We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Playa de Palma
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable holidays!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Well, we stayed in Barcelo Pueblo Park for 13 days in July-August 2013. I can honestly say that it was a real good hotel. I can mention some things that was not so good as they could be - at first cleaning the room was not very good every day. Just 1 in 3 days. And also there were loud young people from Germany who botherd us in the early morning while we were sleeping. But this is not about the hotel.
The quality of food was excellent. It was really diversified menu! Also there are many different kinds of cockteils and other drinkings in the bar and they are really tasty.
Also I liked the design of our room.
The territory is not very big but very nice. It is comfortable to get to the nearest beach (10 minutes).
The staff was very friendly and always ministrant to us.
I wish you a nice stay in this hotel! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria-dominicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    617
    284
    90
    45
See reviews for
340
556
71
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend who is a keen cyclist the hotel was very Clean and the food was faultless but the only complaint I have was it was a bit noisy, the rooms have no sound proofing and the corridors are noisy, the room next to mine had its door knocked and I thought it was my room and went to answer the door, plus I could hear the room next doors tv. Plus our air con was not working, and we booked a late checkout and paid extra but the receptionist wasn't informed and we were locked out of our room and had to go see the receptionist and explain. The hotel is very efficient and next time we will stay in the apartments because they are much more quiet. All in all it was a lovely place with lovely staff and great food and we will be back.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bmcf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights as an add on to a 4 night stay in Palma. To be truthful we booked it due to being able to use our Tesco Clubcard tokens!! Not the best endorsement perhaps but will try to be objective knowing it was effectively 'free'. We booked an apartment as it wasn't that much more in tokens and fancied the extra space,there were only 2 of us and unless you had small kids it would have been a bit cramped with 3 or 4 of you.Beds really comfy with 'toppers' and squashy pillows.Also as we were there in January, the aircon/heating was very effective. We were given a ground floor apartment first which was internally facing and dark.The cleaner nearby was so helpful and lovely and showed us 2 more that were empty and we plumped for a top floor one overlooking the windmill and pools (much brighter). Kitchen was a little under equipped and if we were staying for longer and properly self catering would have been a nightmare, but a few sandwiches was easily sorted! We were on half board so breakfast and dinner were sorted and were adequate, again longer than 3 or 4 days it would have got boring. Lots of German guests when we were there including cycling teams training which was different.
Just a note on the way the dining room is laid out.Lots of tables for 2 but arranged in lines very close together so it felt like you were on one long 'trestle' table.Very strange, and the 4 tables that were away from this style, by the windows were always the first to go! Just a slight change in the angle of the tables would alter this effect.Anyway, the food is adequate but not exciting, warm but not hot and inevitably ends up repeating itself, even after 3 days. Coffee in a flask at breakfast if you want it, but not hot and otherwise comes from a machine which ,if they were very busy would cause more than a few queues (and as you know, certain nationalities don't like to queue!!) Reception were very friendly and helpful and nothing a problem.Staff were pleasant, particularly our cleaner who was lovely.Only the indoor pool open when we went but very nice if a little chilly! Small gym (free) and a sauna you can book at an extra charge.Overall like I said in the beginning, for us it was great for free, but if we'd paid I wouldn't have had an issue as it seems quite reasonable for what you get. The area is very busy and built up and wouldn't really be our thing 'in season' but was great in January! easy to get around without a car as buses were frequent and you could hire bikes in season to get you into Palma as it's so flat and a designated cycle path all the way.

Room Tip: Apartment blocks situated to the right of the pools get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank normalchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My friend and i were sent here when our original hotel Las Arenas in Can Pastilla was full on arrival We were really pleased with the hotel and the food was really great but was not happy when the room next door to us caught fire in the early hours of Saturday Morning and after finally contacting someone to call the fire brigade was evacuated to the lobby for 2 hours till they found out were the fire was coming from it was the aircon and heating system. We were not told once what was happening and when or if we would beable to go back up to the room to get our belongings. It was a very scary time . We were never told exactly how or why it happened just told not to turn on the heating system again and this was by the occupants of the room that caught fire.. When we returned to our room we could still smell smoke for the next two days of our stay, it was not worth complaining if i'd of been staying for a week or more then i would have like to have been moved .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is an excellent hotel for a relaxed stay in Arenal once one has come to terms with it. The facilities are good, the buffet meals offer wide choice,the situation is quiet but convenient-eventually. There are few British staying there and there is no information to help them find out what is going on. Only one infrequent bus route is offered, whereas there are several frequent ones on the bay. There are excursions daily from most hotels but not from this one. Why is the reception desk so unhelpful?

Room Tip: Our superior room was excellent. Don't know about the standard ones. We were next to the lift bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliecreweCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Great hotel. We stayed in an apartment which was really lovely and felt quite private. Staff are nice enough. The food was excellent (as other reviews have said!). Plenty of fruit. Even champagne for breakfast! Beautiful island. We hired a car with Goldcar and had a really enjoyable time travelling around so half board worked out best for us. Sauna was great. No jacuzzi. The indoor pool is sea water and quite cold but not too bad even in winter!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

me, my fiancee and 1 year old just come back from a week at this hotel and cannot fault the food, staff and hotel at all.i do realize that november is not the best season to go in but we were not expecting 99% of the guests to be german, i do not have a problem with germans but it was very daunting at meal times having them push past you with no manners. also there was little or no entertainment, the outside pubs & cafes cater for germans only.like i said i cannot fault the hotel, i would go back to majorca but to a british catered area.

Room Tip: i suggest an apartment, cost a little more but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#5 of 77 in Playa de Palma
580 reviews
7.3 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,845 reviews
11.5 mi away
Occidental Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas
#2 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Playa de Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Playa de Palma

Property: Occidental Playa de Palma
Address: Fray Joan Llabres 16, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de Palma
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Playa de Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Playa de Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Park Hotel Playa De Palma
Barcelo Playa De Palma
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Park
Occidental Playa De Palma Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing