We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kontiki Playa
Nearby Hotels
Grupotel Orient(Playa de Palma)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
HM Tropical(Playa de Palma)
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Playa de Palma(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Java(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Iberostar Cristina(Playa de Palma)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pamplona(Playa de Palma)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
THB El Cid(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda(Playa de Palma)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
8
23
20
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
23
20
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

i stayed in an ajoining hotel the management have lost control of hotel its full of young scum yobs all krauts thicko teenagers.... hanging off balconies at 5am i hate the trash

Room Tip: if english do not use hotel you will never ever sleep
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 0646robh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Booked the Kontiki Playa at short notice for a 5 night B&B break. The price and the location of the hotel was the deciding factor for booking this place. A real bargain. The hotel is fairly close to the airport but because we were only arriving late at night we decided to get a taxi as my husband has poor mobility and uses a disabled scooter. Firstly, the journey was literally a 5 minute drive away from the airport but the female taxi driver insisted (as we arrived) that the price was 17 Euros, I gave her a 20 note and she just drove off.
Well, we are not misers but the fare in an ordinary car was extortionate for the distance. Our advice, even if you are travelling with a wheelchair.. is to get the bus. From the hotel back to the departure doors at the airport was only 5 euros for both of us..the buses have a ramp that extends from the door, it's great. There is a wide area with bars to park in once you are on the bus and it stops right outside the back of the Kontiki Playa.

The hotel is disabled friendly, the front door has a ramp and the pool area also. The lift is small but quite adequate. We were on the 6th floor and had no problem charging the scooter in the room overnight. The staff are pleasant and friendly.
The view is superb, for a budget hotel it couldn't be closer to the beach and the nightlife. The area is El Arenal/Ca'an Pastilla more than the Palma area, it is more or less opposite the beach cafe area Balinario 10.

The room was spotless, the cleaner came everyday and changed the towels etc. The beds were comfy, the bathroom basic but ok. The shower was brilliant, superb pressure and always hot water available. A couple of gripes though, the bathroom needs a hook behind the door...the air conditioning needs updating. The fan on the ceiling is just not functional enough, it was still 28deg in the evening and the room was stifling. We ended up sleeping with the patio door wide open, quite willing to risk mosquitos and the noise just because of the oppressive heat.
That definitely affected our stay, we were a bit exhausted from lack of sleep and most days had a snooze on the beach.
We were also in the room next to the lift and the first couple of nights were awful because of young revellers coming back to the hotel in the early hours, laughing and shouting, slamming doors etc. So inconsiderate, but then we thought.. maybe we are just getting old...! We found that the majority of the customers were young Germans and they were very loud. The beaches were packed with groups of teenagers having a great time in the sun but also the few annoying noisy and drunken types in the middle of the day with airhorns and loudhailers. Of course this is nothing to do with the hotel itself but with hindsight we realised that it is probably a hotel more appropriate for the young and trendy types.
The breakfast was ok, nothing special but certainly adequate. We weren't keen on the orange juice or the coffee but no big deal.
Most days we went to the Kontiki cafe at the front of the hotel for snacks later in the day, the food is great, the staff are very pleasant and appear to enjoy working there, particularly Almo.

We took a ride on the train that goes back and forth the entire length of the bay and back, only 4 euros each and a great way to see the place. We also took a guided tour on the Segways. The rental shop is literally up the road from the hotel and our guide Alex was very helpful. My husband has poor mobility but had no problem at all going up and down the bay on the Segway, it was fantastic. Definitely well worth the experience.
Back at the hotel..after 3 or 4 nights of poor sleep we found the other residents around the pool were really getting on our nerves, hammered, loud and boisterous, the men were oggling any female that walked past giving them marks out of ten..etc..!
Just young people having fun. We did enjoy the holiday but arrived home exhausted and would probably avoid the area on our next visit to Majorca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift, it might just guarantee a quiet night..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beula46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Although we stayed at Iberostar Royal Cupido we could as well stay at Kontiki Playa - hotels are just wall to wall and to say it spoiled our vacation is to say nothing. It is a real mad house full of hordes of absolutely crazy German teenagers who yelled bloody murder all nights from their balconies, some of them absolutely naked, drunk or drugged out of their heads. It is a shame that the managers of both hotels are too "polite" to interfere and let it go. Being strongly against air conditioners, we had to sleep with closed doors deprived of fresh sea air every night.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
6  Thank Ivetta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hebben op de bovenste etage gelegen en geen last gehad van geluiden van de bovenburen. Lagere etages kun je wel eens loopgeluiden horen
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sehr gutes Essen,super Koeche
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews