We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in Playa de Palma, We will come back in September”
Review of Hotel Sant Jordi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sant Jordi
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just returned from a week stay with my partner and 2 year old son, we can not find any complaints other than time, which obviously has nothing to do with the hotel. The staff, lovely they can not do enough for you, the food very nice, and of course is not a luxury hotel but it's worth a visit!

We have some friends living in Palma, we couldn't stay in their house, they had no room for us this time and they recommended to come to this hotel that is very near of everything that is important: airport, center, aquarium, lot of shops around, and overall the beach first line !

We will definitely be back to this hotel, probably September.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pedrom555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, Community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hi, Pedro!
Thank you for reviewing for experience in our hotel. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed being with us and hope to see you back when you´re in Mallorca.

Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We just came back from 4 weeks Sant Jordi.
Good location, nearby the beach..in a more quit zone of Playa de Palma.
The room was ready by our arrival in the morning...Our holiday could start!
All comfort for a 3*** hotel is there:a large room, free wifi zone,large pool,new sofabeds at the pool...free towels a the pool...
The only thingwe missed (espec for a longer stay) was a minibar in our room...
What makes a stay in Sant Jordi special??The staff!
The poeple at the reception:always there to help, Esther (our room maid):thank you for an Always clean room!!!,Cathy and Tanny (they work in the bar and restaurant) became our friends!!!They are the best!
Food:every day we saw the buffet becomming larger..more choice!
So:don't doubt to spend your holiday in Sant Jordi!
See you soon!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear Peter,
We're very happy that you had a good time with us! Come back as soon as you can and we'll make sure you have the best experience with us!

Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

yesterday 3 hours after my arrivel at Sant Jordy hotel I ve been robbed.There were stollen all my money from my room. Very sad , didn t get any support from the stuff of the hotel.The manager didn t even answer the phone , he didn t come meet and chat to his robbed customer.The room is insecure, the safety box it s the most vintage object, probably during Franco s time.Been to the police, spent there 3hours waiting in the line, because there were other people in my situation, certanlly stollen stuff from other the hotels and from the beach.I warmly recommend not to put youself, your holiday savings in danger by staying in this St.Jordy.The thievery happened around 3 p.m during both doors of my room were closed.bizzare isn t it?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank marius b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, Community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hello, Marius,

We're very sorry to know this was your experience at our hotel. We assure you we have implemented better ways to make our hotel safer and more pleasant for our guests. Our apologies if our staff wasn't very helpful at the moment. If you ever were to come back, be sure you'd have a whole different experience in a good way.
We hope all is well with you now.

Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Summary:
 
I give our experience at the hotel a rating of 3.5 although it had the potential to be a 4 if there had not been some annoying circumstances.  

The hotel is not a boutique hotel. It is a collection of several houses that don't quite fit together as a unified space.  For example, you have to enter the hotel through the restaurant (where the small reception desk is located) and you get to the garden through the breakfast room. 

Would I recommend the hotel?  A qualified, yes. Would I stay here again?    Yes, but with lower expectations. 

We stayed here in a chilly part of March, 2011 and the inside space was important to us. Thus, things like no heat during the day when our room was cold and no hot water much of the time were significant to our comfort. 

Positives:

- Ana, the owner's daughter, was friendly and very helpful. 
- the place was spotlessly clean. 
- the bed linen and towels were fine quality. 
-the room was quiet and nicely decorated.  
- great location, in the old town.
- lovely garden and outdoor courtyard. 
- free WIFI connection in restaurant area. 

Average

- breakfast - very little fresh fruit available.
- owner's management style.  I expected him to be more customer friendly but he was neutral or disinterested much of the time.  My impression was that he really didn't want to be doing this job. 

Negative or annoying:

- the room and breakfast area were cold. 
- Lack of room heating on three occasions.  Came back to room after a chilly day of sightseeing.  Turned up thermostat to 21 C and waited for heat.  After one hour of cold air and a 19 C room, I talked to the owner's daughter and she turned the heat on.  It is turned off all day regardless of outside temperature.
- seldom had hot water for a bath or shower.
- our room was large and spacious but had a tiny 14" TV which you couldn't see from the bed. 
- the "hotel" had no common lounge area where one could sit and read  or have a glass of wine rather than being in the room. 
- breakfast was served late with the hot food not served until 9 AM. That's a little late if you want to go off sightseeing for the day. 
- we were disappointed that the restaurant is seasonal and does not open until April.  This would have helped offer a more pleasant indoor space. 

Conclusion:

I understand that many of our concerns would not apply in the hot summer months, but the hotel is open all year and I'm sure these issues would apply from November to March.  
I feel most of our concerns could be dealt with by the owner.  "The hotel could be better". It could be a four star experience with some changes. 

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lockandwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, Community Manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us such a thoughtful review. We will take into account your opinion and we're sorry there were some inconveniences. We're working on improving and if you were to come back, you'd be coming back to a better hotel experience. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

It is a very nice hotel,clean,very nice,friendly stuff,placed in a good location,very close to the beach.Had no problems or bad incidents.I highly recommend this hotel to everybody

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeeDeeTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hi, DeeDee!
We're glad to hear you had a good time at Sant Jordi! Please come back soon, we promise the best experience possible :)

Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

If you travel around Easter in Mallorca and you wish to include the Semana Santa activities in your holidays - then Pollenca is recommended by some guides as it is indeed a good place to visit.
Not only come here for the good Friday procession, but also the procession on Thursday evening is quite an event so you may want to stay here also on Thursday night . The procession on Sunday is more low key

The hotel itself is very pleasant. Breakfast is fine and the garden is a little oasis . you need to ask for their parking parking - because that is not so easy if you travel by car

Please note that their rates are cash rates. upon checkout you get the bill in cash or the higher bill when paying by credit card - so you can save the credit card commission if you wish to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hello!
We're very happy you had a good time with us. Please come back next Holy Week or whenever you feel like having a good time in Mallorca!
Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

This hotel is not a big one. The staff is very kind! There were very helpful when I wrote an e-mail before our trip and we had any question in there, they helped.
The room was enough spacious, just the spare bad was always in the way. The air condition is perfect!

We had two problems with the hotel. One of them is, the cleaning. I had to clean the headboard behind our bed. They made the cleaning everyday, but our bed never get the bedspread. Just one time, when we left that accidentally on the bed.
The toilet paper was unusable, it was very weak. The soap was a little green soap, so we bought a Dove soap for 1Euro, and we use that in all week. The towels were changed every day, and mopping also.

Other problem was the food. At breakfast we find only one kind of cold meat which was delicious. We didn't taste the warm breakfast, they had 3minutes egg,5 minutes egg, some sausages, toast.
In the morning you can drink fruit juices, ex. apple, orange, multi-fruit, pineapple. Hot drinks: some various coffee, chocolate, cappuccino, tea. There were muesli, jam, lot kind of bread. So the foods variety was good enough, just we can't find too delicious that.
In the evening you can choose lot kind of salads, a special Spanish food, and 4 main dishes. One of the main dishes was fish, on every day. The main dishes were for example chicken, pork, lasagne, some cabbage with meat. The Spanish food were paella. Two times were bolognese spaghetti. The soups were terrible. The ice cream is very delicious. Two other desserts were at every dinner, these were OK as well.
However our vacations were great, these problems were not so big for us.

The location is very good, near the sandy beach, the Eroski supermarket, the Palma Aquarium, the bus stop. The beach is not crowded, because not too much hotel there. Also hotel's pool are very good with the beach umbrellas and sunbeds.
They had luggage room so last day we put our luggages into this room and we spent hours next to the hotel's pool.
If you need you can ask hair dryer at reception. You have to give it back when you leave the hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Szilvacska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantjordi, Community manager at Hotel Sant Jordi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hello, Szilvacska!
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit to Sant Jordi. We're sorry you had inconveniences with the cleaning. This will be notified so it doesn't happen again. About the food, we now offer a wider range of plates you can choose from depending on your taste!
We´re very glad to know you had a good time and hope to see you back!
Kind regards,

Hotel Sant Jordi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raxa
Hotel Raxa
#68 of 78 in Playa de Palma
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#11 of 78 in Playa de Palma
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Java
Hotel Java
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HSM Golden Playa
HSM Golden Playa
#31 of 78 in Playa de Palma
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#24 of 78 in Playa de Palma
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Jordi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Jordi

Address: Calle Grua 5, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Jordi 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant Jordi is a great 3 star accommodation, located oceanfront in the cosmopolitan Playa de Palma, perfect for people who want to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere in a stylish well placed on the island of Majorca. In the Hotel Sant Jordi one can find an outdoor pool and hot tub, free parking, free Wi- Fi throughout the hotel and a new lounge dining room, which has an area of "Show Cooking" in which the various dishes are prepared in direct view of the diners. Our newly renovated rooms feature parquet flooring, renovated balcony, satellite TV, air conditioning and full equiped bathroom. Our accommodation offers you an easy access to Airport at only 3 km and to Palma city whose center is approximately 8 kms and " Palma Aquarium" which is only 300 m, in its 55 aquariums live 8,000 specimens from 700 achieving faithfully represent species habitats and ecosystems in oceans and seas. Within walking distance you will find the bustling activity and fun of the famous tourist resort of Can Pastilla, where you can enjoy a lot of cafes and restaurants. Furthermore, having near the hotel several bus lines stop, guests can easily go to enjoy the famous tourist spots such as the Port of Palma, the Cathedral, the Renaissance walls and other unique buildings, illustrating the different periods and styles art of cultures that passed through the Balearic Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sant Jordi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant Jordi Majorca/Playa De Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing