We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

A mostly german hotel which is very clean offers good sized rooms and a great choice at breakfast. Certainly deserves its 4 star rating. Also good value for the money. Evening 3 course meal at 22 euro also a bargain.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and 4 month old baby. We had a ground floor room which was very dated and dark to the point of being dank. We requested to move to another room with a balcony but apparently there were none available. The internet was extremely slow during the day, my husband ended up having to wake at 2am to work. We found the reception staff to be unhelpful with the exception of Jorge, who went out of his way to help my husband with printing.

The communal facilities, in particular the outdoor pool were first class. The fitness centre was enormous compared to other hotels and only saw other people using it once during our stay. The spa looked great but we didn't utilize it, there was even an ice room.

Breakfast buffet was pretty good, the staff at the cooking stations were lovely. Our favourite was the fresh crepes with Nutella. We had the dinner buffet on the first night which was ok. Try Andaluz for tapas, a short walk from the hotel, which was delicious and you could order half serves which means you can try more.

All in all, the facilities of the hotel are good and if you can request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool it would be a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetsetterPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed somewhere where every single member of staff I dealt with have been so lovely, welcoming and helpful.

The rooms was perfect with a private garden to allow me to relax and sunbathe when my 2year old needed a nap. The head of the restaurant ensured I was comfortable when I dined with my 2 year old and even suggested I take dinner back to my room for my husband who was working late.

The hotel also supplied me with a bottle of free wine on my birthday (a lovely and totally unexpected gesture).

We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

At Grupotel in playa de palma you will feel very welcome.

The place is a lovely hotel just 400 meters from the beach. This location is perfect if you want to visit playa de palma and don´t want the noice from the beach at night where the young (18-28 years old) party. The pool area is very good and there is almost everytime a sunbathing chair avaible and the indoor pool and spa area is very good and offers a lot to all kind of people.

The food and restaurant:

We only booked with breakfeast and this was a mistake because the restaurant is very good. Good menu / buffet that changes every night and also cooks how "live" cooks beef, fish and much more every night and also omelette and more for breakfeast.

And now to the very importent part: THE STAFF:-)

This hotel has the most excellent staff and specially the waiters/servants. The restaurant chief Antonio always welcomes you and make you feel special and takes care of every little thing. We had the joy of having "Xisco" the waiter, how is totally excellent. Always smiling, funny, good stories and all together just a very good guy with good advice for redwine also. So if you visit this hotel then do yourself the pleasure of be seatet in his area. The rest of the personal is also very good but these two guys makes is extra special.

This is a must experience for people how love a good service.

Room Tip: Really good rooms all around but take a room with pool view. From the 3 floor you will have some vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnrisorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Booked this for my wife and 2 year old daughter based on Tripadvisor - ok, it wasn't cheap but it is a truly lovely hotel and gets 4.9 stars from me and I am very very picky.

Positives: +Staff super friendly +Breakfast: WOW, 50 metres of choice for everyone with friendly staff. +Spotlessly clean, doors and walls are quite thick so not too much noise from those around you. +Rooms clean and cleaned daily +Pretty accessible for buggies and wheelchairs.

Negatives: only two - the standing fridge in the room was a little bit loud at night, so I had to unplug it each day which meant moving it in and out - not the end of the world though. Sadly, wifi is NOT free (despite what you might read elsewhere) - you have to pay extra for this and in March/April 2013 this was €15 for the week.

Details: this is near the Balneario 4 stand on the S'Arenal promenade - it takes about 12 minutes to walk to the sea front from the hotel. Having lived in Majorca in the past, this is slap dab in the middle of the German-speaking zone which might put a few Brits off, but the Germans in this hotel were all very friendly and quiet type with no British riff-raff anywhere which was fine for us.

We did not have a room with a pool view, we had a ground floor room with a garden which was great for our little one to round in.

Public buses: There are 2 public bus stops close by:

(1) Av. America/Taurus Park - http://goo.gl/maps/wGRK3
This is a 3 minute walk where you can catch the number 21 bus to the airport or 23 bus into Palma. The 23 bus can get very full and many times full buses will just drive past meaning a long wait. Tip: get on the other side of the the road to be guaranteed a seat - ok it's longer but you're on holiday. The 23 takes you to Placa Espanya (near 'El Corte Ingles') in the middle of the city.
(2) Carrer Trasime - http://goo.gl/maps/Kuwki
The second stop is 8 minutes walk from the hotel and this gets you on the 15 or 25 bus, which might be a better option as the stop is not so obvious! These also go from Placa Espanya.

Taxi: If you want a taxi to the airport from this hotel it cost me around €18 in March/April 2013.
It takes exactly 10 minutes to get to the airport from this hotel by taxi.

If you are into the Magaluf scene this hotel is definitely NOT for you, stay away as you won't enjoy it. If you wish to travel to that area - Palmanova, Calvia, Santa Ponca and Magaluf you can get there with public buses but this is a quiet hotel and you won't find the drinking British riff-raff here, which was a good thing for us.

Supermarkets:
(1) There is a Mercadona Supermarket just 5 minutes walk away here: http://goo.gl/maps/d65sL
- this one is closed on public holidays
(2) If you are desperate for absolute essentials on public holidays you can get these anywhere from the seafront where there are lots of supermarkets on the promenade (can recommend the underground Spar mini-market) near the infamous 'Balneario 6', this is the Germans' version of the drinking Magaluf scene - but don't panic, this is well away from the area of the hotel, just expect to have to have German spoken to you as you walk past on a stroll as they try to entice you to get drunk - even when pushing a buggy. If you don't speak German then you won't understand them anyway!

British TV - if you want to watch telly on holiday, this hotel was offering BBC1, BBC2 and Sky News in March/April 2013. It also had a BBC red button interactive channel that played the same thing around in a loop all day.

This hotel really goes the extra mile - on Easter Sunday our little one was given a free Easter Egg at the breakfast table and we were left some chocolate eggs in the room. Ok, whether you agree with this or not for children is another issue, but the thought was there. The staff here are possibly the friendliest and most helpful I have ever met at a hotel - they even waved to our little one while on the phone with someone else.

What to do on Sundays? As a former resident of Majorca I strongly recommend a train trip to the market in Santa Maria Del Cami in the middle of the island - all possible on bus & train! From this hotel, take a bus to Placa Espanya (where Palma train station is, 100m walk). From here get a return train ticket to Santa Maria. The market is huge and is open on Sundays until about 1300. After the market, get back on the train to Palma and get off one stop along at "Festival Park" where you will find an El Cort Ingles Outlet selling very cheap trademark clothes. There are also lots of rides/trampoines/bouncy castles for kiddies here - pay €7 for the hour.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have small gardens for children to run around in which is great for them. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jnoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Found this hotel on the Internet, read reviews on Trip advisor, booked for 3 night short break after Christmas.
Room super, staff very friendly and helpful. Food superb.
The previous reviews were correct about the other clientele, we never met another British couple in the hotel but this did not worry us, we just enjoyed the facilities this hotel had to offer.
Local public transport was good and cheap. Local bus takes you into Palma and from there you can get a bus or train to other parts of the island cheaply.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiemccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We just can underline that hospitality of complete staff is fitting to the hotel category.
The suite is just spacious enough, positive to mention is the welcome package and the well equipped pantrykitchen, TV and heating is working well. We observed that doors to the garden do not close well (room 214), requiring manual adjustment to enable use of A/C resp. heating.
WLAN is not for free, and safe is currently € 1,50/day, perhaps the solution with a key is no longer state of the art.
The food is very tasty and the range of hearty dishes should satisfy every taste.
We did of course not use the pool and did not test the spa or any other sport activities offered,
so cannot give any evidence.
Knowing that the hotel is a bit aside in an quiet area, as desired, but not too far away from
the beach. Excellent for (extended) walks. In high season it would really be a favoured place
to escape from noise and hubbub.
At this time of the year most of the little shops and restaurants are closed so we cannot rate
them. Nearby the hotel one can find a super market, well equipped, with fair prices.

Room Tip: For us "garden"-side was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
#19 of 78 in Playa de Palma
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Bahia de Palma
Iberostar Bahia de Palma
#6 of 78 in Playa de Palma
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa

Address: Camino Ca Na Gabriela 27-29, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £140 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 m away from the beach of the Bahia de Palma, 15 km away from Palma-City. Rooms: Double bedroom. Living room with couch. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool. Spa & Wellness center. Indoor swimming pool. Hydromassage. Jacuzzi. Sauna, etc. Modern gym. Tennis courts. Special facilities for cyclists. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast buffet. Dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar. Bistro on the pool terrace. Service: Car and bicycle rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa De Palma Resort And Spa
Grupotel Playa De Palma Hotel Playa De Palma
Playa De Palma
Grupotel Playa De Palma Suites & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing