We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”
Review of Ben Hur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ben Hur
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at Ben Hur apartments in Mallorca.
Spotless place. lovely pool. nice staff. Great location. 5 minutes walk from beach.
Negative points... Even though it was self catering we had no kettle. no toaster. no microwave and no tv. Very strange for self catering. You had to hire everything. which we felt was unfair.
This needs to be looked at as I am sure many people would feel the sc description as false advertising.
Other than that place lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the Ben Hur apartments from 17-24 May 2013. We booked this hotel as it was near to where family live in Mallorca. The apartments are basic, but you have a small kitchen, decent sized bathroom, comfortable bedroom, living/dining room and a spacious balcony. This was exactly what we wanted for our stay. There was air conditioning if required (which it wasn't in early May), a hairdryer and a safe (small fee for the safe). The kitchen had only 2 rings for cooking, but was perfectly adequate for making tea/coffee and there was a fridge for milk, snacks, cold drinks etc. The apartments were clean, there was as small shop next to reception. The (mainly Dutch) receptionists were very helpful and spoke English as well as German and Spanish, well. 2 blocks back from the beach you are away from the noisy night areas and although occasionally disturbed by people shouting in the street (you will get that anywhere in Playa de Palma) it was very quiet and peaceful. The hotel had a small pool area, but the pool was lovely and clean and there were plenty of sunbeds (however, it was not high season and the weather was temperamental when we were there). I would highly recommend this, especially for a short break although the area is a hotspot for German tourists rather than British. The upside of this is the restaurants serve excellent, well priced food, both Spanish and international and there are few, if any, serving traditional British fare.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel might be slightly quieter, but your balcony would only have morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belmont_Wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs,United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here in May 2012 and had a one bed apartment. The apartment was clean but basic, if you fancy cooking a three course meal this is definitely not the place as not many utensils, pans and no microwave. The balcony was quite spacious as was the apartment. The pool area is fairly small but I always managed to find a lounger. The only negative was the very noisy german young holiday makers that would insist on shouting and singing from one balcony to another and at all times of the night/morning other than that it represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived for the last 10 days of the season so we had the place almost to ourselves and the doors shut as we left.

The reception staff were lovely - very helpful and kind.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a living room/diner with attached kitchen. The equipment in the kitchen is basic, 2 rings, no oven. Enough to make basic meals but another time I would pack a proper kitchen knife, can opener and veg peeler - though we managed.

This is very much German Mallorca, and the supermarkets are booze halls. No worries, we found the Eroski supermarket with veg + meat (fussy kids) and enjoyed walking on the beach.

We were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the regular cleaning by staff. We were also impressed that we were a little away from very raucous partying (also good with kids).

We would book a room here again no worries.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bed apartment on the end of the building overlooking the pool. We were on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just arrived back from holiday with my husband and two year old son. The hotel was excellent value for money. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Apartments were clean and of a good standard, also very spacious. Nice to have a separate kitchen. It was a lovely holiday ! We would definatlely go back. May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

just arrived back may 2012,ben hur is a nice hotel aparments,clean, spacious,all that u need for a nice break good size balcony u get the sun about 4 oclock pm if u want sun in morning ask for one facing pool. the walls r a bit thin we were unlucky as for 6 nights had somebody snoring half the night,hubby had to go in living room for kip i had ear plugs which were very useful.the pool area is nice very quite wen we were there somedays had pool to r selvs, its abit on small size but hey i,m not an olympic swimmer, it was very cold as well but it cooled u down. staff r quite freindly,a small shop which was quite handy. couple off nights we ordered a chinesse meal at desk which was nice sittng on balcony in sun. beach close by which is lovely all on the flat for nice walks,all in all would recomed for a good reasonly priced hotel for wat we paid what do u want the ritz would come here again. cheryl liverpool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We booked our stay in Ben Hur via Sunweb.nl, which went well. We arrived very early in the morning so we couldn't get into the apartment immediately. In the meantime we dropped our luggage at the reception and simply waited. When we entered our room we were pleasantly surprised. It was big, with a beautiful bathroom and terrace (instead of a balcony of course). The room was clean and the airconditioning worked well.
The apartments are situated well in Playa de Palma, with a bus stop to Palma city very near and enough supermarkts around. It is only a 5-10 minutes walk to the beach. The swimming pool is quite small but very clean. Next to the reception is a small supermarket which is overpriced, but convenient for bread in the morning. For the other groceries I suggest you to go to the Mercadona in Palma. The ladies at the reception are Dutch which can be helpful when you're Dutch. They do speak proper English though.
Restaurants, bars and clubs are within walking distance.
I would recommend Ben Hur to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, location
  • Disliked — Erm...nothing?
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Vista Odin Hotel
Vista Odin Hotel
#50 of 77 in Playa de Palma
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#26 of 77 in Playa de Palma
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Capi Playa
FERGUS Capi Playa
#65 of 77 in Playa de Palma
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mac Paradiso Garden
Mac Paradiso Garden
#56 of 77 in Playa de Palma
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#7 of 77 in Playa de Palma
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
AYA Hotel
AYA Hotel
#34 of 77 in Playa de Palma
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Hur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Hur

Property: Ben Hur
Address: Calle Mar Menor 24, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Hur 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Hur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Hur Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing