We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to start WHW”
Review of Best Foot Forward

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milngavie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Best Foot Forward
Ranked #1 of 3 Milngavie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to start WHW”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great place to start the WHW ideally placed close to the actual start of the walk. Morag is really friendly and great host. 10 of us stayed and we all thought the accommodation and food was great . Rooms spacious, clean, tea, coffee, biscuits etc etc . Thanks Morag

Room Tip: two rooms downstairs have 4 single beds in each
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 157lynne157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    57
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
56
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here the night before starting to walk The West Highland Way.
Very warm welcome, good accommodation and excellent breakfast..
I have stayed here several times before and the host, Morag, has maintained a good standard in her accommodation, food and approach to her guests.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in Milngavie.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Smoked salmon and scrambled egg is a delicious alternative to the onslaught of full Scottish breakfasts that you may lie ahead of you - and Morag cooks it to perfection! This is a comfortable and friendly b&b that hasn't succumbed to the latest trend of rationing tea bags and coffee sachets to a miserly 2 per person as I found elsewhere. Instead, there is plentiful coffee and a lovely selection of breakfast tea, green tea, heather tea and probably thistle tea if you delved deep enough! A jar full of choc chip cookies and a full sweetie jar are present too! Add to this Morag and her hubbie's friendly and hospitable attitude and the good location (5 mins to station and 10 mins to town centre) and it's clear that the BFF is one of the best choices along "the way".

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lede
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A warm welcome, a very clean and spacy room, en suite bathroom with a bath, coffee and tea in the room... what do you need more?
Breakfast was good, just what you need to start the west highland way.
We left with some good advice as well: your skin is waterproof!

I highly recommend this one when staying in Milngavie!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

There were six of us in our group all walking the West Highland Way. We received a warm welcome from Morag, the accommodation was clean and comfortable and there was a friendly atmosphere throughout the whole house. Breakfast was also good and set us up well for our first day of walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 212MoiraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Morag let us in hours before the actual check-in time. As we were soaked, this was much appreciated. Breakfast was very good. Ideal location for the start of the West Highland Way. 5 minutes away from Milngavie town centre by foot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieBreadner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The BFF is a credit to Morag. I recieved a warm welcome & the room was perfect. spacious, clean, comfortable and well positiond for the start of WHW . When I planned to run the WHW I encountered some difficullties with B&B's not prepared to swap a breakfast for a packed lunch. This was not so with Morag, in fact the Packed lunch surpassed what I expected and fueled me all the way to Tyndrum (1st Day).
I would highly recommened this place to anyone.
Thankyou
Morag

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milngavie
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bearsden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Strathblane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
4.1 mi away
The Belhaven Hotel
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Foot Forward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Foot Forward

Property: Best Foot Forward
Address: I Dougalston Gardens, Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Milngavie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milngavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as West View Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Foot Forward Milngavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing