We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Playa De Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Yes - a hotel very much catering for its German Clientele but don't let that deter you. The staff and patrons were exceptionally friendly and an extra special thanks to all the staff - reception, dining, bar, cleaners and spa. Any problems (there was a minor room hiccup) are dealt with efficiently and without hassle. Tip of the day - book a pool view room as the back room view is not very impressive.

Food wise the hotel could not be faltered with a wide variety of menu and fresh produce daily. Spa facilities are excellent and came back completely relaxed. Bay of Palma is also a very pleasant picturesque area and very well kept. Can't say what it will be like in high season. The promenade is brill and the cycle path superb - hire a bike it is fun (but cheaper away from the hotel).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oztrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2008

Just returned from a 12 night stay-for 10 of those nights we were the only English guests! However this did not at all detract from our holiday infact it made it more special. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant and at the reception. The spa facilities were exceptional and the outdoor pool a delight. Our one disappointment was that our suite 359 was next to the lift and we suffered during the night from the noise.
We booked our holiday with Sovereign and while we were there we had a letter from the management saying that Sovereign were no longer using the hotel, So if you want to book this lovely hotel use the internet. We are sure you will enjoy.
David --Valerie Laws
Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank discolaws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

As we were only staying in Mallorca for four days we wanted to treat ourselves and found this hotel through the internet.

While the pictures on the hotel website were nice these can often be deceiving but as soon as you walk into the hotel lobby you instantly have the feel of relief that you´ve picked a winner.

The rooms are very nice with seperate bedroom, living room, bathroom and the room comes complete with fridge and cooker. However it´s the hotel amenities that you will really enjoy.

Located at the centre of the hotel is a very large fresh water (bloody cold) swimming pool which is surrounded by comfortable sun loungers. There is a also a conveniently located snack bar for lunch and drinks.

Behind the swimming pool is the Spa which offers indoor swimming pool, steam room, jacuzzi, sauna, gym and more and really makes for a nice change from the sun.

Stayed: May 2007
9  Thank fvillena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

The suite was spacious and well appointed with seperate living and bed rooms and a kitchen corner featuring microwave oven and stove, so you are able to cook small dishes yourself. Very nice furniture and lighting.

Overall, staff members were very friendly, only some front desk agents seemed a bit snobby and unattentive.

Breakfast buffet was huge with egg dishes and crêpes made to order and Spanisch Cava (sparkling wine) every day. The spa area was very attractive too, although I would have preferred the sauna/steam room being totally seperated from the general pool area. Four internet terminals are located in the lobby (0,50 EUR/15 min.)

The location in Playa de Palma was nice, because it was only a short ride by car to downtown Palma (there is a very convenient bus connection, too). It may be another thing in summer when Playa de Palma is infamous for German low class tourists, but this time of the year (around New Year's Eve), it was perfect.

Main problem (as others mentioned before): the sound insulation between the rooms is very poor. You are forced to listen to each and every activity your neighbours perform in their bedroom as the bedrooms of two suites are located right next to eachother.

Bottom line: I was more than satisfied with my stay, especially given the very reasonable price. If only the would solve the sound insulation problem, the place would be perfect for a off-season vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

This hotel is a great place to relax. We arrived to a very pleasent congierge who showed us around the hotel and to our rooms where a bottle of the Mallorcan delicacy ´¨Hierbas¨´ awaited us. After a long flight delay with our airline we were most happy to walk into an inviting, confortable room. The hotel is spotless and the staff always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. The only downside to this hotel is the fact that the bar seems to close very early (around 12.30pm). I myself prefered to relax over a couple of drinks at the hotels bar rather down in Arenal. Now I´m no party pooper but Arenal is not the nicest of places, it could do with a full revamp and few, more hight class restaurants (everything seems to come with chips!!) The food at the hotel on the otherhand was very good. Beautiful buffet breakfast ( even if aimed mostly for the Germans) and a different themed dinner each night. We only tried the Italian and it was very satisfying. The hotel has mostly German guests, I think we were the only English bar one family. Now if you don´t mind them eating your dinner with you then you will be ok but they do seem to eat every mouthful with you-bearing in mind they are two tables away from you. Maybe its something they do in Germany but i find it downright rude!! But as the saying goes ´´if you can´t beat em, join em´¨ so we got our towels on the sunbeds in revenge!! Ha!!
All in all, lovely place- will definitely be going again

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leafypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We went to Spain for our honeymoon last year and let's just say we feel guilty for not writing this review sooner! It's the perfect place for a honeymoon. It was very new when we went last year, but seemed very well managed already. The room we got was a suite with a balcony (It seems like all the rooms are, but I'm not sure.) It was very convenient to have a fridge and sink and a small living room. Though the room isn't very large in size, it was very clean, neat, and definitely very comfortable for 2 people. The lobby is spacious and welcoming at the same time. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach (about 10-15 minutes walk) and is in a quiet peaceful part of town. There's also a grocery store nearby, so that made it even more convenient. From our window, there isn't much of a view, but there may be from other parts of the hotel. For the price we paid (I think it was around $160US?), it was well worth it!

Once you experience the pool and spa facilities, you may not want to leave for the beach. For lying out in the sun, there's the relaxing and open area of the outdoor pool where you can also enjoy a pool-side lunch at a reasonable price. The pool really seems just like an extension of the adjacent spa building since it's only separated by glass. You can literally spend a whole day in the spa because its use is complimentary to all hotel guests (whether you get a massage service or not, unlike most American spas). Now you'd have to read my thoughts to really understand how truly enjoyable this spa was, but I will try my best to describe it in words. The hotel recommends what's called a "spa circuit" in which you start off by taking a series of "showers"--hot, cold, aromatic, pulsing jets of water onto different parts of your body get it ready. There's an indoor pool, 2 cold water pools, 1hot tub, 2 leg massaging rock paths with jets, and another pool with what I call giant faucets that send enormous massaging jets of water onto different parts of your body. You can also relax and lay down on the "massaging beds" in the pool as well. The other half of the spa is where you'll find the steam rooms--sauna, Turkish bath, Roman bath, and the Ice Room. I don't think my words have done it much justice, just go try it!

You can tell we just LOVED the spa, but it was the generous and warm service that made the whole trip so enjoyable. When we arrived, it was a little before noon and we were told very nicely by the front desk person--Miguel--that since our room wasn't ready, we could enjoy a drink on the house by the pool. Later when we went up to the room, they had also left a complimentary fruit basket for us and a bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon. Every morning for breakfast, we were greeted and waited on by their quick and very professional staff. Their buffet breakfast and dinners were good and had lots of selection. The front desk was always helpful in answering our questions and in giving directions. One evening, we wanted to just eat dinner at the cafe by the pool, but arrived only 5 minutes before their closing time. The pool cafe attendant very nicely told us that he'd consulted the kitchen to see if they were still open. A few minutes later, the host of the dining room--Antonio--actually came to our poolside table and apologized about us not being able to order from the cafe and then offered us one free buffet dinner. From the housekeeping staff, to the waiters, to the masseuse, it was little things like that and the overall friendly, helpful, and warm attitude from the staff that made everything seem very personal--sort of a being spoiled and pampered at-home feeling!

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2005

Would return out of season but owing to location near Arenal wouldn't go in summer. Main bedroom small but with a further lounge/sleeping area. Microwave and utensils for 3 make it ideal for a small family. Super indoor pool, good gym equipment, regular classes i.e. Aquaft, Spinning etc. Food better than average buffet food, sparkling wine for breakfast.Good hotel for a golf break and so much better value than Mardavall or Son Antem although not quite same stanadard.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
981 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
#18 of 78 in Playa de Palma
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Bahia de Palma
Iberostar Bahia de Palma
#6 of 78 in Playa de Palma
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa

Address: Camino Ca Na Gabriela 27-29, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: £139 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 m away from the beach of the Bahia de Palma, 15 km away from Palma-City. Rooms: Double bedroom. Living room with couch. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool. Spa & Wellness center. Indoor swimming pool. Hydromassage. Jacuzzi. Sauna, etc. Modern gym. Tennis courts. Special facilities for cyclists. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast buffet. Dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar. Bistro on the pool terrace. Service: Car and bicycle rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Playa de Palma Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa De Palma Resort And Spa
Grupotel Playa De Palma Hotel Playa De Palma
Playa De Palma
Grupotel Playa De Palma Suites & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing