want to do anything against it. I felt that they didn't care that some other guests were not able to have a rest because 95% of the guests were German and most of them bahaved this way. Many times it was very difficult for me to endure this situation mainly because of the fact that I am expecting a baby and would have needed some rest.
All in all, I can recommend the hotel itself but only if you are German and want to have endless parties. Don't be surprised if you feel that you are in Germany and not in Spain after arriving in Playa de Palma and Hotel Riu Playa Park.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nagyo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Festival
Hotel Riu Festival
#30 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#24 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pabisa Bali
Pabisa Bali
#47 of 77 in Playa de Palma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Golf
Playa Golf
#11 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playa Park

Property: Hotel Riu Playa Park
Address: Calle Pare Bartomeu Salva 15 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Playa de Palma * 9-storey building * 14,000 m2 garden * 350 m from the beach * 12 km from the centre of Palma * 100 m from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playa Park Hotel
Riu Playa Park De Palma
Hotel Riu Playa Park Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing