We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a good night sleep without any drunken teenagers in the hotel. The hotel is very well maintained. Great bathroom with glass walk-in showers. Staff is very friendly. The hotel is adults only, which is great in the part of Mallorca.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Lemmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    19
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
74
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great hotel. Nice check in, cheap to hire a safe. Easy to get a bed around the pool. So close to the beach.

Nice resort all in all, lots of young getting drunk but they are not rowdy, abusive or anything like the English boozers.

Oh yeah we were the only English people in the resort, all restaurant menus, clubs and pub touts were German. But this did not spoil our holiday at all, in fact we were treated like. Local novelty haha.

Overall it was a nice relaxing break. Definitely see about going to the aquarium as it was brilliant, especially when they feed the sharks.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view you can clearly see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Now first thing to say is we only spent 12 hours in this hotel but they were the longest 12 hrs in my life.

We were sent here at 11pm when we arrived at our booked hotel Ola Maioris in Cabo Blanco to be told they had overbooked and had no room for us.

First the positives -

Every member of staff we met was really friendly and helpful, they clearly value customer service. When we arrived they were keen to offer us food and drink whilst they checked us in. The hotel is clearly aimed at the German market and the staff had limited English so having a smattering of Spanish and German definately helped when booking in but they were really lovely.

The breakfast was also fantastic, massive selection and good quality and I could happily have eaten there all week. When we sat out by the pool in the morning, lovely view of the beach which is a matter of metres away. Loungers had padded covers and seemed quite plentiful. Clean and tidy, decent size clean pool.

Now - the negatives, the rooms were basic and dated, air con noisy. We had three rooms on three different sides of the hotel on floors 1 & 2.. The resort is the German equivalent of somewhere like magaluf / Aya Napa etc. At 5.30 in the morning the drunken idiots were still shouting and chanting and keeping me awake. It was so horrendous it was funny. My 9 yr old particularly liked the neon flashing " We love MILFS" sign that we could see from our window and my husband opened his curtains in the morning to see someone peeing up the wall opposite. If you are young and enjoy partying I'm sure this would be a good hotel but for a family group with 2 children and 2 Grandparents in tow it was the worst night sleep i've ever had. There is no way that ear plugs would drown out that noise!

Oh well gave us something to laugh about and remember our Mallorca holiday by. In all seriousness, staying in that noise for a week would have killed me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

this hotel is absolutly wonderful, clean, comfortable, and fantastic food and staff!
Meal times - huge variations in food choice, at dinner 3 different soups, 30 salads, paella every night, steaks, dishes, fish, vegetarian choices.

Sea Views are lovely

the area is predominantly german orientated, all local restaurants are geared towards german clients , found no english restaurants or focussed on english
The hotel staff are so kind, helpful and so guest orientated. they were always bringing round free drinks, fruit by the pool etc
ample sun beds, umbrellas, the pools were clean at all times
staff always cleaning !

BIG PROBLEM - Noise at night from drunken german party goers ! Really important to take ear plugs if you do not want to party till the early hours! Noise is constants from 10pm till 0600.

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor rooms 213 and 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosieread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel is 15 mins from Palma airport and right on the beach. The food was really good with great selection every day. The staff and manager were really very welcoming and helpful - i mentioned my mattress was uncomfortable and it was changed for a brand new one in ten minutes. The service was fantastic - i have stayed in many hotels and really this is the best - its proper old fashioned service at its best. The hotel is in a good loaction on the beach with lovely promenade that has many bars and shops. The hotel maybe needs a little updating - and the only other thing is that for an English person it is based in a German tourist area - which is fine for us but if you wanted to meet/speak to other English people the resort itself is probably not ideal. Value for money, quality of food, great location and service - we had a great break here for 4 days. Thank you Hotel San Francisco and William the manager.

Room Tip: Room away from road else bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bixieblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satu Mare
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Well kept hotel, friendly staff, excellent location, just a few meters away from the beach. good food, quality and variability, beverages at a very good price. Best place to eat a snack in the afternoon. Given the proximity to Shinkenstrasse and to the beach, the nights were a bit loud, but after a couple of days we got used to it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

My parents and I stayed at the Riu San Francisco from 26/07/2007 to 31/07/2007. Wow, what a hotel! The resort of Playa de Palma is extremely lively at night and not for the faint hearted, however, the people are all lovely and we enjoyed watching so many people having so much fun. There are heaps of bars, clubs and discos which was great for me - I rarely went to bed before 6am! The resort and hotel are predominantly German and while at the hotel, we were the only English guests - this was great as it really helped me to experience a different culture. The clientele in the hotel vary from young German teenagers to more mature couples who can relax by the pool or explore nearby Palma. The hotel staff are brilliant and were always only too pleased to help with any problem that arose and they provided us with much information. The restaurant is a great size for the number of rooms in the hotel and although the choice is not overly vast, this was more than made up for by quality and quantity! Drinks are very reasonably priced, however go out into the resort and they are much cheaper! Playa de Palma and Riu San Francisco are located about 10mins away from the airport by taxi - however, we rarely heard the aeroplanes! Overall the staff should be highly praised and the resort is fantastic! I know I will be back before long with my friends for a great girly holiday!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank queenlatifah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
7.8 mi away
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
2.3 mi away
AluaSoul Palma
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
7.8 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
IBEROSTAR Bahia de Palma
#8 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
6.3 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#44 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Golf
Playa Golf
#13 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu San Francisco

Property: Hotel Riu San Francisco
Address: Calle Claudi 24 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Playa de Palma * 5-storey building * 10 m from the beach, separated only by the seafront promenade * 12 km from the centre of Palma * 25 m from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu San Francisco Hotel
Hotel Riu San Francisco Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing