We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap 4 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palma Bay Club Resort
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we arrived and we were in the Villas but on the main complex. The room was clean but really needed updating. Because it was cold, it almost fealt damp. We had to request extra blankets. The telephone wasn't connected to anything and there wasn't a point to do so and we only had one plug in the room, which the TV was plugged into. Staff were polite and the food was good for an all inclusive deal. You had to go to another building if you wanted drinks in the evening. The main building was definately for the Spanish guests. All in all good value for what we paid, but I would not book for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: the main builing on the complex looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa56120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,994 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

We went as a group of 2 couples. We arrived quite late and were amazed to be told when we booked in at reception (2 in the Acapulco block on map) that our hotel block was the Nubia situated a few streets away. With the directions "out the front door onto road, turn right, then turn right again, at next junction turn left, down to next junction and the hotel was diagonally opposite" we set off through a really unattractive area. We were told later in a bar (outside the hotel) that it was too dangerous to go to the beach at night. Rooms in the Nubia were tiny and located on a very noisy street. We were also only allowed to eat in the restaurant in the Habana (the entrance being at 2 in the Habana block although we had to enter the "grounds" from the gate by the zebra crossing.We were also only allowed to drink in the Habana in the evening which didn't have much going for it. The food was really awful and normally I can find something. The salad was a saviour. I saw a first in the restaurant here - reconstituted bacon!!!! Salad was o.k. Coffee was awful as was the powdered juice. Restaurant area was dark and dingy. The small pool area was very enclosed and surrounded by high rise buildings. Only small parts of it were in the sun at any one time and seeing as it was small anyway there wasn't much in the sun. We did see people sat in the same spot from 10am to 5pm but I guess they were just getting there money's worth out of the all inclusive drinks. Can't blame them as there was nothing else to do.
Reception staff were fine. Restaurant staff as drab as the surroundings they worked in. My friend slipped on some food and landed on the floor. A waitress just looked at her and didn't even offer to help or clean up whatever was on the floor.
We went across to look at the rest of the complex where the Acapulco, Hawaii and Copacabana are situated. Grounds are quite big but don't be fooled by the map. The green colour is not grass at all but concrete. All in all a unwelcoming and drab hotel with awful food.
We spent most of our time off complex which cost a fortune but we enjoyed the beach area. Definitely make sure that you are not at this end of the beach. Go further towards Palma as it is much more up-market as opposed to very down-market. Would I go back ? Absolutely not!
If you have the misfortune to be in the Nubia/Habana combination and you have enough cash get out and down to the beach promenade heading for Palma. Beers in the promenade bars are 3.95 Euros for 0.5 litres, 3.45 Euros for 0.3 litres, 5.95 Euros for a cocktail.
We did discover a wonderful seafood restaurant "Pulpo" not far from the hotel on the Carretera Militar which was recommended by a local. Although the menu doesn't sound cheap it was certainly value for money. We can thoroughly recommend the seafood platter, alioli and the t-bone steak is to die for.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aguest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

i booked a 4 night break for me and my boyfriend through lowcostholidays. on arrival we were also told the hotel was fully booked and sent in a taxi to a 3 star hotel - not the best start but we didnt have to pay a thing and we were reimbursed for everything we paid for at the other hotel as soon as we got back to Palma bay, so we weren't much bothered by it.

we were placed in alcopoco, and although i asked for a double we acutally got 3 singles! 2 of them pushed together and a third to use as a sofa lol. This didn't bother us much considering we paid next to nothing for this break. The room was nice and clean, and had a lovely view of the sunset at night.

the resort itself is very welcoming, easy to get around, different pools and bars to go to. its not far to walk to the sea front, about 10mins for us 20somethings. we found a great club to go at night as the resort's entertainment wasnt really to our liking - mainly bingo and dancing for the spanish biddies.

the food was lovely! always so much choice and something for everyone. plently of breads, fruits, salads, mains and deserts! the variety was great and we never ate the same thing twice. we never had a moment of hunger and didnt spend any money outside the resort on food.

i would definately return - it was great value for money, a nice place to laze around which was exactely what I needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

we booked to go here through onthebeach.com, when we arrived we were given a silly little map and sent to a building called sahara, it was a block of rooms down the road from the main complex. these rooms were like prison cells, there was no bath and they were the smallest rooms ever walls like paper.
went to reception to complain and kicked off and said i had booked a three star. this block was not 3 star! there was no facilities at all down there!! they said we had to pay an additional 70 euros, or stay there. after much arguing we decided we could not complete our holiday there so we paid.
we got moved to the habana building, the room was much better. nothing spectacular, but it was what you expect for a 3 star..
food at hotel is very good. rooms are fairly clean even though the sahara block was like beruit! it said on our booking sheet promo room, which apparently means sahara block. be careful when booking that you are in the main complex.

Room Tip: make sure you are not in sahara nubia or gobi block. ask for habana copacabana or hawaii blocks, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I am just back from a 4 day break at this hotel and i must say it wasn't a bad break. we were also victims of the hotel being grossly over booked and as a result we got decanted to another hotel not of the same standard as the PBH.On day 2 we returned to the PBH at 10am to be told that we couldn't get into our room until 2pm.By this time our clothes had been in our case for the best part of 2 days and the hotel doesn't own an iron.So at this stage let me introduce you to Patrick Lamin this man must be the most under paid P R man in spain, he brought an iron from his home so we could iron our clothes.He is consantly taking flack from the public and he does it with a smile because he loves his job. All this aside this is a good hotel, a little short on entertaniment but clean spacious with good food. It is truly an international hotel witch i think is great.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and get into the main hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b16dode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you want a holiday where you just want to lay in the sun, and you use your room as a base, then this hotel would be perfectly fine for you. We stayed in the Gobi, and yes, the room and the balcony were very small, but it was perfectly clean and we managed for a week. Saying that if I had paid any more money for the week, I would have been very disappointed.

The whole hotel was very clean, and also very busy; there were coachloads of senior citizens arriving almost daily. This could make mealtimes very busy, but there was always plenty of food. The food wasn't great, and you would be very limited as a vegetarian. You never went hungry though, even if you didn't exactly look forward to the meals. It was also different to see so many typically Majorcan dishes on the menu (quail, liver, fried anchovies etc), however, this might make finding a meal a bit tricky if you were a fussy eater.

Our trip was in mid-April and it is worth bearing in mind that the summer season runs from May to October, so some of the facilities were not open yet (such as the pool bar, outside entertainment). There didn't seem to be much entertainment going on in the evening, except bingo and dancing, but that could have been because it was April. The bar was nearly always very busy and you could only get 2 plastic cups per person, which often led to long queues. In situations such as this, we could have been tempted to go out for a few drinks, but the hotel itself is situated in quite a run down, residential area, and we didn't feel particularly comfortable walking around in the dark. The beach front promenade and the beach are not that far away though and are very pleasant, but there did not seem to be too many restaurants or bars open near by.

All in all, as we kept reminding ourselves, the standard of the hotel and the facilities were acceptable for the fairly small price we paid. We had a good week overall and I have no complaints, but while I would go back to Majorca again, I would stay in a different hotel and resort another time, even if it meant paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bairnsfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We went with a Family of Four and It was an Amazing Trip. Food Was Tremendous and Staff were really Pleasing and Giving. Defiantly go there again Experience such a Fantastic place and people. The Room and Facilities we had was Perfect. Patrick Lamin, and Mani, Were really Good and Helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indico Rock Hotel Mallorca
Indico Rock Hotel Mallorca
#37 of 78 in Playa de Palma
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Geminis
FERGUS Geminis
#64 of 78 in Playa de Palma
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
FERGUS Capi Playa
FERGUS Capi Playa
#65 of 78 in Playa de Palma
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
868 reviews
8.9 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#5 of 5 in Cala Major
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Bay Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Bay Club Resort

Address: C/ Bartomeu Calafell, 23 | El Arenal, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palma Bay Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satisfaction on 6178 acres.Palma-Bay Club Resort hotel is located in a quiet area in the beach of Palma (Arenal), 350 metres from the beach and 5 minutes from the leisure and shopping centres. It also has a large children’s area and a great entertainment team, who with our staff help you enjoy an unforgettable holidays. The hotel has an area of 25.000 square metres with some restaurants, a snack bar and various bars as well as large gardens and 4 swimming pools It’s only 8 Km from the airport and 10 Km from the capital of Mallorca, Palma. It’s a resort with more than 500 bedrooms, most of them with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palma Bay Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Bay
Palma Bay Playa De
Palma Bay Club Resort Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing