We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HSM Golden Playa - summer 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of HSM Golden Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HSM Golden Playa
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Oradea, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HSM Golden Playa - summer 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Pros:
- quiet area, the noisy streets are far away
- free wifi in the lobby area
- mini fridge in the room, free of charge
- the cleaning ladies are friendly

Cons:
- we have arrived at the hotel at 08:00 am and we asked the receptionist if we could have breakfast (our stay included half board): she told us that we have to pay for it, because the check-in is at 14:00 o'clock. We have traveled in several hotels in Spain, but nobody told us to pay the breakfast, others have invited us to have breakfast without us asking them. This was a big dislike.
- found a few dirty dishes
- breakfast is not diversified - few meals to choose from
- the fruit plates were most of the time empty - 5 minutes before food service closing time they brought new fruit, so that even if you wanted to eat some, you didn't have the time. This happened daily, mornings and evenings.


The food was ok, but some of the dishes weren't labeled - you cold see the food but you didn't know exactly what it contains.

Overall, the hotel was ok, but we stayed at other 4 star hotels in Spain: same price, better conditions.

Room Tip: the rooms that have view to the HM Tropic Hotel are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for you opinion. I am glad the general view of the hotel is positive. Nevertheless I would like to comment on some negative points you have mentioned:

- the check-in time, as you correctly pointed out, in all the hotels around the world is at 14:00; this is why the first meal if half board is booked is obviously DINNER. I was surprised to find out that in other hotels you were not charged for it; as we understand it, it is an extra service that must be paid for. I travel a lot and all such extras which are not included I pay for them separately.
- Breakfast not diversified: everyday we have a wide selection of products you may choose from, let me mention just the most important ones: 6 different types of cereals, a wide selection of bread, freshly cooked rolls and pastry, 5-6 kinds of cheese and 7-8 kinds of cold meat, eggs in 2-3 different forms: boiled, scrambled, fried, and you may ask for an omelette your way; cooked and fresh vegetables, fried bacon, beans, 4-6 flavours of jam, honey, milk and juices, soya drink, 2-3 flavours of yogurts, fresh fruit including a fruit salad every day.
- As far as the fruit plates´ changing: it is important to us that all our food reaches our customer very fresh and recently cooked / prepared / portioned. This is why sometimes it takes 2-3 minutes for a new dish to arrive. I am sorry that it was a nuisance for you.

We do appreciate your comments, we shall do our best to improve the service. I hope to see you again in our hotel.

My best regards,

Inés Zachara
Manager Director
HSM Golden Playa ****
HOTELS SAINT MICHEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    56
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Quiet area, since the partying crowd is mainly further down the Playa. Spacious, fresh room and bathroom. Very quiet room on the top floor. Only noise was occasional evening entertainment at the next-door hotel (amusingly 1980-ish), which thankfully ended at 2300 hrs.
Very close to the very nice beach. Did not use the pool. Friendly, multilingual reception staff.
Nice breakfast buffet (actually a pleasant surprise), with no crowding and efficient service.Tables are too closely spaced, however, so hardly any privacy. Evening buffet bland and dull, so we dined elsewhere most nights.
Mainly German tourists on the Playa. You get a felling of being in Germany more than in Spain, but we didn't mind.
Conveniently close to Palma city and the airport.

Room Tip: The top floor is probably the best, to avoid disturbance from other rooms. Our top floor room was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your evaluation and kind remarks.

We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and its location and that you appreciated our service. Our staff will be glad to learn of your positive remarks, because their most prized reward is to know that their efforts to make you feel comfortable have paid off.

We are very sorry that the dinner buffet did not appeal to you. We do our best to satisfy our clients offering every night a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, as well as ingredients to make your own salad or freshly cooked fish / meat/ vegetables. Most of our guests speak very highly of the food served in the hotel, both during breakfast and dinner service.

We would like to thank you for your constructive criticism and confirm that we have passed this information on to the person who is responsible for that area in order to ensure improvement where possible.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

Best wishes,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

An excellent hotel. Stop here every year, when we come to the island of Mallorca in the last 15 years. this year has been beautifully redesigned bar - excellent furniture and the pillars with light. Enjoy a swimming pool covered with white tiles. Well done! Of course special thanks to the Director of the hotel Ines Zachara and all the staff at the hotel. They all become us family! Once again thank you all!

Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinVolzhenina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to evaluate our hotel.

It is great to know that you like our hotel and that you appreciate our service.

Our staff will be very happy to learn of your positive remarks. It is very good for team spirit when our efforts are acknowledged and appreciated; after all, our first priority is to make your holiday great.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in Mallorca next summer.

With the warmest of greetings,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location. You just cross a not too busy alley and the wide sandy beach is for your pleasure. The majority of the guests are german-speaking, but we had no problem as at the reception the staff speak good english too. The rooms are cleaned every day, food is really tasty with a wide variety of cakes, cupcakes, sometimes even paella and sparkling wine every morning! There might be a problem with sunbeds and umbrellas at the pool, but people come and leave, so you might have to wait at the bar a bit, but not too long. Although there is no animation, we just loved our stay here and would recommend for people who are not into wild noisy parties but seek romance, relax and good 4* quality

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to evaluate our hotel.

It is great to know that you liked our hotel and its location and that you have enjoyed your holiday.

Our staff will be very happy to learn of your positive remarks. It is very good for team spirit when our efforts are acknowledged and appreciated; after all, our first priority is to make your holiday great.

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

With the warmest of greetings,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was thorn between a 3 or 4 star rating but I think a 3+ is more realistic. It's not that it was bad, but it was so very unremarkable on all accounts. The staff is nice and helpful but the quality of the service is average, they do their job ok but don't go the extra mile to make you feel good. Most of the guests are German, a few Russians, some East Europeans (us included :)) and some Brits. Therefore, the common language in the hotel is German, which is not familiar to us but we managed to get along ok with English and some Spanish I speak(not very good). I think that it's a matter of what your expectations are and for the 1200 euros we spent for a room with half board in a 4 stars hotel we felt we didn't get much value for the money and the hotel didn't feel like a 4 stars one.

What we appreciated:
- location - it's just across a promenade from the beach; this is very convenient taking into account that the cost for a chair or an umbrella on the beach is 5.35 euros (????) - so basically for 2 persons it's 16 euros a day to get chairs and umbrella on the beach, seems way too much to me, comparing to other places we've been to (Ciprus, Greece, Tenerife,etc)
- view from our window - we saw the sea, the pool and the sunset, it was a great view
- quiet most of the times - the promenade is quiet, no cars are allowed, there's no music playing around the pool and no animation going on in the evening, which for us was great, we could listen to whatever music we wanted and we couldn't hear cars from our balcony, just the sea
- loungers were available most of the day around the pool and the pool, even if it looked very small to us when we first saw it, wasn't very crowded, only 5-6 people max at a time in the pool, so you could swim
- hotel is small comparing to many others in the area and this makes it less crowded, which is something we appreciated; the restaurant is very well organised, you receive a table when you go for your first meal and you keep that table for the whole stay - this means that whenever you decide to go eat you will find the table free, which is great comparing to other hotels where the restaurant was overcrowded and you had to wait for a table
- wifi - it was not free in the room but not that expensive either, 15 euros for a week is quite decent comparing to what we've been asked for in other hotels. There is free wifi in the public areas and it's working ok, not great but you can manage

What we didn't like so much
- food - it was blend and tasteless most of the times. Fruits and raw vegetables are good but the cooked stuff is mostly over-boiled, those people haven't got a clue what "al dente" or at least close to "al dente" means. It was all mush - rice, pasta, vegetables, you name it. There were a few ok courses, but non of them made me say great. Some of the pastry was ok (tiramisu in a cup was one of the ok ones and the muffins) but others were just sad, the cream used in cookies was from the tube, which is not something you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was boring, same stuff for 7 days: beans, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, some salami, some cheese, yogurt, cereals, fruit.
- we had twin beds - oooo the horror, we tried to put them together but they would move so we ended up each in his bed and I hated that
- room - clean but very basic and small. The furniture might have been replaced in recent times but it's poor quality and you can see that at first glance, doors don't close properly and so on. TV is really small and you have some Spanish, German and Russian stations, almost nothing for English speakers (just BBC if I remember correctly). This wasn't that important for us though, we just spent nights in the room, we were out all day.
- there's a poor excuse of a spa inside the hotel which is free to use but it's very small and dated. The inside pool is the smallest I've ever seen and there's an old hot tub. The sauna works only if you ask at the reception and the shower doesn't have any soap or shower gel, you have to bring your own. Wouldn't recommend the hotel for the winter because of this.

We hated:
- elevator - really small, claustrophobic. We were lucky we didn't have to use it because we were on the first floor, but it wouldn't fit more then 3 persons or 2 with a small luggage
- noise in the morning from cleaning, making us get up at 7:30, 8 in the morning. I want to rest during my holidays and sleep late and it was impossible to do that this time. You could hear the cleaning ladies dragging chairs and beds on the floor in the rooms around you and one day they started using a drilling machine at 7:30 in the morning - who in Gods name does that in a decent hotel???

All in all I would recommend the hotel but just for it's location and for the fact that most of the times it's quiet and visitor friendly, but getting the half board is not a good idea. There a plenty of restaurants around, I think there must be something more decent to eat elsewhere. The beach is great and so is the promenade around it and you can buy all sort of excursions, so you won't get bored. Palma is also very close by, 20 minutes max by buss and it's worth a visit. The Palma Aquarium is 500 m away.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view to the HM Tropical hotel pool might be noisier because they have loud music i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raluca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion in Trip Advisor, I am glad the general impression of the hotel is good.

I do appreciate all the positive things you mention, let me comment on some negative points you have written about:

- food: I was sorry to hear you were not too fond of the taste, but I understand having fresh vegetables and olive oil / vinegar (different kinds), grilled fish/meat/vegetables, pasta and a selection of spices one can do his own dish according to his preferences.
As far as “al dente” matter goes: we never overcook pasta or vegetables knowing that exposed in hot trays in the buffet they still are being cooked and sometimes they lose the “al dente” texture; I am sorry you did not mention this problem while staying in the hotel, we would have done our best to serve you the dishes directly from the kitchen.
Last but not least, the breakfast: I was surprised you did not like it, I (and most of our guests) believe there is a wide choice: 5-6 different cereals, dried fruits, 5-7 types of cold meat and cheese, a wide selection of bread and rolls, hot dishes: 3-4 kinds of eggs, bacon, vegetables, sausages, a great choice of pastry, 4-6 flavours of marmalade, honey, just to mention the most important ones. Even if you are staying one or two weeks you are able to have different food almost every day.

-rooms: we do not receive complaints about the size of our rooms, on the contrary, as a matter of fact these are much bigger in comparison with other hotels in the area, it is true we have just twin beds in our rooms and we apologise if that did not suit your needs.

-spa area: especially in summer season there are very few clients who use spa facilities, therefore we ask our guests to let us know half an hour before using sauna / Turkish bath so we do not waste the energy in vain; thank you for suggesting providing soap in the shower (we offer soap in the Reception but I agree a soapbox might be a better idea), I am sorry you were disappointed about the size of the swimming pool.

-elevator: it is a normal size elevator for the hotels which is suitable for up to 6 persons.

-noise in the morning: I am very sorry to hear your sleep was interrupted by the hotel´s staff; I have already spoken to the head of the cleaning department to be more careful while cleaning the rooms as far as noise is concerned, especially in the mornings. Please accept my apologies, it is a pity you did not speak to us to solve the problem during your stay.

Again, I am grateful for your opinion, we do our best to improve and offer the quality service to our guests and your point of view is important.

Should you need any further information, do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

My best regards,
Inés Zachara / HSM Golden Playa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sizewell
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

5 nights - mum, dad, 15 year old daughter, 9 year old son - super place, super location -excellent hotel food at half board - stayed 500m down the road at Fontanellas Hotel last August - also superb - love the area and the weather and the convenience from East Mid - super town centre 20 mins away by bus going and 10 mins back by taxi after a few scoops recommend to any families - lovely beach across the road from the hotel - BUT cheapest little supermarket adjoined to the Fontanellas hotel - 2/3 price of beach road 'supermarkets / Spar shops' worth 5 mins walk --- go enjoy

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWatsonTibshelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful for your evaluation and your kind remarks.

We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and you have enjoyed your holiday with us!

Our employees will be very pleased to learn of your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our hotel chain “Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.


With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel from 13th to 23rd of August together with my girlfriend. I hope my review will help other travellers to make a better choice:

Pluses:
- looks "deceivingly good" on the photos
- sea view from the room and balcony is amazing
- the room is nice, however, if you look closer, bed linen is kinda old
- clean inside and cleaning maidens are fast, polite and nice
- kind and helpful English-speaking reception personnel (thank you very much!)
- dinners were Ok but with some issues
- private Wi-Fi is good
- "Eroski" supermarket is across the road and "Mercadona" (cheaper) is few blocks away
- 15th and 25th bus stops near the hotel, which makes your trip to Palma easier and more comfortable, fee is around 2 euro per person

Minuses:
- hotel personnel looks tired and works witout enthusiasm (with the exception of cleaning maidens and reception desk)
- hotel's target category is families, so do think about that, if you are willing to distract and have fun in the evenings, or want to meet somebody and have a friendly chat
- room card says that the hotel staff does not respond for tourist belongings in the rooms; Why shouldn't they respond for the safety of my things during our vacation in the hotel is a question too. I booked a safe for additional 21 euro, but I was still worried...and why should I pay for safe, I get it usually for free in other hotels ("4 Points by Sheraton" Barcelona, 3 star hotel; "Tara Sentido", Montenegro, 4 star hotel)
- no guards inside the hotel lobby (in "4 Points by Sheraton" Barcelona, there was a professional guard in the uniform on the zero floor and access to hotel lifts was arranged via proxy card, so no other people could sneak in, despite the fact that it was a center of the city with nice establishment around). Why am I so worried about that? Because I saw few frauds-thimbleriggers on the street near the hotel; 3 guys were fooling people - one is looking for police, the other is pretending to be an interested person and the last one is actually doing the gambling part - hiding ball among 3 small intransparent glasses, person who finds the ball, receives money - this type of fraud is known almost everywhere; it means that there maybe some problems in the area around this hotel;
- hotel requires total renovation
- there were small ants in the room, little insects are always a problem
- smell of chlorine and chemicals from water in the bathroom and on any floor
- you cannot use water to make some tea or coffee from water dispenser - it is a technical water to bathe and to wash clothes
- chlorine smell and look in the corridors ,akes you feel inside medical facility, which is not comfortable on vacation
- air conditioning is weak and is not cooling air properly, keep balcony door shut and curtains closed during the day, because it takes several hours to cool the air in the room
- bathroom looks old, no shower cabin, soap is very small
- towels hang in the bathroom in a very place where people bathe, how can I bathe and keep them dry? Remove them from handle to put somewhere else...
- free WiFi is very slow in the lobby, tried several times and decided to buy private Wi-Fi for 15 euro - 7 days, works fine, but loses signal sometimes, I pay 12$ a month for 100mbps fiberlink at home, so it is quite expensive. I would not spend money having amazing connection for free...
- epic fail - when entering the restaurant, some waiter asked me whether I am new here and then told me in a very rude way to change my long shorts to trousers, because he will not allow me to enter like this to the restaurant. Nobody told me that such strange rule exist in this hotel. There are several polite ways to explain the hotel rules and policies, instead I heard "Go and change your clothes". Every person who ever studied any English will understand what does it mean, because English does not exist without word "Please" and for a moment, you my dear travellers, could imagine a better way to explain. For instance "Dear, sir, we have several rules spread within this dining area, one of them requires men to wear a long trousers during evening meals, however, since you are new here, you can enter, but I am kindly ask you to respect that rule beginning from tomorrows meal" Do you feel the difference? I am 100% sure you feel it now. But what if I cannot wear trousers, when temperature is above 30 degrees, why should I feel stressed during my holidays and everybody in the dining area could see and hear that I was rudely thrown out from a usual room with too many tables? Clearly, I was treated impolitely...
- Most amazing thing that girls with mini-skirts and mini-shorts enter without any problems.
- Another amazement - waiter tells me where my place is, what is that??? In every hotel I have been, everybody asked me politely, where do I want to sit. And that guy continued, that he will be showing me "my place" every day, instead of letting us to choose on our own; place and table has been changing every dinner and only after several dinners, we were given a certain table kept for us always, this is clearly a chaos - tables were changing every dinner, then they stopped doing that...nobody asked us whether we like it or not, because company at near tables may trouble you a lot
- after a few days we understood that drinks cost money at dinner time, mornings - they are free of charge, how can drinks be free in the morning and cost smth in the evening? when they have no other options except HB..."Half-board" means that lunches and dinners with drinks are included and this is a cheap way to make some cash, not even a glass of free water is given during dinner
- some waitress started removing our coffee cups from the table without saying "Hi" or asking whether we want to order some drinks every morning and evening, letting us no choice at all, wow ;-( great service, we had to stop and return her, then ask for drinks again and again
- places between tables are about 20-30 cm, no private space and privacy at all
- fitness center are 2-3 gym devices disconnected from power supply, placed on the 3 square meters surface
- no hotel beach with sits and umbrellas, only naked sand and hit...despite the fact that other hotels to the left - "Tropical" and to the right, have umbrellas, so you do not need to spend 15 euro to buy one and carry it with you
- only 9 TV channels oO, I had over 70 in Sheraton (Barcelona)
- hotel pool is being filled with chemicals every day before 9:00 and after 21:00, If you are willing to have a romantic bathe in the evening, probably you shouldn't
- animation from hotel "Tropical" may spoil your "getting to sleep". Sunrise at the left wing of the building, facing Tropical, will not let you sleep long, hitting your room
- no animation in the evenings, I heard some singing once or tice during 10 days period, which is strange thing
- bar area is usually empty because glass of "Coca-cola" cots 2,10 euro (hot bad, ha?)
- the higher class hotel represents, the more freedom is rendered to the customer. I was in "4 Points by Sheraton" in Barcelona (3 stars), "Tara Sentida" in Montenegro (4 stars), even 3 star boutique hotel "Logatero" in Bulgaria and felt happy being there, but this one is "very modest hotel for German families"

Summary: things are not that worse, if quality control department will conduct
- some serious talking with dining-room personnel "about saying Hi" to people; "about not removing coffee/tea cups" without asking, whether we want some coffee or not, basing on their own judgements and observations; about not changing tables every meal (either we should be provided with the same table every meal or any other on my wish); about being polite to people
- remove "trousers" rules at the dinners (as if trousers could make a restaurant out of a usual room with snacks)
- make drinks free at dinners - coffee, tea, juices, water - because they are free at lunch time; I am not asking for beer or wine
- increase quantity of TV channels
- add shower cabin
- add some rennovation at least in bathrooms (water dispensers are old)
- change air conditioning and water filtering to remove chlorine smell within hotel coridors
- add sits and umbrellas to the beach and and make them free of charge for hotel residents, I am not interested in staying near some pool all the time while there is an amazing sea outside
- add some nice animation instead of weak singing 3-4 classic songs at some random evenings
- some improvements do not require investments at all (some rules, for instance)

Well, I got used to that hotel during my stay, but there is a very large room for improvements, so I would suggest to pick some other place to stay.

I do beleive that arguing with disappointed customer in public, will tell everything to me; it is a very bad policy in any place.

P.S My advise is to pick some other hotel, too many issues arrised at this place

P.P.S check out "Iberostar Royal El Cupido", if you are a young pair w/o children willing to get some comfort and romance

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor facing the sea directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oleg-voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Gerente at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your opinion about the HSM Golden Playa hotel in Tripadvisor.

I do appreciate the positive points you included, nevertheless, as the Manageress of the hotel, I wish to clarify some issues which can be found in your estimation:

First of all, I would like to refer to your criticism about “no young faces among the staff and hotel guests”.
It can hardly be accepted as a complaint! As far as the hotel´s employees, what counts is their professionalism and friendliness (of which MOST of our guests think very highly). As you understand the age of our guests is not of a competence of the hotel whatsoever.

Secondly, the fact that you had to wait for your room for two hours.
I would like to remind you that in most hotels all over the world the check-in time is at 14.00h (as the earliest).
It is our priority to provide the rooms to our guests as soon as possible, but in high season with the hotel fully booked we hardly have rooms available before 12 noon (check-out time) and then they have to be cleaned and checked by the head of the department.
You were given the room at midday, TWO hours before the regular check-in time.

Safety in the hotel:
Again, most of the hotels I know and have stayed in never accept any responsibility for their guests´ belongings. There is a safety deposit box in every room so our clients can use it for their most valuable possessions.
It costs extra money (mostly because of the insurance) and this information is given in our web page and touroperators´ brochures.
There is no guard in the hotel as it is a quiet and peaceful establishment where no security staff is needed.

Tap and pool water :
The quality both of the tap and pool water is controlled everyday by our maintenance staff according to the legal regulations.
Also once a month an outside enterprise does all the measurements in order to make sure everything is under control. I checked all the records within the time you stayed in the hotel and everything was perfect.
The opening hours for the pool is a common practice in order to guarantee the quality of pool water which needs the “recovery period”.

Hotel facilities:
I appreciate your point of view about the need of some renovation works. I may tell you that for the last few years MANY refurbishment performances were carried out and we shall still continue to work in order to improve the hotel facilities.
The air conditioning was checked in your room (404) and it works perfectly, we have had no complaints so far from other guests either.


WIFI:
There is a free access to WIFI in the lobby and bar area and it is working fine, we have received very few complaints about it this year (and the problem was solved as soon as possible). But sometimes, depending on the number of users, the connection might be slower. Therefore there is a possibility of contracting a “private” WIFI with extra cost (the information about all extra costs is given in our web page and brochures).

Dining room policy:
The policy to assign a fixed table is conditioned by the size of the dining room and is applied to guarantee our guests´ comfort, I must say this measure is applauded by most of our clients.
The obligation of wearing long trousers in a 4 star hotel is not unusual and shared in most of the 4 star hotels in Playa de Palma.
If you were interested in having drinks free at your meals, “all inclusive” hotels might be an option next time.
Again, our clients are informed that drinks are not included in dinner and that the “suitable clothes” are required.

And last but not least I would like to refer to your rude and quite disrespectful statements about both the hotel staff members and clients such as:
“some rude beaver”; “old beaver guy“, Does he know that people like me give him ability to receive salary?”; “some man-looking lady”; Germans (…) hearing and staring at me and my girlfriend as they were brought up in the wild places where people do not talk to each other”, “everybody stare at you like animals, attempting to hear what you are saying, probably having boring lifes of their own”…
I will not comment on that, I believe the quoted lines speak for themselves and I was appalled and disgusted by them.

Should you need any further information, do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

My best regards,

Inés Zachara
HSM Golden Playa Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.0 mi away
HM Tropical
HM Tropical
#15 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB El Cid
THB El Cid
#17 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#4 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
#16 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#19 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Golden Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Golden Playa

Property: HSM Golden Playa
Address: Calle Marbella 14, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HSM Golden Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GENERAL: The 4* hotel HSM Golden Playa is situated in front of a long, sandy beach. The hotel has been recently refurbished (winter 2010-11) and offers high quality facilities and service. Its superb location and staff's friendliness are acknowledged among its faithful clients who visit the hotel year after year and offer the best recommendations. The hotel opens from February to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Golden Playa is situated in a sea front position in Playa de Palma, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. Playa de Palma extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. The most outstanding features of the hotel are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (12 km) and the airport (4 km); being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, ideal to go by tourist train, by bike or simply walking. Impressive marine park "Palma Aquarium", one of the biggest in Europe, is only steps away from the hotel. The water park "Aquacity" is situated 6 km away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 10 km away. At its east end there is sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is only few meters away from the hotel. The hotel HSM Golden Playa has a direct access to the beach and the sea promenade. ROOMS: The hotel offers refurbished double and single rooms that give a fresh and more up-to-date look to the hotel. All the rooms offer modern decoration with bright, mediterranean colours. All of the rooms include a bathroom, hairdryer, heating and air conditioning, mini fridge, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), music channel, LCD satellite TV and a balcony! All of double rooms come with a spectacular sea view (direct or lateral). The hotel also offers comfortable and cozy Junior Suites, with a direct sea view. Junior Suites consist of a living room and bedroom with LCD satellite TV and a bathroom, spread in 29 m². GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers a half board food and beverage package (breakfast and dinner). In 2011 the restaurant began to offer an outstanding buffet with show cooking. All meals are served in thematic buffet style and offer a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, a variety of homemade desserts and fruit. Drinks in half board are not included in the price (dinner). The clients are asked to wear suitable clothes for dinner. FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious swimming pool for adults and a separate one for children, with spectacular sea view! There is a spacious terrace with sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool, with its "chill out" corner, an ideal place to have a drink while enjoying beautiful sunset. In winter the hotel offers indoor swimming pool and "wellness & relax" area which includes: Turkish bath, hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna, small gym, with no extra cost. Refurbished and spacious common areas. Bar indoors, game room, meeting room. Storage place for bicycles. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. There are also baby cots and high chairs available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. Pool towels and bathrobes for rent (with a deposit). WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car and rent a bike. Massage service (extra charge). We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: The hotel is specialized and certified in cycling tourism: not only the hotel has a well prepared storage room for bicycles, but also it offers the general information about cycling routes, meals adapted to the cyclists' needs, etc. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HSM Golden Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Playa Hotel Playa De Palma
Golden Playa De Palma
HSM Golden Playa Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing